TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2007, 12:08 PM   #1
micrgay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
PC not showing up in "Now Playing" list

Hi all - my computer isn't showing up in the Now Playing list anymore. I recently got a new router and I changed the IP address in the Tivo accordingly. I installed the newest version of Tivo Desktop (2.5.1) and still nothing. I've checked the Windows Firewall and everything is good there. I can view all the programs on the Tivo from my computer. The tivo just cant see the computer for some reason. When I select the Music, Photos & more.. then select the IP address it says "Server Not Found" pls help
micrgay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 01:57 PM   #2
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,232
Double check that all of the ports necessary are open in Windows Firewall:

http://tivosupport2.instancy.com/Lau...C-8FC6D408B5A7

Also, under TiVo Server Properties, check the Access Control tab and make sure your TiVo is listed (and authorized).
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 08:06 AM   #3
rbprescott
Registered User
 
rbprescott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Monroe, CT
Posts: 18
I also cannot see my PC. I recently purchased and installed TiVo Desktop Plus 2.6.1. I have 2 Series 3 TiVo's, one wired and one wireless and run Windows XP. I have successfully transferred files from both TiVo's. Neither one shows the PC. I have Zone Alarm installed, which I disabled. I do not use the Windows Firewall. Per TiVo's suggestion I unstalled TiVo Desktop Plus, ran Desktop Cleaner and reinstalled TiVo Desktop Plus, still to no avail. Any thoughts?
rbprescott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 08:13 AM   #4
rocko
Cuckoo for TiVo
 
rocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northeast Joisey
Posts: 1,551
Make sure you have at least one recording (or shortcut to a recording) in your My TiVo Recordings folder. If this folder is empty your TiVos will not "see" the computer.
__________________
Scully: "Is that a hound I hear baying in the moor ?"
Mulder: "No. That was a right-cheek sneak."

P4XL x 2 - Lifetime
P - Lifetime
HD - 1TB WD10EVVS - Lifetime
rocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 08:22 AM   #5
rbprescott
Registered User
 
rbprescott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Monroe, CT
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocko View Post
Make sure you have at least one recording (or shortcut to a recording) in your My TiVo Recordings folder. If this folder is empty your TiVos will not "see" the computer.
I had one shortcut to the folder that is in My TiVo Recordings folder which has the recordings. Just to duble check following your suggestion I moved one recording to the My TiVo Recordings folder and still no luck.
rbprescott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 10:59 AM   #6
rocko
Cuckoo for TiVo
 
rocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Northeast Joisey
Posts: 1,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbprescott View Post
I had one shortcut to the folder that is in My TiVo Recordings folder which has the recordings. Just to duble check following your suggestion I moved one recording to the My TiVo Recordings folder and still no luck.
Some type of firewall, either hardware or software, is interfering, then. I know this isn't much help but that's all I got.
__________________
Scully: "Is that a hound I hear baying in the moor ?"
Mulder: "No. That was a right-cheek sneak."

P4XL x 2 - Lifetime
P - Lifetime
HD - 1TB WD10EVVS - Lifetime
rocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 11:53 AM   #7
wscannell
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,352
Do you have more than one active network connection on your computer. You may need to select the proper network connection to make it work. Right click on the TiVo icon in the systray and select TiVo Server Properties. You should find a way to select the proper network adapter.
wscannell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 01:30 PM   #8
rambler
Registered User
 
rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 480
Update your Windows Certificate for TiVo Desktop.

Tivo didn't tell you about this? Me neither!!!

See the threads in the Home Media section of this website - here's one:

http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...d.php?t=390214
rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 10:03 AM   #9
rbprescott
Registered User
 
rbprescott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Monroe, CT
Posts: 18
I would like to thank all those who tried to help me out with my problem of "Not being able to see my PC on my TiVo". After talking to TiVo support twice and posting on TiVo Comm - no success. Well this AM I noticed that there was a TiVo icon in my systen tray and there was a yellow circle and 2 lines in it. I right clicked it and it said that my TiVo Desktop Server was off. I turned it on and voila my PC showed on my TiVo and I listed the shows that were on my PC. Will wonders ever cease?
rbprescott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:57 PM   #10
UNOwens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Something else to try, for those who are still having trouble.
When we ordered our Tivo, we did it online and there were some glitches. When my CC expired (months later) we found out that there were several accounts under our names. The Tivo rep merged the accounts and voila, PC showed up with no problems.
UNOwens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |