TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2012, 06:06 PM   #1
dishdudeEL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
No call out

I have an old HDR112 Philips. It has suddenly stopped making the call out. When u run a phone test Preparing works, dialing works, but connecting just spins then says service not answering. I know the phone line is good. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for the help.
dishdudeEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:38 PM   #2
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 801
Have you tried a different number?
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 06:11 AM   #3
LifeIsABeach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 2,325
If you know what number it is trying to call try calling it with a phone and see if it is indeed answering or not.
__________________
For of all sad words of tongue or pen, The saddest are these: "It might have been!"
LifeIsABeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 01:51 PM   #4
chimpster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
In the past, I had some luck using codes from:
http://tivo.drosoph.com/

In order to lower the download speed with a noisy phone line.
chimpster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:58 AM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by dishdudeEL View Post
I have an old HDR112 Philips. It has suddenly stopped making the call out. When u run a phone test Preparing works, dialing works, but connecting just spins then says service not answering. I know the phone line is good. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for the help.
Series 1 TiVos are notorious for internal modems that get partially or fully damaged by spikes on the line that other things don't even notice.

There's a very good chance that this is the cause of your problem.

But it could be the TiVo servers just acting up again.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |