TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2012, 06:35 PM   #1
CharlieC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 28
TIVO Website - Billing History

I'm trying to access my billing history on TIVO's website but when I click on that link, a blank page is returned - completely empty except for a title which states BILLING HISTORY. When I contacted TIVO about this they told me it was either a problem with my computer or browser. I tried accessing the page on 3 different pcs, using 2 different browsers (Firefox & IE), as well as an Android device and all of them respond the same - nothing is returned on the page. TIVO insists it's my error - anyone have success getting this page?
CharlieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:50 PM   #2
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,239
Also blank here..
it's clearly them.

The Order History item one step below does work
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 07:02 PM   #3
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 801
Don't know if it's because I only have lifetime on acct I get---Sorry, you are not the billing contact for this DVR, so you cannot view billing history for this DVR.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:29 AM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,385
Just tried it and it works fine for me. It can take a minute to build the list.
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Pending sale)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 09:29 AM   #5
dwit
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,652
Works fine after the DVR is selected.

When I select a unit, it displays the history.
__________________
Tivo HD Lifetime 1TB int, 1TB ext
Tivo 540040 400 GB Lifetime
Tivo S2DT 750 GB msd
Toshiba sdh400 r.i.p.
dwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:14 PM   #6
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannonz View Post
Don't know if it's because I only have lifetime on acct I get---Sorry, you are not the billing contact for this DVR, so you cannot view billing history for this DVR.
If you got your TiVo from another TiVo account that did pay TiVo for the service, than that is the response you would get.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 1 Mini, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner

Last edited by lessd : 07-31-2012 at 01:42 PM.
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 12:12 AM   #7
theraven146
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
I just knew that billing history could be viewed in Tivo website. I got to know how this is done and tried it myself. It worked well for me. I guess your problem could be because of an Internet issue. Did you try it in other IP addresses?
theraven146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:37 PM   #8
CharlieC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwit View Post
Works fine after the DVR is selected.

When I select a unit, it displays the history.
On what screen are you seeing a DVR unit to select? All I see is a BILLING HISTORY listing to select on a side menu.
CharlieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:48 PM   #9
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,385


This is what I get on the Billing History screen, AFTER I clicked on the "Billing History" from the left side menu.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tivo.jpg (12.6 KB, 130 views)
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Pending sale)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 09:53 PM   #10
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post


This is what I get on the Billing History screen, AFTER I clicked on the "Billing History" from the left side menu.
Not at all what I get

Attached Images
File Type: jpg billingsm.jpg (36.3 KB, 135 views)
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 09:55 PM   #11
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
Not at all what I get
Do you have cookies enabled on your browser?
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Pending sale)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:12 AM   #12
CharlieC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
Not at all what I get
That's exactly what I see - no DVR to select - and I DO have cookies enabled. In fact - looking at the list of cookies for TIVO.COM, there are a number of them listed.
CharlieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:08 AM   #13
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Do you have cookies enabled on your browser?
yup indeed I do, and I checked in IE and got the same result, my IE runs clean with no plug ins.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:15 AM   #14
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,385
What about Java?
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Pending sale)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:13 AM   #15
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,748
I found that the billing history won't let me see info if the box was originally bought by someone else.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 11:57 AM   #16
ajwees41
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha,NE
Posts: 1,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
I found that the billing history won't let me see info if the box was originally bought by someone else.
is the box now in your name on your account?
ajwees41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 03:34 PM   #17
BrianCT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
Posts: 178
I am having the same exact problems; I've tried 4 different browsers, still blank.
BrianCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:48 PM   #18
CharlieC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
What about Java?
Yes, Javascript is enabled.
CharlieC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 12:07 PM   #19
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwees41 View Post
is the box now in your name on your account?
Yup, but it tells me that I'm not the account holder of record. It does that for all five boxes that I bought used and they are all on my account. I'm assuming that the "account holder of record" is the original purchaser. Maybe it works differently if the boxes are monthly but mine are all lifetime.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 05:19 PM   #20
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Yup, but it tells me that I'm not the account holder of record. It does that for all five boxes that I bought used and they are all on my account. I'm assuming that the "account holder of record" is the original purchaser. Maybe it works differently if the boxes are monthly but mine are all lifetime.
Not only does the TiVo have to be in your account but you must have paid for the TiVo service in that account, than the billing should show up. If you purchase a Lifetime TiVo from a 3rd pty and xfer that TiVo into your account the billing info. will not show up.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 1 Mini, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:50 AM   #21
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Not only does the TiVo have to be in your account but you must have paid for the TiVo service in that account, than the billing should show up. If you purchase a Lifetime TiVo from a 3rd pty and xfer that TiVo into your account the billing info. will not show up.
That's what I figured. Someone originally told me to check the billing history when I asked if there was any way to determine which boxes would qualify me for the MSD.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 02:41 PM   #22
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
That's what I figured. Someone originally told me to check the billing history when I asked if there was any way to determine which boxes would qualify me for the MSD.
You don't have to be the person that paid to get MSD, your account will show you if MSD can be used, one simple way is to log into your TiVo account and try buying a new TiVo, you will be given a Lifetime price, if that price in $399 you have MSD if the price is $499 you don't have MSD on that account. (You don't have to complete the purchase of course)
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 1 Mini, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 05:38 PM   #23
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
That's what I figured. Someone originally told me to check the billing history when I asked if there was any way to determine which boxes would qualify me for the MSD.
That was me, and I was ass-u-ming that all your Tivos were originally purchased by you.
I didn't think about used Tivos bought from a 3rd party as being part of the equation.


The billing history works for me, but all my Tivos were originally purchased/activated by me.

Maybe that's the factor here? If you only have Tivos that were bought from a 3rd party on your account, you won't have a billing history to display, therefore the page is blank (missing the 'select DVR' dropdown)?
That's the only thing that would make sense to me.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:42 AM   #24
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
That was me, and I was ass-u-ming that all your Tivos were originally purchased by you.
I didn't think about used Tivos bought from a 3rd party as being part of the equation.


The billing history works for me, but all my Tivos were originally purchased/activated by me.

Maybe that's the factor here? If you only have Tivos that were bought from a 3rd party on your account, you won't have a billing history to display, therefore the page is blank (missing the 'select DVR' dropdown)?
That's the only thing that would make sense to me.
No Tivo's on my account that were ever activated by someone else, all were purchased by me and activated.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:54 AM   #25
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
You don't have to be the person that paid to get MSD, your account will show you if MSD can be used, one simple way is to log into your TiVo account and try buying a new TiVo, you will be given a Lifetime price, if that price in $399 you have MSD if the price is $499 you don't have MSD on that account. (You don't have to complete the purchase of course)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
That was me, and I was ass-u-ming that all your Tivos were originally purchased by you.
I didn't think about used Tivos bought from a 3rd party as being part of the equation.


The billing history works for me, but all my Tivos were originally purchased/activated by me.

Maybe that's the factor here? If you only have Tivos that were bought from a 3rd party on your account, you won't have a billing history to display, therefore the page is blank (missing the 'select DVR' dropdown)?
That's the only thing that would make sense to me.
I know that I currently have at least one Tivo on my account that qualifies me for the MSD because I was able to take advantage of a special offer to get a Premeire. The problem is that I have a large collection of older boxes, many of which will eventually be sold or given away so it would be nice to know if there is a particular one that I need to keep. Ironically, I originally qualified for the MSD when I registered a pair of S1 boxes on my account. I've since sold those boxes but the new owners declined to transfer them. For what it's worth, the last time I called Tivo I asked if the CSR could tell me which boxes qualified me for the MSD and he said he thought they all did but had nothing definitive that he could point me to to prove it.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 03:13 PM   #26
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 8,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post


The billing history works for me, but all my Tivos were originally purchased/activated by me.

Maybe that's the factor here? If you only have Tivos that were bought from a 3rd party on your account, you won't have a billing history to display, therefore the page is blank (missing the 'select DVR' dropdown)?
That's the only thing that would make sense to me.
Except that that issue was covered in the first few responses to the OP.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:10 AM   #27
BrianCT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
Posts: 178
Anyone have better luck, I still am having issues seeing only the blank page.
BrianCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 07:21 AM   #28
oinkaroonie
Registered User
 
oinkaroonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianCT View Post
Anyone have better luck, I still am having issues seeing only the blank page.
I have a deactivated S2 and a lifetime HD. I get a blank page because there's no recent billing history. I paid for a month on my S2 in 2010 when its 3-year contract was up because I hadn't deactivated it, but apparently Billing History only shows more recent billings.

I don't get a Please select prompt because I have only one active box.

My Order History page shows me everything, though: Purchase of my S2 in 2007, purchase of my HD in 2009, and warranty replacement of a bad remote in 2010.
oinkaroonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 05:21 PM   #29
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by oinkaroonie View Post
My Order History page shows me everything, though: Purchase of my S2 in 2007, purchase of my HD in 2009, and warranty replacement of a bad remote in 2010.
I didn't purchase my Tivos from TiVo, so the only things in my Order History are a pair of IR blasters and a couple of misc. swag items.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:21 AM   #30
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 931
not working today, nor the credit card info. Chat said there is a site issue.
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |