TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2012, 04:30 PM   #1
CatFanJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Dropping cable-Tivo connection questions

Hi,


I have a Sony Bravia HD TV- KDL-40XBR5 HDTV

I have Comcast cable TV, but am dropping it. I am keeping my Comcast hi speed internet service.

I have a Comcast cable card in my TIVO, which I assume will need to be returned to comcast.

I've Ordered a Leaf HD antenna and will be connecting my TV to it.

I can't afford or justify the cable tv connection. I just don't need it.

How do I connect this setup to my tivo?? Thanks for any help!!! My TV is near my comcast modem and is connected to the internet.
CatFanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:50 PM   #2
winsome2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
I have directv and a tivo. Just recently having trouble with picture. Called Direct tv and was told engineers working on the problem but could sign me up with DirectTv DVR service for $20 more a month and end of problem. It seems they are targeting people who have a Tivo connected to the service. Problem always seems to occur 5 minutes before end of hour and takes anywhere from 8 minutes to hours for picture to come back. So you miss the end of the program you are watching. Anyone else having this problem?
winsome2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:30 PM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by winsome2 View Post
I have directv and a tivo. Just recently having trouble with picture. Called Direct tv and was told engineers working on the problem but could sign me up with DirectTv DVR service for $20 more a month and end of problem. It seems they are targeting people who have a Tivo connected to the service. Problem always seems to occur 5 minutes before end of hour and takes anywhere from 8 minutes to hours for picture to come back. So you miss the end of the program you are watching. Anyone else having this problem?
Lots and lots of people with DirecTiVos are seeing this and there's at least one thread around here about just that.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:53 PM   #4
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like tin but for the golden glade. Do not take risks that you cannot return to the encapsulation. Margaret has not the stranding.
Posts: 6,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by winsome2 View Post
I have directv and a tivo. Just recently having trouble with picture. Called Direct tv and was told engineers working on the problem but could sign me up with DirectTv DVR service for $20 more a month and end of problem. It seems they are targeting people who have a Tivo connected to the service. Problem always seems to occur 5 minutes before end of hour and takes anywhere from 8 minutes to hours for picture to come back. So you miss the end of the program you are watching. Anyone else having this problem?
This has nothing to do with the subject of the thread.

You're hijacking.

__________________
The crunchy artificial ones were the best.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 01:10 PM   #5
replaytv
LovesPanda licorice
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatFanJ View Post
Hi,


I have a Sony Bravia HD TV- KDL-40XBR5 HDTV

I have Comcast cable TV, but am dropping it. I am keeping my Comcast hi speed internet service.

I have a Comcast cable card in my TIVO, which I assume will need to be returned to comcast.

I've Ordered a Leaf HD antenna and will be connecting my TV to it.

I can't afford or justify the cable tv connection. I just don't need it.

How do I connect this setup to my tivo?? Thanks for any help!!! My TV is near my comcast modem and is connected to the internet.
What model of Tivo do you have?
replaytv is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |