TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Suggestion Avenue
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2006, 04:29 PM   #1
shanew1289
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: edwardsville, IL
Posts: 683
Tivo Media Extender

So how about a Tivo w/o a tuner?

Lets say I tape shows in the living room and want to watch them in the bedroom.

I dont want to buy another Tivo and subscribe to it for doing nothing but serving up recorded video form the other, subbed tivo.

I see there are Media Center Extenders from Linksys and places for the Windows Media Center. (Yes I stole their idea, nothing new. seems functional)

It seems people would want some of these to ease distribution. Wireless, of course!

Just had to add my 2 cents, time to start running Coax for my mother
__________________
2 TIVO HDVR2's 6.2 Hacked and Sub'd (160 gig, 300 gig)
2 HR20's with Mpeg4. Sigh......
shanew1289 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 12:47 PM   #2
danschn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 109
And have it support all the Home Media Options as well! But what would they charge for the hardware and/or the reduced service?

As I understand the new pricing system, I have to buy a full-priced minimally functional Tivo for $220 to get the Multi Service Discount of $6.95 monthly added to my account since it appears an MSD unit is not eligible for the rebates. If this is right, it's way out of whack compared to their other current offerings.

I feel I should hold off on such a purchase, because my current Pioneer DVD Recordable Tivo Series 2 may become the second unit once the S3's support HMO (and hopefully become more affordable). Can't live without the HMO in the family room now that I've gotten used to it, and just think it's silly to have two Tivo's there. So I sacrifice HD recording for now.
danschn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 12:48 PM   #3
nathanziarek
Registered User
 
nathanziarek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 105
I would not be surprised to see something like this, but I wouldn't expect it to be inexpensive.

Here's my thought:

Microsoft was approved for their implementation of, essentially, multiroom viewing. The general consensus is that, because you can only stream to an extender (and not another computer), CableLabs was more willing to trust the security of the file.

Tivo, on the other hand, actually copies the data from one Tivo to the other. If Tivo were to make or partener with another company to create "extenders" they would bypass that idea of "copied data."

My hope? How about a partenership with Apple and the iTV? It'll never happen, but as two of my favorite companies, a boy can dream
__________________
The hardest part of learning something new is figuring out what there is to know.
nathanziarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 02:51 PM   #4
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
I would think a diskless one could be done for $149 MSRP, with no sub cost, just MRV, TTCB, Music, and Photos, perhaps other HME as well.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 08:12 PM   #5
shanew1289
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: edwardsville, IL
Posts: 683
I would go with a RAM only one, and no sub cost.

You would have to add it to your account to unencrypt your Main Tivo's content, but thats it.

HMO/HME stuff is ok. But that add's more software to store in ROM.

I dunno, I can only dream of being in charge at Tivo..... But then all these lawyers from the content producers would tie me up in knots....

Maybe the solution is de-activating an old Tivo.

Heck, charge $1 a month for a Tuner-Disabled, client Tivo. hmmmm

No guide Data, no recording but the functions of HMO/HME/MRV work.....
__________________
2 TIVO HDVR2's 6.2 Hacked and Sub'd (160 gig, 300 gig)
2 HR20's with Mpeg4. Sigh......
shanew1289 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 12:38 AM   #6
jblake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 340
why charge for a box that doesn't connect to the tivo service? that would be a deal breaker.
jblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 01:54 PM   #7
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
It would connect to the TiVo service only for software updates and key placement, not guide or recording features.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 12:20 PM   #8
jlb
NCC-1701-D
 
jlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 7,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by shanew1289
.........Maybe the solution is de-activating an old Tivo.

Heck, charge $1 a month for a Tuner-Disabled, client Tivo. hmmmm
In a heartbeat, I would do this. We are trying to cut monthly recurring costs and with all of the various cancelled shows, we are shifting back to one S2 SA from 2 (yes, I know, kinda sucks from the pricing point view)......

But I would pay $1 or $2 per month to have the deactivated TiVo able to do MRV only......

This would get the big from me!
__________________
1 TiVoHD with Motorola M Cable Card and a 2TB Western Digital AV-GP WD20EURS Drive.
jlb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 09:13 PM   #9
cwhogan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 37
Best Buy and the like have Tivos with the full rebate offers. You can get one of them and still get the 6.95 deal... You just can't buy one on Tivo.com and do it.
cwhogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 01:21 PM   #10
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 10,956
I don't think that you will see a tuner less tivo any time soon. Especially if Tivo has no way to generate revenue from it, unless it could figure out a way to manufacture the boxes while keeping the recording/movie industry happy while still generating a profit on the hardware.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:27 AM   #11
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
I'm not expecting one either, however, I think one could be made and sold retail for $149, at a profit (in mass production), and the current DRM that MRV uses is already approved by the content industry, and if not, there is no reason for it to be for this device.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 01:52 PM   #12
pierpont
TiVo-ing since 1999
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 189
Exclamation

This is a good idea that TiVo should seriously consider. Windows already has Media Extenders on the market.
pierpont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:47 PM   #13
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
I don't think we will ever see it unless TiVo charges for service on it. And if they do that you are better off with a 2 tuner premiere.
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:01 PM   #14
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 10,956
It is coming, see the threads on the Tivo Mini
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 06:40 AM   #15
vurbano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 423
With no service fee? TiVo would be losing 800 bucks a household in fees on average house with 3 tivos
__________________
1 - Roamio Plus with 3TB upgrade
2 - Tivo mini
vurbano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |