TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-18-2014, 05:53 PM   #1
HuskerMike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Circumventing "sleep mode" on mini

I'm in a corporate environment with several television being run by several minis. I want them all (4 TVs) to all constantly use a tuner from my 6 tuner roamio, but they will keep sleeping after 4 hours. I've seen some archived threads about using perhaps a Rhasberry Pi or something similar to keep them awake always, but I'm curious if anyone here has actually accomplished this. If anyone has any way of keeping them "alive", I would really appreciate it. It's a VERY annoying "feature".
HuskerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 06:02 PM   #2
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerMike View Post
I'm in a corporate environment with several television being run by several minis. I want them all (4 TVs) to all constantly use a tuner from my 6 tuner roamio, but they will keep sleeping after 4 hours. I've seen some archived threads about using perhaps a Rhasberry Pi or something similar to keep them awake always, but I'm curious if anyone here has actually accomplished this. If anyone has any way of keeping them "alive", I would really appreciate it. It's a VERY annoying "feature".
Only when used in a bedroom when you want the TV on all night and you sleep for more than 4 hours, I don't know why TiVo did not make this an option, or set it for 12 hours.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 06:58 PM   #3
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,219
This is the raspberry PI IR blaster you are talking about...

http://blog.riyas.org/2014/01/raspbe...trol-your.html

But I would recommend a telnet command from a simple scheduled script on your corporate network.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...ghlight=Telnet

Just write a script to telnet an unobtrusive command such as "clear" or "up" every 4 hours to the TiVo Minis and it should keep them up and running all day! You can also use it to change the channel remotely if you need too...

Here is a pretty simple script writing tool for telnet.

http://support.moonpoint.com/downloa...lnet/tst10.php

And a video showing how to use it!

http://youtu.be/vv9j1pDkZvM

Remember, in order for this to work you need Network Remote Control enabled. From tivo central: stpettings > remote & devices > Network remote control

And you are done!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo

Last edited by bradleys : 12-18-2014 at 08:56 PM.
bradleys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 08:53 AM   #4
HuskerMike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Bradleys - this is exactly the type of answer I was hoping to get. I'm not a computer coder, so I was hoping for something exactly like this information. Thank you SO much!
HuskerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 09:23 AM   #5
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,219
If you have never used telnet before, it will have to be enabled on the host computer...

To enable Telnet command line utilities:
Click Start > Control Panel.
Click Programs and Features.
Click Turn Windows features on or off.
In the Windows Features dialog box, check the Telnet Client check box.
Click OK. The system installs the appropriate files. This will take a few seconds to a minute.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 12:12 PM   #6
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Only when used in a bedroom when you want the TV on all night and you sleep for more than 4 hours, I don't know why TiVo did not make this an option, or set it for 12 hours.
Just like I wish they had a shorter option. Like 30 minutes or an hour.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 08:09 PM   #7
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,219
Get the wristband that can sense you fell asleep and turns it off!

http://mashable.com/2014/12/18/wristband-records-tv/
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 09:48 PM   #8
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Get the wristband that can sense you fell asleep and turns it off!

http://mashable.com/2014/12/18/wristband-records-tv/
Why would they be watching it live?
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 10:43 PM   #9
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Why would they be watching it live?
Great question!
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:06 AM   #10
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Just like I wish they had a shorter option. Like 30 minutes or an hour.
I think pretty much all of us here with Minis have wondered why they don't provide ANY option to configure the timeout, or disable it. Seems like a very easy thing to do, but apparently it's yet another Not the Tivo Way (tm) decision.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:00 PM   #11
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
I think pretty much all of us here with Minis have wondered why they don't provide ANY option to configure the timeout, or disable it. Seems like a very easy thing to do, but apparently it's yet another Not the Tivo Way (tm) decision.
I think (and this is only a guess on my part) that TiVo does not want to use any network services from the Mini continually as if you go on vacation for 2 weeks, why keep the load on your network, but options like 1 hour 4 hours, and 12 hours should cover most people needs.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |