TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series 1 - UK
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2012, 12:00 PM   #1
ScoobyDooZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Sad day selling my 3 Tivo's :(

Sad to see them go but we are having a loft conversion and need the room in the loft :/

Main tivo and two imaculate boxed spares all on ebay.

Have a virgin tivo now and apart from HD can't see much if any improvlement over the original. It's even worse when it comes to deleting stuff.

If anyone interested links here:

MOD EDIT: sorry - direct links now allowed

Last edited by OzSat : 03-11-2012 at 01:03 PM.
ScoobyDooZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 07:00 PM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyDooZ View Post
Sad to see them go but we are having a loft conversion and need the room in the loft :/

...
You could have used them for decoration or turned them on end and used them as shelf supports.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:03 PM   #3
mrtickle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 2,824
Sad, but I note from your auction description you say that you have to install the AltEPG image to use it - that's not the case otherwise the vast majority using the standard 2.5.5 image would have been really pissed off!

It's a 1-line change to a file to use the standard image with the AltEPG server.
__________________
150-limit sucks!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
mrtickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:54 AM   #4
johala_reewi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southampton UK
Posts: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickle View Post
It's a 1-line change to a file to use the standard image with the AltEPG server.
I am using my 2.5.5 Tivo with the Altepg service and didn't have to do any file changes.
johala_reewi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:44 AM   #5
ScoobyDooZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Nearly ending. No bids yet but loads of watchers. Shame as they are in v good condition.
ScoobyDooZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:08 AM   #6
spitfires
wassock
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 703
Just not worth that much without a network card or 1 TB disc I'm afraid
spitfires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:20 AM   #7
ScoobyDooZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Didn't sell so relisted :/
ScoobyDooZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:23 AM   #8
Richard Loxley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 182
If you're serious about selling I'd suggest dropping the start bid down to something like 99p.

They're very unlikely to attract bids starting at £19.99, particularly when you look at the completed sales listings, many have final prices below your starting price.

You might have luck if you set a Buy It Now price, as you then get someone who's willing to pay a premium not to wait and have to bid.

Just friendly advice, I wouldn't be bidding myself. I've already got 3 Tivos - the last two of which each cost me a £10 donation to charity.
Richard Loxley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 01:46 AM   #9
ScoobyDooZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Loxley View Post
If you're serious about selling I'd suggest dropping the start bid down to something like 99p.

They're very unlikely to attract bids starting at £19.99, particularly when you look at the completed sales listings, many have final prices below your starting price.

You might have luck if you set a Buy It Now price, as you then get someone who's willing to pay a premium not to wait and have to bid.

Just friendly advice, I wouldn't be bidding myself. I've already got 3 Tivos - the last two of which each cost me a £10 donation to charity.
Thanks just came back to this, no free listing day today so had to list at 99p to get free listing. Sold a Little portable for 99p this week. Will be a shame to see these go to the tip.
ScoobyDooZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 12:23 PM   #10
spitfires
wassock
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyDooZ View Post
Will be a shame to see these go to the tip.
Don't send them to the tip If they don't sell I'll come and rescue them
__________________
Tivo since 2002. S1 + 1TB SATA. ex-TAM (tenner a month). Virgin Media not available.

Last edited by spitfires : 03-11-2012 at 01:21 PM.
spitfires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 05:40 AM   #11
ScoobyDooZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Have a PM about one fo them. Had loads of watchers and bids of 99p. That doesn't even cover the cost of the new phone cables I bought for them so it's free listing day today, so will reliest with the cables.
ScoobyDooZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:02 AM   #12
ScoobyDooZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickle View Post
Sad, but I note from your auction description you say that you have to install the AltEPG image to use it - that's not the case otherwise the vast majority using the standard 2.5.5 image would have been really pissed off!

It's a 1-line change to a file to use the standard image with the AltEPG server.
Hi I have sold two and just my main one left.

I have also just found my Network card, is it straight forward to set up? (Putting the card in is the easy bit)
ScoobyDooZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:03 PM   #13
DX30
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyDooZ View Post
I have also just found my Network card, is it straight forward to set up? (Putting the card in is the easy bit)
You don't mention the type of card but the AltEPG image probably includes the required drivers. With a standard image you can put the drive in a PC and install the required drivers, but if you need to do that it's probably as easy to reimage the drive with AltEPG anyway. Your biggest problem is likely to be finding a suitable PC (IDE only, no SATA).

Have you considered just listing the network card on its own? It's probably more in demand than the TiVo itself.
DX30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:27 PM   #14
a_tivo_noob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 198
... and a hell of a lot easier to post
a_tivo_noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 09:14 AM   #15
Nero2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Loxley View Post
I've already got 3 Tivos - the last two of which each cost me a £10 donation to charity.
They were mine I believe.
Nero2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 04:46 AM   #16
ScoobyDooZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by DX30 View Post
You don't mention the type of card but the AltEPG image probably includes the required drivers. With a standard image you can put the drive in a PC and install the required drivers, but if you need to do that it's probably as easy to reimage the drive with AltEPG anyway. Your biggest problem is likely to be finding a suitable PC (IDE only, no SATA).

Have you considered just listing the network card on its own? It's probably more in demand than the TiVo itself.
Hi I have a couple of PC's with IDE and have imaged a drive before, although it was about 5 years ago.

The Tivo I have when I power on searchs for a card. The card I have is a one from a guy on these forums was selling / making (from new zealand).

I might have a read and set aside a morning to get to grips with it all again.
ScoobyDooZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 05:01 AM   #17
DaveMax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 10
Arrow Series 1 TiVo free to a good home

Spitfires (or anyone else out there)
I am clearing out my old tech, and have a Thomson TiVo to let go of (was working, but no HDD in it now. My wife still misses it's simplicity, but no digital, let alone HD have made it obsolete.
If anyone wants it to play with, they can have it for the price of delivery (or could pick it up from Kenilworth, Warks)
End of an era
Regards
Dave
DaveMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 01:12 AM   #18
spitfires
wassock
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 703
Hi Dave, I'll be very pleased to give your TiVo a new home - PM sent.
__________________
Tivo since 2002. S1 + 1TB SATA. ex-TAM (tenner a month). Virgin Media not available.
spitfires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 02:12 PM   #19
DaveMax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 10
Re: Series 1 TiVo free to a good home

Quote:
Originally Posted by spitfires View Post
Hi Dave, I'll be very pleased to give your TiVo a new home - PM sent.
Sorry Spitfires - missed your PM as my email domain was moving from one host to another.... and not allowed to PM you - Can you resend?
Ta
Dave
DaveMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 10:52 AM   #20
DaveMax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 10
Arrow TiVo going in bin

Haven't heard anything, so there will be one less surviving TiVo from next week.
DaveMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 10:55 AM   #21
DaveMax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 10
My old TiVo

Sorry to be repetitive, but I want to send a PM, and need to have made ten posts (not sure why)
DaveMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 05:21 AM   #22
DX30
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMax View Post
so there will be one less surviving TiVo from next week
Have you tried posting the offer over on the altepg.com forum? I think most of the active UK S1 people have migrated over there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMax View Post
I want to send a PM, and need to have made ten posts (not sure why)
I think that is an anti-spam measure.
DX30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:52 AM   #23
romanpj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMax View Post
Haven't heard anything, so there will be one less surviving TiVo from next week.
Hi Dave,

I'll take it off your hands if Spitfire doesn't want it. I can collect as I'm the other side of Cov from you.

Cheers.
__________________
UK Tivo (S1) + Lifetime sub x2 + Sony VTX D800U
Tivo #1 Hacks: 500Gb (Samsung SATA), Cachecard, rear panel mods, Tivoweb, etc.
Tivo #2 standard (so far)
Virgin Media NOT-spot
romanpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 01:02 PM   #24
ScoobyDooZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 53
Cheap Tivo here if anyone still looking:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/THOMSON-Ti...item43b21878b8
ScoobyDooZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |