TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2015, 08:08 AM   #1
doconeill
Unix Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West of Boston
Posts: 239
HD unit in green screen of death loop...

So, one of my venerable TivoHD units is looping through the "Powering Up...Almost There...GSOD" sequence this morning. I have little hope of it self-repairing.

This unit had the original drive. My other unit, also a 652, I replaced the drive almost immediately, and I still have the original, untouched since it was removed - egads - 7-8 years ago...

Should I just take the other unit's original drive and drop it in? I'm guessing it will take a while to do all the updates...or would I be better off grabbing a more recent 652 image (I see in another thread where I can grab it)?

It's been quite a while since I've done drive upgrades...will WinMFS deal with a USB-attached drive so I don't have to go and pull a system apart?

__________________
2x TiVoHD (one with 500GB internal drive)

Retired:
HDR312 Standalone (128 hour, on loan)
SD-DVR80 (Zipper/160GB), DSR708 (Zipper/120GB), HDVR2 (Zipper/80GB)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
doconeill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 11:49 AM   #2
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 8,448
With any S3 vintage machine the power supply is as likely a culprit as the drive, I'd suggest a visit to one of the power supply threads to see what you need to check, i.e. bulging caps, etc.

You certainly could use the other original drive as a test but you'll need to do a Clear and Delete Everything to get it to work.

__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 09:22 PM   #3
doconeill
Unix Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West of Boston
Posts: 239
Well, I grabbed the image and used the original drive from the other unit, and it looks good so far. It does help to actually connect the drive cable though...I was wondering why it was going to a gray screen until google told me I was an idiot...

__________________
2x TiVoHD (one with 500GB internal drive)

Retired:
HDR312 Standalone (128 hour, on loan)
SD-DVR80 (Zipper/160GB), DSR708 (Zipper/120GB), HDVR2 (Zipper/80GB)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
doconeill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 03:07 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by doconeill View Post
Well, I grabbed the image and used the original drive from the other unit, and it looks good so far. It does help to actually connect the drive cable though...I was wondering why it was going to a gray screen until google told me I was an idiot...
You didn't need Google, we'd have been glad to tell you that ourselves.



Usually if you don't have either or both of the drive's data cable's ends hooked up at all, you just get the first Welcome screen (which is actually loaded into video memory from the motherboard) and it just sits there and never moves on to the Just a few more minutes screen (which is on the hard drive).

A solid gray screen usually indicates some imperfection in the communication between the drive and the motherboard that keeps that second screen from being copied off of the drive into video memory.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 07:36 AM   #5
doconeill
Unix Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West of Boston
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
You didn't need Google, we'd have been glad to tell you that ourselves.



Usually if you don't have either or both of the drive's data cable's ends hooked up at all, you just get the first Welcome screen (which is actually loaded into video memory from the motherboard) and it just sits there and never moves on to the Just a few more minutes screen (which is on the hard drive).

A solid gray screen usually indicates some imperfection in the communication between the drive and the motherboard that keeps that second screen from being copied off of the drive into video memory.
Yeah, it's been so long since I opened these up that I forgot the powering up screen was in firmware...and I know I had thought, "The last thing I need to do is connect the cable and run it through the guide clip..."

At least the capacitors looked in good shape. But I need to find out about that Amazon/Roamio deal...

__________________
2x TiVoHD (one with 500GB internal drive)

Retired:
HDR312 Standalone (128 hour, on loan)
SD-DVR80 (Zipper/160GB), DSR708 (Zipper/120GB), HDVR2 (Zipper/80GB)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
doconeill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.
Page generated in 0.06069994 seconds (70.42% PHP - 29.58% MySQL) with 18 queries