TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > eBay Auction Central
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2012, 11:08 AM   #1
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Series 2 TiVo TCD540080 with Lifetime - Excellent!

I have an excellent condition TiVo TCD540080 with lifetime for sale. I'm the original owner. I'm a TiVo fan, also have an HD, Premier and new Premier 4. The hard drive has been upgraded to a 300Gb. I build computers so this was an easy chore for me. Included is the remote, USB to Ethernet adapter, IR cable, Power cord, manual, quick start guide. I've had it in storage for a few years so brought it out and fired it up a few days ago, works great. No dust inside, no bulging caps, everything looks like new. I can take good pictures of inside and out plus screen shots of system information showing lifetime, hours, etc... If no one is interested I'll put on ebay in the near future. PayPal works for me. $110 and I pay UPS shipping in lower 48. Pictures added below in another post. Thanks for taking the time to read.
Sincerely,
Tom

Last edited by Finalrinse : 09-15-2012 at 04:22 AM. Reason: Lowered price
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:32 PM   #2
susheelss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Tivo for Sale

Tom,

I'm interested in the TIVO as I am looking to move and just get basic cable at my new location. A few quick questions:

- I'm assuming that the lifetime subscription comes with the unit
- Can the unit work use a cable card as I'm thinking of just getting basic cable w/o a digital cable box (which requires digital cable + box rental fees and is much more expensive)?

Thanks,
Susheel
susheelss

Last edited by susheelss : 09-05-2012 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Mistake
susheelss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:10 PM   #3
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by susheelss View Post
Tom,

I'm interested in the TIVO as I am looking to move and just get basic cable at my new location. A few quick questions:

- I'm assuming that the lifetime subscription comes with the unit
- Can the unit work use a cable card as I'm thinking of just getting basic cable w/o a digital cable box (which requires digital cable + box rental fees and is much more expensive)?

Thanks,
Susheel
susheelss
Hi Susheel, This vintage of TiVo do not accept cable cards, this is not an HD TiVo, SD only. What is unique though is it comes with an IR cable that you can use with just about any cable box. This is how I currently have it hooked up to my digital comcast box. When you change channels it sends the remote signal. Now, if you do not have a cable box and put the cable directly into the TiVo this works great as long as your cable company does not require a box? Where I live here in S.E. Michigan a bare cable without a digital converter box does not work any more. Please check this out. And yes the lifetime comes with the box.
Tom
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:17 PM   #4
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finalrinse View Post
I have an excellent condition TiVo TCD540080 with lifetime for sale. I'm the original owner. I'm a TiVo fan, also have an HD, Premier and new Premier 4. The hard drive has been upgraded to a 300Gb. I build computers so this was an easy chore for me. Included is the remote, USB to Ethernet adapter, IR cable, Power cord, manual, quick start guide. I've had it in storage for a few years so brought it out and fired it up a few days ago, works great. No dust inside, no bulging caps, everything looks like new. I can take good pictures of inside and out plus screen shots of system information showing lifetime, hours, etc... If no one is interested I'll put on ebay in the near future. PayPal works for me. $110 and I pay UPS shipping in lower 48. Thanks for taking the time to read.
Sincerely,
Tom
Pictures.....














Last edited by Finalrinse : 09-28-2012 at 05:24 PM.
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:37 AM   #5
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by susheelss View Post
Tom,

A few quick questions:

- I'm assuming that the lifetime subscription comes with the unit

Thanks,
Susheel
susheelss
Here's the procedure from TiVo on transferring the Lifetime Subscription to a new owner.


Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 07:54 PM   #6
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by susheelss View Post
Tom,

I'm interested in the TIVO as I am looking to move and just get basic cable at my new location. A few quick questions:

- I'm assuming that the lifetime subscription comes with the unit
- Can the unit work use a cable card as I'm thinking of just getting basic cable w/o a digital cable box (which requires digital cable + box rental fees and is much more expensive)?

Thanks,
Susheel
susheelss
Susheel,

I haven't heard back from you, I assume this will not work for you?
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 04:26 AM   #7
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finalrinse View Post
I have an excellent condition TiVo TCD540080 with lifetime for sale. I'm the original owner. I'm a TiVo fan, also have an HD, Premier and new Premier 4. The hard drive has been upgraded to a 300Gb. I build computers so this was an easy chore for me. Included is the remote, USB to Ethernet adapter, IR cable, Power cord, manual, quick start guide. I've had it in storage for a few years so brought it out and fired it up a few days ago, works great. No dust inside, no bulging caps, everything looks like new. I can take good pictures of inside and out plus screen shots of system information showing lifetime, hours, etc... If no one is interested I'll put on ebay in the near future. PayPal works for me. $110 and I pay UPS shipping in lower 48. Pictures added below in another post. Thanks for taking the time to read.
Sincerely,
Tom
Price lowered to $110 shipped.
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 04:04 PM   #8
ustasmom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Still have this?
ustasmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:59 PM   #9
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by ustasmom View Post
Still have this?
Yes still have it, I haven't put it on eBay yet.
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:13 AM   #10
ustasmom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
I am interested but I am really not up to speed with this whole thing.

I just dumped satellite and we have a digital antenna. We never had HD with satellite, but now we do with the antenna and my husband wants to keep the HD so I will be picking up a Premiere with lifetime for the main TV.

We have 2 other TVs. Can I mix and match and will they then talk to each other if I have an adapter?
ustasmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:20 PM   #11
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by ustasmom View Post
I am interested but I am really not up to speed with this whole thing.

I just dumped satellite and we have a digital antenna. We never had HD with satellite, but now we do with the antenna and my husband wants to keep the HD so I will be picking up a Premiere with lifetime for the main TV.

We have 2 other TVs. Can I mix and match and will they then talk to each other if I have an adapter?
Okay, I just hooked my Series 2 TiVo up and transferred a show from my Premier, and then transferred from my Series 2 to the Premier. So yes they talk to each other and can transfer from each other. What you cannot do is transfer a High Definition (HD) program from a Premier to the Series 2 because the Series 2 is not HD. As long as the programs are in standard definition (SD) you can transfer back and forth. You do not need an adapter, they just need to be on the same network.

Last edited by Finalrinse : 09-18-2012 at 04:36 AM. Reason: Found the answer
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 04:37 AM   #12
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by ustasmom View Post
We have 2 other TVs. Can I mix and match and will they then talk to each other if I have an adapter?
Yes they talk to each other and can transfer from each other. What you cannot do is transfer a High Definition (HD) program from a Premier to the Series 2 because the Series 2 is not HD. As long as the programs are in standard definition (SD) you can transfer back and forth. You do not need an adapter, they just need to be on the same network.
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 10:23 AM   #13
transponder7600
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
I'm interested but live in Canada. My series 2 has a black box. Any difference?
Costs to K1V 1H5 (Ottawa Canada)
transponder7600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:44 PM   #14
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by transponder7600 View Post
I'm interested but live in Canada. My series 2 has a black box. Any difference?
Costs to K1V 1H5 (Ottawa Canada)
I really have no idea?? I'm thinking this is set for US.
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:03 PM   #15
deanbrew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 18
Is it still available?
deanbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:17 AM   #16
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanbrew View Post
Is it still available?
Hi deanbrew, yes still available.

Tom
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 06:03 AM   #17
deanbrew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finalrinse View Post
Hi deanbrew, yes still available.

Tom
Private message sent.
deanbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 01:18 PM   #18
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Sold

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanbrew View Post
Private message sent.
Sold to deanbrew, great transaction....
Thanks!

Last edited by Finalrinse : 10-07-2012 at 07:17 PM.
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |