TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2012, 06:57 PM   #1
bmgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern VA, USA
Posts: 919
Premiere XL + Cox Tuning Adapter = Reboots?

I gave my sister a new Premiere XL and helped her get it set up with Cox Cable and a tuning adapter. (As an aside, I'll say I was shocked at how BIG that tuning adapter is, having thankfully never seen one before.)

She called me today to say that a lot of her recordings are nothing but blank screen. She's also found that the Tivo has rebooted a handful of times in just a week already. (Her old S2 has rarely ever rebooted.)

I see there were issues with Cox tuning adapters causing reboots, but most of those posts are well over a year old.

So, is this still an issue? What should I have her check? Should she exchange the Tivo at Best Buy since she's still within 30 days? (I have Comcast and an S3 and TivoHD, so no experience with Premiere at all.)

Thanks
bmgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:03 PM   #2
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmgoodman View Post
I gave my sister a new Premiere XL and helped her get it set up with Cox Cable and a tuning adapter. (As an aside, I'll say I was shocked at how BIG that tuning adapter is, having thankfully never seen one before.)

She called me today to say that a lot of her recordings are nothing but blank screen. She's also found that the Tivo has rebooted a handful of times in just a week already. (Her old S2 has rarely ever rebooted.)

I see there were issues with Cox tuning adapters causing reboots, but most of those posts are well over a year old.

So, is this still an issue? What should I have her check? Should she exchange the Tivo at Best Buy since she's still within 30 days? (I have Comcast and an S3 and TivoHD, so no experience with Premiere at all.)

Thanks
does it also have a cable card?
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:39 PM   #3
djwilso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 578
Premiere needs a basically perfect signal and perfect Internet access, so I would check those things first.

For me, any kind of intermittent drop-outs in Internet can potentially cause my Premiere Elite to reboot. Luckily, this almost never happens after I upgraded my router and cable modem.

You might want to get a Cox tech out to troubleshoot signal issues. Premiere is pretty touchy when the signal isn't just right. Too strong? Reboot. Too weak? Reboot. It is almost laughable.

Also, the "all channels go black" is a thing with Cox tuning adapters. I have 2 tuning adapters, one on a Series 3 and the other on the Elite, and about every 30 days I will have to cycle power on the TiVos and TAs to get the channels back. Annoying, and since this has been happening ever since TAs were released and I've tried having them replaced a few times without any improvement, I don't expect this will ever go away.
__________________
Philips Series 1 HDR212, Nov 2001, never activated (retired)
Original OLED Series 3 (Lifetime) - Nov 2006, upgraded to 1TB in 2009
Premiere Elite/XL4 (Lifetime) - Oct 2011
djwilso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:00 AM   #4
bmgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern VA, USA
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
does it also have a cable card?
Yes, a single M-card.
bmgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 06:09 PM   #5
bmgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern VA, USA
Posts: 919
I think she just might decide to go with FiOS to rid herself of the tuning adapter. I told her to be sure she tells Cox exactly why she's leaving, not that it will do any good....
bmgoodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |