TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2013, 06:24 PM   #1
ksmith
Keith
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 28
Series 2 Image Needed

I tried getting the image off the old drive couldn't get it to show up in WinMfs tools.I'm willing to follow instuctions on how to load it on a good drive if somebody is willing to work with me.I know some about computers.The model is a Series 2 240080A standalone I'd buy instantcake but on limited budget.Plus I want learn,Thanks for your time...Keith
ksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 06:41 PM   #2
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,097
I can't find that # in my account. looking at it I'm thinking you have an 80 hour. mine is 40. not sure what I have would work.
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 07:21 PM   #3
ksmith
Keith
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 28
I do have a old 40 hour series 2 needs a power supply and HD I could switch out the PS from the 80 hour and put a good 40 hour HD I have in it.Would need the image for the 40gig.Thanks,Keith
ksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 07:30 PM   #4
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,097
Pm sent
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 07:58 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksmith View Post
I tried getting the image off the old drive couldn't get it to show up in WinMfs tools.I'm willing to follow instuctions on how to load it on a good drive if somebody is willing to work with me.I know some about computers.The model is a Series 2 240080A standalone I'd buy instantcake but on limited budget.Plus I want learn,Thanks for your time...Keith
You need to compare the LBA number of the drive you intend to use with the LBA number of the drive from which the image you're going to use was taken, as some of those Series 2 TiVos came from the factory with Maxtor drives with slightly higher LBA numbers than other brands, even though they were all labeled 40GB or 80GB or whatever.

For instance, this image

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...0/240_gset.bak

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...0/240_GSet.tbk

from an 80 hour 240 was taken from an 80GB Maxtor drive with an LBA number of 160086528, whereas an 80 hour dual tuner S2 had an 80GB WD with an LBA of only 156301488, which means that although the image was taken from an 80GB drive, if I wanted to re-use the WD drive in the 240, the image wouldn't fit--I'd need a 40 hour 240 image instead (which I could install and expand to fill all of the drive)

( .bak file is for use with the MFS Live cd v1.4, the .tbk file is for use with WinMFS)
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 09:49 PM   #6
ksmith
Keith
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 28
Good News !!! Found a good HD 250gb was able to use your link Unitron and WinMfs to get my Series 2 up and running.I want to Thank You for the help I couldn't done without it you.Also 2004Raptor I wanted to Thank You for the PM.Hope everyone has a Merry Christmas !!!!!! Keith
ksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 10:01 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksmith View Post
Good News !!! Found a good HD 250gb was able to use your link Unitron and WinMfs to get my Series 2 up and running.I want to Thank You for the help I couldn't done without it you.Also 2004Raptor I wanted to Thank You for the PM.Hope everyone has a Merry Christmas !!!!!! Keith

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |