TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2012, 03:10 PM   #1
mtm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Comcast question

I'm switching over from DirecTV to Comcast and am planning on getting at least 1 TiVo, possibly two. I have a couple questions:

1- If I had one TiVo and one Comcast DVR, can the two be networked together so I can watch recorded shows on either box, or do you have to have two TiVo boxes (or two from Comcast) to do that?

2- Can you use the Xfinity on demand with the TiVo boxes?

Thanks for your help!
mtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:26 PM   #2
jrm01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,619
1) Need two TiVos to do that

2)That option is being rolled out nationwide (slowly) and is currently available in SF and Boston areas.
__________________
Comcast, Cox, TW, Charter and BHN are cabal companies.
(That is not a spelling error. Check the definition.
)
jrm01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 05:45 PM   #3
scottfll954
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 38
You can NOT combine 2 comcast boxes either...

you will need to get there "ANY ROOM DVR" service...

I have just come from comcast in the past 30 days.. there is no comparison between the DVR`s.. biggest thing you will notice is the "GUIDE" and SEARCH

I am waiting patiently for them to open the flood gates on there ON DEMAND service in south florida though...
scottfll954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 06:16 PM   #4
WVZR1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The WV Eastern Panhandle
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtm View Post
I'm switching over from DirecTV to Comcast and am planning on getting at least 1 TiVo, possibly two. I have a couple questions:

1- If I had one TiVo and one Comcast DVR, can the two be networked together so I can watch recorded shows on either box, or do you have to have two TiVo boxes (or two from Comcast) to do that?

2- Can you use the Xfinity on demand with the TiVo boxes?

Thanks for your help!
You're located where?
WVZR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 03:08 PM   #5
mtm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post
You're located where?
In the Minneapolis area, so nowhere near Boston or SF. Any ideas how soon other areas are going to see this?

Comcast DVR's can't be networked together? Does the "any room DVR" service from Comcast work DVR to DVR, or is it only DVR to a non DVR box?
mtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 03:47 PM   #6
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,183
From what I have read with The Any Room DVR the other box can not be a dvr. Doesnt make sense but thats what was in the directions.
__________________
S2 and a Tivo HD
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |