TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2012, 08:49 PM   #1
texas16309
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Re-record after power failure

I'm new to Tivo. I have a Premiere Q unit from my cable company. I'm also a DirecTV subscriber and so I'm accustom to their HR dvrs. That being said Sunday night during The Walking Dead and Dexter I had a power failure that lasted only a few minutes. After the power came back on the Tivo started up and resumed recording as did the HR21. However, the HR21 also re-recorded the two shows later that night as they were listed as partial recordings. The Tivo did no such thing. Is this normal for the Tivo? Thanks.
texas16309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:35 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,708
Yes.

You can also put them on a UPS so when you have brief power cuts, it will continue to record and not have to wait for the long reboot time.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:25 AM   #3
Jonathan_S
Registered User
 
Jonathan_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 13,597
If the TiVo totally missed the show due to a power outage it would have automatically tried to rerecord.

But (for whatever reason) it is not programmed to do so in the case of a partial recording. You'd have to manually tell it to record again in that scenario.
__________________
Xbox: MetalThreshkeen -- PSN: Threshkeen
TiVo Elite
Jonathan_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:54 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by texas16309 View Post
I'm new to Tivo. I have a Premiere Q unit from my cable company. I'm also a DirecTV subscriber and so I'm accustom to their HR dvrs. That being said Sunday night during The Walking Dead and Dexter I had a power failure that lasted only a few minutes. After the power came back on the Tivo started up and resumed recording as did the HR21. However, the HR21 also re-recorded the two shows later that night as they were listed as partial recordings. The Tivo did no such thing. Is this normal for the Tivo? Thanks.
If you can afford all that, go get a UPS for the various receivers and TiVos and such.

If you have any money left over, get a separate one for the TV itself.

And a 3rd one for the A/V receiver.

During power outages due to storms you can watch the weather channel through the TV's internal speakers.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |