TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2012, 03:28 PM   #1
dan0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Series 2 Dual tuner hit by lightning

My cable system was hit by lightning on 7-27-12
the only things damaged were my cable modem and tivo TCD649080

did the unplug and let set for more than 24hrs no help

symptoms are plug the tivo in
green and yellow lights appear dimly lit and thats it
I get no output to the tv screen at all

all the trouble shooting tips I find assume you have video output

power supply is still putting out the proper voltages to the hard drive
and the fan plugged into the mother board is spinning

suggestions?

thanks

dan0
dan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:37 PM   #2
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,859
Assuming you don't want to upgrade to digital cable, I'm afraid it's time to look for another 649. Keep the HDD and Power Supply as spares. Hope you didn't have lifetime on it.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:54 PM   #3
worachj
Registered User
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 788
Sounds like you think an electrical surge entered the TiVo by the signal input cable and not the power cable, so my WAG is video/motherboard problem.

Maybe this may help; Weakness TiVo Repair and Troubleshooting Guide:
http://www.weaknees.com/repair.php

Good Luck!
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:01 PM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,758
Yes. if both LEDs are on and no video the Tivo is probably toast. If the voltages are good then, even with a bad hard drive, you should get the "Powering Up" screen because that comes from the firmware on the MB.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:51 AM   #5
dan0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
thanks, thats what i was afraid of.
dan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:25 AM   #6
replaytv
I <3 Wintergreen
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,831
Does the damaged TiVo have lifetime?
replaytv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:12 AM   #7
dan0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
yes,
anyway to move that to another unit?
dan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 10:02 AM   #8
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan0 View Post
yes,
anyway to move that to another unit?
No - it's tied to the motherboard. Sometimes TiVo will transfer to a new box with a reduced cost compared to a new lifetime sub, but I'm guessing your unit is so old they won't do anything for you -- anyway: just ask them.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 10:03 AM   #9
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,390
I believe that the cryto chip can be moved to a new motherboard on some units. However, its unclear if that chip is undamaged on yours and if it is of the type that is movable.

Have you called Tivo? They may make an offer that works out for you (like moving it to a newly purchased unit for a fee or cheap lifetime on a used unit). Weaknees may be able to give a quote for the work if its not something you can do yourself.

Does your insurance coverage come into play here?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 12:48 PM   #10
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
I believe that the cryto chip can be moved to a new motherboard on some units. However, its unclear if that chip is undamaged on yours and if it is of the type that is movable.

Have you called Tivo? They may make an offer that works out for you (like moving it to a newly purchased unit for a fee or cheap lifetime on a used unit). Weaknees may be able to give a quote for the work if its not something you can do yourself.

Does your insurance coverage come into play here?
Given that a used S2DT with lifetime can be had for $150 or less it probably wouldn't be worth it to get it repaired or even to swap the lifetime to another S2DT through Tivo. Seems like the Tivo swap generally has cost folks about $149 when they've been able to do it.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 01:12 AM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan0 View Post
yes,
anyway to move that to another unit?
Yes, I did it on a non-lifetimed 649 because of about 2TB worth of shows tied to a particular TSN.

But the procedure involved is not for the faint of heart or the fumble of fingered.

You have to remove the crypto chip (which is where the TSN resides) and put it on a functioning motherboard (from which you also have to remove the crypto chip)

They are Surface Mount Devices, so it's not as easy as replacing bad capacitors on the power supply board.

You have to unsolder it and resolder it in about 32 or 40 places all at once.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:34 AM   #12
replaytv
I <3 Wintergreen
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Yes, I did it on a non-lifetimed 649 because of about 2TB worth of shows tied to a particular TSN.

But the procedure involved is not for the faint of heart or the fumble of fingered.

You have to remove the crypto chip (which is where the TSN resides) and put it on a functioning motherboard (from which you also have to remove the crypto chip)

They are Surface Mount Devices, so it's not as easy as replacing bad capacitors on the power supply board.

You have to unsolder it and resolder it in about 32 or 40 places all at once.
You have to melt the solder fast enough so it doesn't damage the crypto chip or the board from the heat. They have industrial automatic machines that can do stuff like that quickly and safely, but probably not worth the $160 value that TiVo is getting on eBay right now.
But if are going to trash it, maybe someone on this forum that is experienced with this kind of soldering might be interested in the box. Course, maybe the lightening damaged the crypto chip too.
replaytv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 05:02 AM   #13
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by replaytv View Post
You have to melt the solder fast enough so it doesn't damage the crypto chip or the board from the heat. They have industrial automatic machines that can do stuff like that quickly and safely, but probably not worth the $160 value that TiVo is getting on eBay right now.
But if are going to trash it, maybe someone on this forum that is experienced with this kind of soldering might be interested in the box. Course, maybe the lightening damaged the crypto chip too.
As I said, I have done it.

Without a machine.

I could do it again if I had to.

I sure hope I don't have to.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:54 PM   #14
dan0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks for all the info and feedback
at this time I picked up a used series 2dt (for $25.00) stuck in my 500gig hard drive and we're back up and running.

now if i could only convince tivo to give me that 99.00 lifetime deal on a series 3
dan0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |