TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2011, 09:48 PM   #1
macmike12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manteno, IL
Posts: 11
Series 3 vs. Premiere or Premiere XL

Just moving into an Old Farm House where cable is not available and not wanting to go Satellite at the moment. All left for me is Antenna TV. I currently have 2 HD TV's both are 1080p and one standard 13" TV with no digital tuner. I want to go with Tivo at least on the two HD's currently and possibly one on the Standard TV at some point down the road. Here is what I am wanting to know and haven't found answers anywhere.
1. The differences between Series 3 vs. Premiere (what I have on the way to me.) Pros and cons of both systems.
2. The differences between Series 3 vs. Premiere XL.
3. If you were buy Tivos why would you buy one or the other in my situation. Any ideas appreciated.
4. I have ran cat 5e from my cisco hub over to take care of Tivos once they are put at each of the HD TV's. How will the watching from one room to the other from either unit work. I also have Roxio Toast 10 which I understand is suppose to work with Tivo some how.

macmike12 - mail <<at>> mikealrhughes <<dot>> com.
__________________
Mike Hughes, D.Min., Th.D., Ph.D.
Computer Consultant - Comptia A+, Network +
MOS certified
GROL - (Ship Radar Endorsed)
2nd Class Radiotelegraph
macmike12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 08:09 AM   #2
macmike12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manteno, IL
Posts: 11
Need one more post in order to be able to ask a question using PM. Test.
__________________
Mike Hughes, D.Min., Th.D., Ph.D.
Computer Consultant - Comptia A+, Network +
MOS certified
GROL - (Ship Radar Endorsed)
2nd Class Radiotelegraph
macmike12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 08:40 AM   #3
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Mike:
There are 5 Tivo Models that work well with Over The Air (OTA) TV. They are:
  1. TiVo Premiere -current model
  2. TiVo Premiere XL -current model
  3. TiVo HD - No longer in production
  4. TiVo HD XL - No longer in production
  5. TiVo Series 3 HD - No longer in production
The Tivo HD & TiVo HD XL are also considered "Series 3" TiVos as they are built on the "Series 3" platform.

The TiVo Premiere and TiVo Premiere XL are also considered "Series 4" TiVos as they are built on the "Series 4" platform.

I will address more of your questions in my next post.

Thanks,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 09:04 AM   #4
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmike12 View Post
Just moving into an Old Farm House where cable is not available and not wanting to go Satellite at the moment. All left for me is Antenna TV. I currently have 2 HD TV's both are 1080p and one standard 13" TV with no digital tuner. I want to go with Tivo at least on the two HD's currently and possibly one on the Standard TV at some point down the road. Here is what I am wanting to know and haven't found answers anywhere.
1. The differences between Series 3 vs. Premiere (what I have on the way to me.) Pros and cons of both systems.
2. The differences between Series 3 vs. Premiere XL.
3. If you were buy Tivos why would you buy one or the other in my situation. Any ideas appreciated.
4. I have ran cat 5e from my cisco hub over to take care of Tivos once they are put at each of the HD TV's. How will the watching from one room to the other from either unit work. I also have Roxio Toast 10 which I understand is suppose to work with Tivo some how.

macmike12 - mail <<at>> mikealrhughes <<dot>> com.
Number 4 is the easest to answer. If you are recording OTA only you can use Multi Room Viewing (MRV) between multiple TiVos that are on one account and on the same LAN. It works pretty good, the TiVos actual copy the programs and if you have 2 Premiere TiVos will copy fast enough for near instant viewing on a wired network.

Number 3: I would buy regular TiVo Permieres. Latest tech & only ones you can buy new.

Number 2 & 1: There are some differences, The TiVo Series 3 HD came out in 2006, the TiVo HD & TiVo HD XL came out in 2007, & the Premiere and Premiere XL came out in 2010. They all work very good with OTA (I have 3 different TiVos all used only for OTA). The differences that might effect an OTA user are capacity (easy to upgrade any of them), speed, User Interface (UI), and potential future features.

Regarding the "XL" models they are about the same as the regular models except they have bigger hard drives (more capacity), glow remotes (they are nicer), and are THX certified. Most do not consider them worth the extra money. It is very very easy to upgrade the Premiere's hard drive with 2TB drives costing $80 so the increased capacity is really not a consideration for most of us.

My advice is to buy Premiere's with lifetime service they can be found on ebay for about $525 or you could buy from TiVo directly the first one will cost you about $700 and then $600 after that. If you buy directly from TiVo you will need to call them to get lifetime service.

Good luck,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 09:12 AM   #5
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,691
There is a huge thread (and other more recent ones) reporting OTA tuner sensitivity of the Premiere is inferior to the Series 3 models:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=446075
The reported experiences vary -- some users don't see the deficiency.

The Premiere will do MRV transfers much faster.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 09:47 AM   #6
necrochaos
Tivo N00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 16
I just bought another Series 3 TiVo on eBay for $76 bucks. You can still find them if you look around. I didn't want the premier as the monthly and lifetime costs are higher.

I also don't have a reason to upgrade for the features. I don't need to watch/edit stuff on my iPad.

I only use Netflix and Amazon and recorded shows from my cable.

I think the Series 3 is still the best bet, but your opinion my differ.
necrochaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 12:46 AM   #7
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 571
And the Series 3 is repeatedly reported to have a superior OTA tuner than the Premieres. Lots of posts confirming that.
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 01:02 AM   #8
replaytv
Bang/Bounce/Thump
 
replaytv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denver ish Colorado
Posts: 3,436
Series 3 good OTA reception

I have been using a Series 3 TCD652160 for awhile and it has much better reception for OTA than any digital converter box I have found. I have another one coming from ebay.
But plan to buy a TIVO SERIES 3 TCD648250B as most everything I read said it was the one to buy for a low tech guy like me using OTA.

I fought with a ReplayTv for about 3 hours today. U better know what U are doing if U use one of the dark ages units. Interface was very difficult to use. I am even thinking of changing my name!(I got the replaytv working now. I found that I had to have a bigger brain that it does. My bad. The replaytv has many features that the Tivo doesn't{the main one being commercial advance}, but it doesn't support antenna TV, so I had to do a rough workaround. U can also connect a security camera directly to it and switch back and forth from live TV or recording to the security camera. NICE!)

Last edited by replaytv : 04-07-2011 at 04:22 PM. Reason: to correct a misconception
replaytv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 12:33 PM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Series3Sub View Post
And the Series 3 is repeatedly reported to have a superior OTA tuner than the Premieres. Lots of posts confirming that.

That only matters in the fringe areas. If you are in an area with a strong signal, you will not notice a difference in reception, since they will both receive the signals with no issues.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 12:37 PM   #10
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 645
I'd get the Premiere over the SEries 3, but it also depends on the price gap between the two.
trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 01:21 PM   #11
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by trip1eX View Post
I'd get the Premiere over the SEries 3, but it also depends on the price gap between the two.
I looked through the sold units on ebay and the orginial Series 3 HD units with lifetime sold for $400-$450. You can buy a new Premiere with lifetime on ebay for about $525 and for $470 if you can find a friend with upgrade offers. If both units were new at these price I might take the Series 3 HD but taking a unit that could be over 4 years old vs one that is new tips me to the Premiere. Plus the Premiere can very easily be self upgraded with a 2TB hard drive for about $80 and the Series 3 HD can not.

Thanks,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 02:28 AM   #12
avramw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Is the user interface the same?

Hello all,

I'm brand new to Tivo's and thinking about buying a series three that someone I know is selling. I was wondering if the user interface is the same between the series 3 and the newer ones. Also, are there any differences in features between them?

Thanks!
avramw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:21 AM   #13
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by avramw View Post
Hello all,

I'm brand new to Tivo's and thinking about buying a series three that someone I know is selling. I was wondering if the user interface is the same between the series 3 and the newer ones. Also, are there any differences in features between them?

Thanks!
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=444083

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=419994
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 02:50 PM   #14
abap21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Hi, considering a series 3 vs HD vs premiere for OTA reception. Is there a post that compares these?
abap21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:46 PM   #15
daveak
Series 3 Novice
 
daveak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
I looked through the sold units on ebay and the orginial Series 3 HD units with lifetime sold for $400-$450. You can buy a new Premiere with lifetime on ebay for about $525 and for $470 if you can find a friend with upgrade offers. If both units were new at these price I might take the Series 3 HD but taking a unit that could be over 4 years old vs one that is new tips me to the Premiere. Plus the Premiere can very easily be self upgraded with a 2TB hard drive for about $80 and the Series 3 HD can not.

Thanks,
Easy is relative. My Series 3 (original unit) is now sporting a 2TB drive. It seemed easy.....
__________________
The FBI has not been here.
daveak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:35 PM   #16
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by abap21 View Post
Hi, considering a series 3 vs HD vs premiere for OTA reception. Is there a post that compares these?
From what I have read, the S3 OLED is best for OTA reception (more expensive unit with premium components). Although YMMV as the S3 OLED Tivos are starting to show signs of capacitor plague on the power supplies.

I have two TivoHDs and have had no problems with reception. One is using a Terk indoor antenna, and the other is using a home-made antenna fashioned using a 4' long 2x4 and some metal wire like this:


I also have an unsubscribed Premiere hooked up to that same home-made antenna and have not had any issues with reception, however the signal meter reports a lower signal than the Tivo HD.
From what I have read, the Premiere may have multipath signal issues, so if your area is such that the antenna signal has a lot of objects (buildings, trees, etc.) to bounce around on, you might have some reception issues, again YMMV.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:59 PM   #17
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveak View Post
Easy is relative. My Series 3 (original unit) is now sporting a 2TB drive. It seemed easy.....
Ya I guess now it depends on what someone means by "self upgraded". You certainly can now buy a 2TB drive with the TiVo software preloaded for an original Series 3 and install the drive yourself. However unless something has changed recently I can not buy a new 2TB drive and load the software on it myself like I can with a TiVo HD or Premiere.

But I have to ask why the comments on a post over a year old?
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 01:06 PM   #18
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
From what I have read, the S3 OLED is best for OTA reception (more expensive unit with premium components). Although YMMV as the S3 OLED Tivos are starting to show signs of capacitor plague on the power supplies.

I have two TivoHDs and have had no problems with reception.

I also have an unsubscribed Premiere hooked up to that same home-made antenna and have not had any issues with reception, however the signal meter reports a lower signal than the Tivo HD.
From what I have read, the Premiere may have multipath signal issues, so if your area is such that the antenna signal has a lot of objects (buildings, trees, etc.) to bounce around on, you might have some reception issues, again YMMV.
I can confirm from personal experience that in instances where there are reception issues (mostly likely multipath issues) the Premiere can not handle them as well as the original Series 3 or TiVo HD.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 01:11 PM   #19
JoeTaxpayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 485
Premiere talks nice to an iPad if you have one.
If you are on Comcast, it takes a premiere to get on-demand, that's starting in some areas.
__________________
Toshiba SD-H400, Tivo Series 2, Tivo HD, TiVo Series 3 THX, TiVo Premiere (All upgraded with extra HD goodness) and an XL4.
JoeTaxpayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 02:55 PM   #20
daveak
Series 3 Novice
 
daveak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
Ya I guess now it depends on what someone means by "self upgraded". You certainly can now buy a 2TB drive with the TiVo software preloaded for an original Series 3 and install the drive yourself. However unless something has changed recently I can not buy a new 2TB drive and load the software on it myself like I can with a TiVo HD or Premiere.

But I have to ask why the comments on a post over a year old?
I did not notice it was that old until you pointed it out.

However, I still approve of my message.
__________________
The FBI has not been here.
daveak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:13 PM   #21
sabird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Self loaded software for Hard Drive upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
However unless something has changed recently I can not buy a new 2TB drive and load the software on it myself like I can with a TiVo HD or Premiere.
How could one load the software on oneself? I am about to shell out $300 to WeaKnees for a 2TB HD kit. Are there instructions anywhere about which drives are compatible, where/how to get and install the software (and can it be done with a Macintosh), and how to do the hardware work? Thanks.
sabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 08:58 AM   #22
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,155
I recommend that you go to the upgrade center to learn about upgrades. Lots of great information there.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 09:37 PM   #23
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,869
You can easily upgrade Tivo HD and up on a Mac.. with the jmfs CD. But with the orig OLED S3, you need to use manual CLI tools yourself, and can mess something up if you don't know what you're doign.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |