TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2013, 08:41 AM   #1
banjomaniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
digital switched iideo

Does the series 3 work with time warners New digital switched video?

Thanks
banjomaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:55 AM   #2
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 6,070
Do you mean SDV (Switched Digital Video)? Series 3 are designed to work with SDV and require a "Tuning Adapter" box furnished by TWC to do so. How well it works is another question. Many users lose some or all SDV channels fairly often and have to reboot the TA and TiVo to get them back (which takes around ten minutes).

Please post your location or put it in your profile so it appears with each of your posts. SDV has been used by many TWC regions for years although it could be new in yours. Knowing your location helps other forum members help you.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:14 PM   #3
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by banjomaniac View Post
Does the series 3 work with time warners New digital switched video?

Thanks
Yes the S3 works with SDV (works being relative.)

If the cable service coax drop from the pole or vault is not new. I strongly suggest that you get time warner to replace the cable from the pole/vault to the tuning adapter.

Also if after a couple of weeks you see a message about TiVo running out of guide data.
Call TiVo and report the problem.
Ultimately the tuning adapter will have to be put on a timer, so TiVo can complete the garbage collection process.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |