TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 09-06-2012, 06:37 AM   #1
chashd

TiVo Stream Cost

I have no problem paying 129.00 for something, but I was just wondering if anyone knows how TiVo came up with the price for this thing. Does the unit really cost that much to make? I'm no expert, but I have a hard time believing that the tech inside justifies that price. I know us diehards will buy it, buy for the mass TiVo, subscribers, .......?
chashd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:10 AM   #2
rainwater

I highly doubt TiVo is making much profit if any on the Steam. The "tech" is similar to a Slingbox Pro-HD or Solo without the inputs/outputs so it certainly isn't cheap to produce (the chipset is basically all of the cost).
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:45 AM   #3
farmermac
Super user

There is no subscription cost. Why would you expect the item to cost what it actually sells for??
Old 09-06-2012, 09:15 AM   #4
NotVeryWitty
Too Big to Fail

They're also giving the app away for free.

Considering the relatively small market for this, and the development and support costs, I think it's a great price.
NotVeryWitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 09:18 AM   #5
atmuscarella

Quote:
Originally Posted by chashd View Post
I have no problem paying 129.00 for something, but I was just wondering if anyone knows how TiVo came up with the price for this thing. Does the unit really cost that much to make? I'm no expert, but I have a hard time believing that the tech inside justifies that price. I know us diehards will buy it, buy for the mass TiVo, subscribers, .......?
Well this device is designed for the masses that paid for a premium DVR and for iPhones, iPods, & iPads, all of which cost a pretty penny. Seems like $129 would be nothing comparatively and I would guess even at $129 the profit margins are allot less than any of those "i" devices.