TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2012, 03:09 PM   #1
ChrisShaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Control TiVo without remote

My parents saved a show on their old TiVo, which they no longer use. We'd like to watch that show on my TV. Unfortunately, they lost the remote. Is there any way to control the TiVo without a remote to watch that one show?
ChrisShaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 03:15 PM   #2
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 872
Any universal remote can be set up for tivo.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 03:27 PM   #3
rsnaider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,627
Depends on the TiVo, my Toshiba and Sony have controls on the box.
__________________
Ron

TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Premier - WD 1TB Expander
TiVo Premier XL
TiVo Premier Elite
TiVo Mini
rsnaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 03:58 PM   #4
evanborkow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisShaffer View Post
My parents saved a show on their old TiVo, which they no longer use. We'd like to watch that show on my TV. Unfortunately, they lost the remote. Is there any way to control the TiVo without a remote to watch that one show?
If it's still subscribed, there are a number of network interfaces.
evanborkow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:24 PM   #5
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by evanborkow View Post
If it's still subscribed, there are a number of network interfaces.
Only if it is a TiVo 3 or later.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 07:14 PM   #6
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,008
Is it subscribed and what model is it?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 01:32 AM   #7
mrbenjie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Don't really see any way to control the TiVo with no remote.

But -- I have a really nice universal remote by X10 I bought for home automation that also works well with my TiVo (ALMOST all functions work but haven't figured out the advance / commercial skip button equivalent yet.)

For what you want to do, would work fine and REALLY cheap right now as they are blowing the out in anticipation of whatever is replacing it: only $4.99 at http://www.x10.com/promotions/ur73a_ed_499.html?EM#

(.. and no, I'm not getting any cut from that link. You can also go to the x10.com site, then click the SALE link and scroll WAY down to near the bottom if you'd rather.)

You might also just check around with friends and neighbors to see if anyone has an old universal remote they don't want anymore that they'll donate, and then look online for the manuals (since it's doubtful they'll still have them) to get the code for TiVo. But not likely the X10 remotes are going to last long at that price.

(I'm buying a few more just for the convenience of not having to take it from room to room and then look for it :-)
mrbenjie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 02:39 PM   #8
Edmund
Remote Czar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 5,136
Directv and cable oem remotes have a tivo code built-in.
Edmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:55 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisShaffer View Post
My parents saved a show on their old TiVo, which they no longer use. We'd like to watch that show on my TV. Unfortunately, they lost the remote. Is there any way to control the TiVo without a remote to watch that one show?
If it's a Philips brand TiVo or a TiVo brand TiVo a universal remote set up to run a Philips VCR will probably do what you want, or maybe an old remote for a DirecTV receiver made by Philips.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 07:54 AM   #10
philw1776
Registered User
 
philw1776's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seacoast NH
Posts: 2,128
My Logitech Harmony remote controlled my TiVo series 2
philw1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |