TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2013, 12:30 AM   #1
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,135
New offer from TiVo on the TP-4/PLS $549.99

A friend of mine has just a Series 3 (TiVo-HD) on his account and just received an offer for the Series 4 4 tuner with Lifetime service for $549.99, the offer is on the TiVo main screen with a tel number to call to order the package.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:32 PM   #2
Greeby
Clueless Loser
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
A friend of mine has just a Series 3 (TiVo-HD) on his account and just received an offer for the Series 4 4 tuner with Lifetime service for $549.99, the offer is on the TiVo main screen with a tel number to call to order the package.
That so needs to pop up on mine.....
Greeby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:33 PM   #3
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greeby View Post
That so needs to pop up on mine.....
I have seen it on mine, too, but I also got an email a few days ago. Try calling TIVO.
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:44 PM   #4
jboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
A friend of mine has just a Series 3 (TiVo-HD) on his account and just received an offer for the Series 4 4 tuner with Lifetime service for $549.99, the offer is on the TiVo main screen with a tel number to call to order the package.
Does your friend have a lifetime subscription on the Series 3?

I ask because I do not and they are offering me the option of transferring my service with it's discount (7.99/mo) from my series 3 to a series 4 + free Moca if I buy a XL4 for 399. But, I have not received the lifetime offer.
jboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 08:19 PM   #5
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by jboy View Post
Does your friend have a lifetime subscription on the Series 3?

I ask because I do not and they are offering me the option of transferring my service with it's discount (7.99/mo) from my series 3 to a series 4 + free Moca if I buy a XL4 for 399. But, I have not received the lifetime offer.
Yes he has Lifetime on the Series 3
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 03:59 PM   #6
farmermac
Super user
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
i have 2 tivo hd's with lifetime and never got the email. I just called TiVo and mentionned a "friend" forwarded me this email promo and I asked if i could take them up on it since my "friend" wasnt interested. They were happy to oblige. Score
__________________
TiVo HD XL 2tb PLS
TiVo Premiere 4 2tb PLS
farmermac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 05:00 PM   #7
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
A friend of mine has just a Series 3 (TiVo-HD) on his account and just received an offer for the Series 4 4 tuner with Lifetime service for $549.99, the offer is on the TiVo main screen with a tel number to call to order the package.
Well, what's the number?

Last year I got an XL4 for 349 w/year sub and $99 life time add to my S3.
So, by all means anyone interested should call TiVo and ask; all they can say is no...
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 05:35 PM   #8
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 969
I believe it is 877-614-4777.

The one thing I keep having an issue with is that TIVO claims in the ad on all 3 of my THD's that it is $200 off. I even get that in their email offers to me. They say $200 off. These ads REQUIRE that you already can get the discount, so Lifetime is not $500 but $400 anyway. So, this is NOT a $200 savings but a $100 savings.

I wonder if this $549 offer for a P4+Lifetime is as good as it gets, or can we expect even better on Mothers Day/Fathers day?
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 07:46 PM   #9
farmermac
Super user
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
I think it is as good as it gets. This offer isn't on the front page for everyone but only supposed to be for select customers.
__________________
TiVo HD XL 2tb PLS
TiVo Premiere 4 2tb PLS
farmermac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:52 PM   #10
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmermac View Post
I think it is as good as it gets. This offer isn't on the front page for everyone but only supposed to be for select customers.
This is why I say that it is NOT $200 off but $100 off!
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:58 PM   #11
farmermac
Super user
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
I agree but to be fair it's a great value. $200 off if you're not a TiVo customer is even better value.
__________________
TiVo HD XL 2tb PLS
TiVo Premiere 4 2tb PLS
farmermac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:51 PM   #12
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmermac View Post
I agree but to be fair it's a great value. $200 off if you're not a TiVo customer is even better value.
...but if you are NOT a TIVO customer you do NOT get this deal. That is why I say that there is no case where this offer is $200 off!
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:56 PM   #13
farmermac
Super user
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPSAN View Post
...but if you are NOT a TIVO customer you do NOT get this deal. That is why I say that there is no case where this offer is $200 off!
Oh. Haha you are right. TiVo marketing at work.
__________________
TiVo HD XL 2tb PLS
TiVo Premiere 4 2tb PLS
farmermac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:21 PM   #14
fahtas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Until they fix this problem with the Premier 4 randomly not tuning, I wouldn't trade in my trusty Tivo HD!!!! Please Tivo, fix this bug!!
fahtas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:43 PM   #15
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPSAN View Post
...but if you are NOT a TIVO customer you do NOT get this deal. That is why I say that there is no case where this offer is $200 off!
you could be a TiVo customer that doesn't currently have an MSD qualifying unit
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:52 PM   #16
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 625
Man, I so want this. Still in my 30 day period. Maybe they'll hook me up with lifetime.
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:59 PM   #17
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahtas View Post
Until they fix this problem with the Premier 4 randomly not tuning, I wouldn't trade in my trusty Tivo HD!!!! Please Tivo, fix this bug!!
Is this on all P4's or is it on systems with a TA?
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!

Last edited by MPSAN : 04-09-2013 at 04:07 PM.
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:06 PM   #18
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 625
Man, I so want this. Still in my 30 day period. Maybe they'll hook me up with lifetime.
tivoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:26 PM   #19
Johnwashere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahtas View Post
Until they fix this problem with the Premier 4 randomly not tuning, I wouldn't trade in my trusty Tivo HD!!!! Please Tivo, fix this bug!!
What issue is that?? I've had a Tivo HD and now have a premier and Premier 4 and don't have any tuning issues...
Johnwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 07:43 PM   #20
fahtas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=476691
It has a 12 page discussion 4 topics below this one. I love tivo and have 3 of them but there is a serious problem with the s4. my sister bought an s4 too and has the same problem where the tuners randomly stop tuning any channels. you need to pull the plug to make it work again. Tivo said it's the cablecard but I switched a working cablecard from my tivo hd and it happened again. I have fios so its not a tuning adapter problem. If anyone from tivo is monitoring this, please pm me.
fahtas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:17 PM   #21
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,633
Sounds like it could be a signal STRENGTH problem. Too weak *or* too strong.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:21 PM   #22
grubbscd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
I chatted with Tivo and then called the 877 number above. Both said because I already have a premiere (2 tuner, 75 hour) that they couldn't do this deal for me. I couldn't seem to talk them into it. I currently have 3 tivo HD (1 with lifetime), 1 premiere and 1 S2 with lifetime. Let me know if anyone has an argument that works. I mentioned I wanted to get a 4 tuner version to use with the new mini, but that didn't work. Best they would do was the $50 March mayhem coupon so $349 for the hardware and $400 for the PLS. (MSD discount)
grubbscd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 07:34 PM   #23
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubbscd View Post
I chatted with Tivo and then called the 877 number above. Both said because I already have a premiere (2 tuner, 75 hour) that they couldn't do this deal for me. I couldn't seem to talk them into it. I currently have 3 tivo HD (1 with lifetime), 1 premiere and 1 S2 with lifetime. Let me know if anyone has an argument that works. I mentioned I wanted to get a 4 tuner version to use with the new mini, but that didn't work. Best they would do was the $50 March mayhem coupon so $349 for the hardware and $400 for the PLS. (MSD discount)
Did you ask to speak to a supervisor? With all that hardware a super may help. One of them sure helped me even after a salesperson said that a supervisor would only do what the salesrep could do.!
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:44 PM   #24
chrispitude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubbscd View Post
I chatted with Tivo and then called the 877 number above. Both said because I already have a premiere (2 tuner, 75 hour) that they couldn't do this deal for me. I couldn't seem to talk them into it. I currently have 3 tivo HD (1 with lifetime), 1 premiere and 1 S2 with lifetime. Let me know if anyone has an argument that works. I mentioned I wanted to get a 4 tuner version to use with the new mini, but that didn't work. Best they would do was the $50 March mayhem coupon so $349 for the hardware and $400 for the PLS. (MSD discount)
I was about to call, but all I have is a measly Premiere 2. I guess there's no need.
chrispitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:31 PM   #25
MPSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispitude View Post
I was about to call, but all I have is a measly Premiere 2. I guess there's no need.
Give them a call as they want you to upgrade. Since you do not have a Premiere it should work...if not ask to speak to a supervisor.
__________________
"If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is"!
MPSAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |