TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2012, 01:11 PM   #1
rudolpht
HD Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Tivo Stream incompatible with iOS 6?

Tivo App 2.0.1 will not work with iOS 6.0 Golden Master (GM), i.e., the download everyone will be making next Wed. It tries to load software and has failed after dozen of attempts. Tivo app 2.0 does not even acknowledge a stream is available on the network on iOS 6.

This is disappointing to legitimate developers using iOS 6 in advance of the Wed download time. I cannot confirm if other versions of iOS work, but anticipate a new Tivo app revision prior to Wed.
rudolpht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:41 PM   #2
MC Hammer
Registered User
 
MC Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 177
So you're mad because an app doesn't work with a beta version of a software build?

Makes a lot of sense...
MC Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:46 PM   #3
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,320
The new TiVo app (2.0 and 2.0.1) works with my iPad 3 running iOS 6... I forget which beta I'm on, but it's one rev behind GM. In fact, the screengrabs from my coverage were on that iPad.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:41 PM   #4
danjw1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Hammer View Post
So you're mad because an app doesn't work with a beta version of a software build?

Makes a lot of sense...
This is a developer pre-release, Golden Master is what is going to ship and has already gone to manufacturing. So no, it isn't a beta release.
__________________
Dan
Tivo HD (activated on Comcast)
danjw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 03:00 PM   #5
gtrogue
Mentally Hilarious
 
gtrogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,646
I'm not having any trouble on an iPhone 4S running the GM or an iPad 2 running the previous beta.
__________________
Signature
gtrogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:43 PM   #6
ShayL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 199
I have it running on both an iphone 4 and ipad 2 with iOS 6 without an issue.
ShayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:08 AM   #7
rudolpht
HD Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Hammer View Post
So you're mad because an app doesn't work with a beta version of a software build?

Makes a lot of sense...
Except that it is not beta. For a tutorial on what a GM is, it IS the Wed production release.
rudolpht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:10 AM   #8
rudolpht
HD Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtrogue View Post
I'm not having any trouble on an iPhone 4S running the GM or an iPad 2 running the previous beta.
And Tivo Stream is working? Remember this is the Tivo Stream forum correct? 2.0.1 does NOT work. I'm not criticizing the Tivo stream, Tivo, or the App. I WANT it to work.
rudolpht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:11 AM   #9
rudolpht
HD Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShayL View Post
I have it running on both an iphone 4 and ipad 2 with iOS 6 without an issue.
And Tivo Stream is working? Remember this is the Tivo Stream forum correct? 2.0.1 does NOT work. It endless loops on the first settings step the dies under the Tive Stream settings entry.
rudolpht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:19 AM   #10
wombat94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 54
Tivo Stream and the iPad app 2.0.1 works perfectly with iOS 6 GM (10A403) on my iPhone 4S.

My wife has the iPad 3 with her this weekend so I haven't tried it yet on iPad iOS 6.

No issues whatsoever. I have watched about 6 shows on the iPhone, including starting and stopping "live" TV streaming from the phone and from my iPad 1 (obviously not a part of the iOS 6 discussion, but just for info) with Tivo app 2.0.1 since installing the Stream last night. I've both streamed and downloaded shows to both devices with no issues.
wombat94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:47 AM   #11
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudolpht View Post
And Tivo Stream is working? Remember this is the Tivo Stream forum correct? 2.0.1 does NOT work. It endless loops on the first settings step the dies under the Tive Stream settings entry.
Does NOT work appears exclusive to you
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:59 AM   #12
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,320
Yeah, maybe we need to change the title of this thread.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:33 AM   #13
ShayL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudolpht View Post
And Tivo Stream is working? Remember this is the Tivo Stream forum correct? 2.0.1 does NOT work. It endless loops on the first settings step the dies under the Tive Stream settings entry.
The stream works fine for me.
ShayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 10:08 AM   #14
mpf541
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
I am on the GM of ios 6 and the stream works fine on both my ipad and iPhone
mpf541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 12:15 PM   #15
rudolpht
HD Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Anyone iPad 3 with iOS GM working?
rudolpht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 12:19 PM   #16
rudolpht
HD Maven
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by wombat94 View Post

My wife has the iPad 3 with her this weekend so I haven't tried it yet on iPad iOS 6.
Thanks for the info. When you get a chance to try on the iPad 3 I would appreciate it.
rudolpht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 01:49 PM   #17
lgerbarg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Troy, NY, USA
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudolpht View Post
And Tivo Stream is working? Remember this is the Tivo Stream forum correct? 2.0.1 does NOT work. It endless loops on the first settings step the dies under the Tive Stream settings entry.
I have used 2.0.1 it from an iPad 2, iPad 3, and iPhone 4S running iOS 6.0b4 and the GM candidate just fine. I've also used it on an original iPad on running 5.x. I've had a few app crashes, but it has been usable on all of them.
__________________
Louis Gerbarg
lgerbarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:40 PM   #18
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,654
Rudolpht did you ever get your Stream working? On any device? The issue you're describing is the same thing people with DOA units get. Perhaps you just got a bad Stream?

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 02:56 PM   #19
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudolpht View Post
Anyone iPad 3 with iOS GM working?
Yes. So I'd guess your Stream is bad or you have a local networking issue.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 12:53 AM   #20
gamo62
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 423
I'm ruiing 2.0.1 on our iPad 3 with IOS 6 GM. No issues at all. Like the other posters stated:

You either have a faulty Stream or you are having network issues.

Don't fault the software until you figure out the problem.
gamo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 12:57 AM   #21
ShayL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
Yes. So I'd guess your Stream is bad or you have a local networking issue.
Dave, you were right. This thread title needs to be changed.
ShayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:17 AM   #22
gtrogue
Mentally Hilarious
 
gtrogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by rudolpht View Post
And Tivo Stream is working? Remember this is the Tivo Stream forum correct? 2.0.1 does NOT work. I'm not criticizing the Tivo stream, Tivo, or the App. I WANT it to work.
Yes it works. I watched a football game today on my iPad 3 running the GM.
__________________
Signature
gtrogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:52 AM   #23
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShayL View Post
Dave, you were right. This thread title needs to be changed.
The mods or original author put a question mark in there. That should cover it I suppose.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:39 PM   #24
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,654
I did that
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:50 AM   #25
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
One more data point - Stream works fine with the Tivo App on my iPad3 running IOS 6 GM.
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 01:29 PM   #26
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 571
Downloading iOS6 right now for my phone. Will ensure that works with stream tonight before I convert my ipads over.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 07:08 PM   #27
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,654
Haven't updated my iPad yet, but I just tested it on my iPhone 4S and it works fine.

Dan
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:07 PM   #28
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 571
I just tried iOS6 on the iPhone with stream. After getting past the massive screwup on apple's part for wifi, I was able to connect to the stream, download the dail show and watch it on my iPhone in high def. life is good.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:41 PM   #29
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 571
Loaded iOS6 on an iPad 3. Streams ok. Downloads ok. BUT if you try to expand a folder for a show with several episodes, the app closes.

Arrrrrgggghhhhhh.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:41 PM   #30
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 571
Ok. As quick as I posted that I found a solution. You need to press HARD on the folder to open it. If you just tap it, it will crash. But if you put your finger on the folder until it opens, it works fine. A bug but not unbeatable.

(accidentally posted in the wrong thread..)
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |