TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2013, 04:10 PM   #1
chrison600
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
Should I Reduce the Number of Tuners on My Roamio?

I have a Roamio Pro that has all 6 tuners active (as far as I know, I haven't messed with the configuration). I'm having random channel drops and some of the posts on this forum suggest that while the Roamio Pro is capable of managing 6 tuners, the providers and CableCards are not. I'm on Time Warner. Should I drop to 5 or 4 tuners?

Chris
chrison600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 06:12 AM   #2
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Sure. There's no harm in trying, you can change it back if nothing improves.
If you don't try it, you will never know if it might temporarily improve your situation.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 09:33 PM   #3
pwlcheng
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Could it be the TA causes your random channel drops? Can you regain the channel signal by switching to another channel and back?
pwlcheng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 09:39 AM   #4
chrison600
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwlcheng View Post
Could it be the TA causes your random channel drops? Can you regain the channel signal by switching to another channel and back?
When I catch the channel drop, yes, this is exactly the behavior. I simply toggle the channel up, then back down, and the previously unavailable channel tunes. Sometimes though, even after toggling the channel up then down, the target channel drops one or a few more times, requiring additional up/down toggles to finally stabilize it.

What does this mean?

Chris
chrison600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |