TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > TiVo TV Talk > Now Playing - TV Show Talk
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2012, 12:46 PM   #1
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,269
"Go On" not record for anyone else? (10/2)

Go On did not record for me last night. Didn't realize it until this morning. Anyone else have recording issues?

I have three different TiVos, and all three happen to have Go On set for SP (one on cable, the other two on OTA). None recorded it. The history shows it was not recorded as this episode was already recorded within the 28 day rule. But I believe it was a new episode?

I'm pretty anal about my recordings, and check twice a week (Wed & Sun) to make sure everything I *think* should record is actually set to record. I use a list from FutonCritic to compare to the To-Do List. FC clearly shows it as a new show, and that means on Sunday it was still on the To-Do List. But it dropped it sometime between Sun & Tues night.

Strangely, there are TWO listings in history, one for 8:30 and one for 8:31. Both give the same reason for not recording.

I find it hard to believe others wouldn't have this problem, as our guide data s/b the same. SO... anyone else?

PS: Any place to watch it with captions?

Thanks!
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:48 PM   #2
SeanC
ECT
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Someplace
Posts: 8,972
I saw my tivo also wasn't going to record it so I scheduled it to record manually. It looked to me like the show info was generic so I bet the tivo thought it was a rerun.
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:49 PM   #3
billypritchard
Embiggener
 
billypritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,274
My Premiere did not record it last night either. Season Pass, which has caught all the previous episodes.

I think I can watch it on Hulu Plus, so I'll do that.
__________________
Do Me! Do Me! - MNoelH
I agree with BP - Finnstang
billypritchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:51 PM   #4
mwhip
All better
 
mwhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 16,526
Did you try recording Goon instead?
__________________
"It's not stealing if you need it. And you need it." - Inignot

Gamertag - mwhip
mwhip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:55 PM   #5
mlsnyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 74
This exact thing happened to me for the 2nd episode. I believe what happened then was NBC repeated the pilot they aired the week before on that Friday, but the guide data had it as the 2nd episode. So when the 2nd episode actually aired my TiVo thought it was a repeat.

But looks like it recorded last night's so not sure what the story is this time.
mlsnyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:01 PM   #6
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanC View Post
I saw my tivo also wasn't going to record it so I scheduled it to record manually. It looked to me like the show info was generic so I bet the tivo thought it was a rerun.
Nope, not generic. It had the title and everything (something about 'ghosts'?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by billypritchard View Post
My Premiere did not record it last night either. Season Pass, which has caught all the previous episodes.

I think I can watch it on Hulu Plus, so I'll do that.
Clearly if three of us had problems, it was an issue. I noticed in the ratings thread it was down 22% week to week. Makes me wonder if enough people had recording issues, could it cause a ratings drop?
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:09 PM   #7
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,212
Yep, looks like it didn't record for me also. I'm on FIOS. I suspect this is a Tribune Media issue. (Gosh, that's the first time that has happened.)
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:17 PM   #8
SeanC
ECT
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Someplace
Posts: 8,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
Nope, not generic. It had the title and everything (something about 'ghosts'?)
Mine definitely had generic show data, nothing about ghosts, a general, The people at work send Chandler to group therapy.
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:26 PM   #9
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
Yep, looks like it didn't record for me also. I'm on FIOS. I suspect this is a Tribune Media issue. (Gosh, that's the first time that has happened.)
So we have a widespread recording issue, for this one episode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanC View Post
Mine definitely had generic show data, nothing about ghosts, a general, The people at work send Chandler to group therapy.
Are you on a TiVo, or some other device & guide data?

Weird how many problems there are with last night's episode.

PS: Thought just occurred to me--if it was generic, it would have been recorded (by me, at least), as generic data is treated as a NEW show by TiVos.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:45 PM   #10
SeanC
ECT
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Someplace
Posts: 8,972
Tivo S3.
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:50 PM   #11
DavidJL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Juan Capistrano
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by billypritchard View Post
I think I can watch it on Hulu Plus, so I'll do that.
it's available on Free Hulu as well with captions as an option


Attached Images
File Type: jpg go on.jpg (6.6 KB, 211 views)
DavidJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:01 PM   #12
DevdogAZ
Give em Hell, Devils
 
DevdogAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 37,385
It recorded fine for me. I'm on a TiVo Series 2.
__________________
"You don't own a TV? What's all your furniture pointed at?" Joey Tribbiani
DevdogAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:02 PM   #13
jjd_87
Registered User
 
jjd_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 471
Sounds like TiVo was doing you a favor.
jjd_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:11 PM   #14
SeanC
ECT
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Someplace
Posts: 8,972
I just undeleted the show and got the show description:

Go On, no title, Ryan King joins a grief counciling group at the behest of his employer.

Screenshot from my iphone:


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo Oct 03, 3 06 48 PM.jpg (27.2 KB, 211 views)
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:18 PM   #15
billypritchard
Embiggener
 
billypritchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 3,274
I looked at the listing at 8:35ish last night, and TiVo was showing the episode with the NEW icon next to it, and a full description.
__________________
Do Me! Do Me! - MNoelH
I agree with BP - Finnstang
billypritchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:10 PM   #16
DreadPirateRob
Seriously?
 
DreadPirateRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 16,511
My DirecTV DVR recorded it just fine.
__________________
“You know, sometimes all you need is 20 seconds of insane courage. Just, literally, 20 seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.”
DreadPirateRob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:10 PM   #17
Donbadabon
Geocacher
 
Donbadabon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 2,650
It recorded for me on DirecTv, no problems.
Donbadabon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:17 PM   #18
ScottP461
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
I caught a discrepancy in the listings on 2 different XL's and that caught my attention. I think that I got it, but only because I set it up as a "record also" (I think?!). The problem seemed to be that this episode was scheduled to be aired 2 weeks ago, but wasn't. So, the Season Pass considered it to be already recorded/a repeat.

Last minute scheduling changes are almost always going to cause problems!
ScottP461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:43 PM   #19
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,269
It's odd that so many of us are seeing such differences--some recorded, some didn't, some with generic guide data, some not. And all on TiVos, where the guide data should be identical. I know my guide had the details, because this morning when I realized I missed it, I looked at the history, and remember seeing something about 'ghosts'. And it turns out that's the Eps Title, so it's clearly not generic info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottP461 View Post
I caught a discrepancy in the listings on 2 different XL's and that caught my attention. I think that I got it, but only because I set it up as a "record also" (I think?!). The problem seemed to be that this episode was scheduled to be aired 2 weeks ago, but wasn't. So, the Season Pass considered it to be already recorded/a repeat.

Last minute scheduling changes are almost always going to cause problems!
I usually catch this type of occurrence, as my printed dbl-check list will vary from the To-Do List. In this case, when I checked on Sunday, it WAS in the To-Do List.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:44 PM   #20
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidJL View Post
it's available on Free Hulu as well with captions as an option

THANKS!! Headed there now, work be d*mned.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 05:10 PM   #21
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidJL View Post
it's available on Free Hulu as well with captions as an option

Hey, not bad! My first Hulu experience. Having a huge monitor helps, I don't know how people watch TV on phones.

Captions were spot on.

Thanks again!
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:03 PM   #22
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,387
The one that my SP picked up aired at 9:01. Don't know ep# but description is about him cooking and shopping for himself.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:18 PM   #23
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrohip View Post
I have three different TiVos, and all three happen to have Go On set for SP (one on cable, the other two on OTA). None recorded it.
I was wrong. The S3 recording on OTA did record it. The other two did not. But one of the others was an S3, and it would have been OTA. So that's not the common denominator.

I'm thinking it may be a guide update (AKA daily call-in). Maybe there was something last minute that changed in the guide that kept it from recording. And two of my units got it in time.

Oh well, not a big deal. Just odd.
astrohip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:27 PM   #24
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,122
It's very odd. It didn't get recorded by my Premiere and the recording history has two entries - one for 9:00 and one for 9:01, both with "This episode was not recorded because the same episode appeared in the My Shows list or the To Do List with 28 days of this broadcast." Both entries have the correct episode title. Looks like the guide data was seriously hosed at one point, possibly the wrong programId.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:53 PM   #25
ScottP461
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
I know that my 3 XL's each "call in" over the internet at different times of day. If data is changing often for a particular show, then it is possible that different data can be downloaded on one machine and on another older data is still there because it hasn't called in yet. On average, the time between "calls" is about 1 day, 2-3 hours later. Just a guess!
ScottP461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:55 PM   #26
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,717
Premiere Elite on FiOS, it recorded it and it has valid specific guide info
and I'm ET for a time zone.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:32 PM   #27
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,427
S2 DT, manually set each time

Got the pilot on 8/21 and 9/10, the next ep on 9/11 and 9/18, 3rd ep on 9/25, and 4th on 10/2
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:17 PM   #28
madscientist
Deregistered Snoozer
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lexington, MA
Posts: 3,099
My TiVo HD (RCN) missed the second episode, but recorded this one fine. Bizarre. I've had more problems with guide data this fall than I ever remember (and I've had TiVo since 1999).
__________________
"Please remain calm--I may be mad, but I am a professional!" -- Mad Scientist
madscientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:14 AM   #29
The Spud
Nick Danger, 3rd Eye
 
The Spud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 3,636
Mine recorded just fine with Windows Media Center and Comcast.
__________________
XBox Live Gamertag - The Spud


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The Spud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:49 AM   #30
TAsunder
Debates Ghee vs Gi
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 14,456
Missed it with my Tivo S3. Well, I wouldn't say I "missed" it...
TAsunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |