TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2012, 12:55 AM   #1
jdhancock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10
Using USB Port for Power Supply

My son gave me a wireless headset. The transmitter gets its power from an XBox360 USB port. Can use a Tivo USB port for power. Requirement is 5VDC 180 ma.

Thanks.
jdhancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 03:59 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdhancock View Post
My son gave me a wireless headset. The transmitter gets its power from an XBox360 USB port. Can use a Tivo USB port for power. Requirement is 5VDC 180 ma.

Thanks.
Probably.

Couldn't find USB 1 power specs (other than +5V), but USB 2 is supposed to be able to deliver up to 500mA (half an amp).

I know that my S2s and S3 can provide enough power to a TiVo Wireless G adapter for it to get mighty warm, so unless you're drawing a lot of power with something else plugged into the other USB slot on the TiVo, you'll probably be alright.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 12:18 PM   #3
ShayL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 196
I use the USB in my tivo to power a PS3 ir adapter like this: http://www.schmartz.com/PS3IR1000-Wi...B0028S7BZY.htm
ShayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:57 PM   #4
jdhancock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10
Answered my own question. Both ports are in use. Tuning adapter and bluetooth remote. I'll just jet a plug-in usb supply. Thanks for responding.
jdhancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 04:57 PM   #5
lastdeadcat
22 years in Alaska
 
lastdeadcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Duvall, WA
Posts: 431
You can always use a powered USB hub.
lastdeadcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |