TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-15-2015, 02:43 PM   #1
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,522
Tivo machine preferences - name change

When you log into your account and change the name of one of your Tivo machines, how long does that usually take for it to find its way down to the machine and finalize?

tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 02:55 PM   #2
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 3,108
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
When you log into your account and change the name of one of your Tivo machines, how long does that usually take for it to find its way down to the machine and finalize?
Not sure, I always do the opposite.

JoeKustra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 08:34 PM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,032
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
When you log into your account and change the name of one of your Tivo machines, how long does that usually take for it to find its way down to the machine and finalize?
Force a Tivo Connection. Also, you may have to reboot afterwards.

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!

Last edited by ThAbtO; 12-15-2015 at 09:50 PM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 09:45 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
When you log into your account and change the name of one of your Tivo machines, how long does that usually take for it to find its way down to the machine and finalize?
I've seen it take a few to several hours, and I've seen it take a couple or 3 days.

Forced connections may speed things up.


Seems like it happens more quickly the past year or two than previously.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 10:49 PM   #5
tvmaster2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,522
forced connection and reboot did it instantly. thanks

tvmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.
Page generated in 0.12290192 seconds (49.78% PHP - 50.22% MySQL) with 18 queries