TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 10:01 AM   #1
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Holding off on Elite Purchase

Not sure how many others are in this boat, but I am holding off buying an Elite until we get more details on the IP-STB... Until we get some price factors on cost per month or if there is any I just cant commit to the Elite right now..... Anyone else in this boat?
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:26 AM   #2
Ziggy86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 826
What is IP-STB?
Ziggy86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:32 AM   #3
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,155
I'm holding out for a built-in transcoder. Hopefully that will come in whatever the next generation is called.
cherry ghost is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:52 AM   #4
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,390
I was holding off, but mainly due to the negative reports here online.

But then Woot, hit my price point at $299.99, and I could not resist.

I've had it running a week now and have had zero issues with it or the Tuning Adapter (knock on wood). It is sweet, to have no more recording conflicts. MRS is working great even over wireless N, But I intend to run Ethernet everywhere, as soon as I can find a cool day to climb the attic.

It will be a race to see who gets to market first, TiVo's IP-STB or Ceton's Echo Media Extender (as I also have a SD HDHomeRunPrime) currently with no extenders.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:04 AM   #5
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy86 View Post
What is IP-STB?
The IP STB is a box announced that will allow you to add Tivo to a TV without adding a cable card. It will steal a tuner from the XL4. it is coming out in the fall but nothing has been announced on pricing
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:06 AM   #6
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
I was holding off, but mainly due to the negative reports here online.

But then Woot, hit my price point at $299.99, and I could not resist.

I've had it running a week now and have had zero issues with it or the Tuning Adapter (knock on wood). It is sweet, to have no more recording conflicts. MRS is working great even over wireless N, But I intend to run Ethernet everywhere, as soon as I can find a cool day to climb the attic.

It will be a race to see who gets to market first, TiVo's IP-STB or Ceton's Echo Media Extender (as I also have a SD HDHomeRunPrime) currently with no extenders.
The negative reports havent swayed me mostly since i dont have a TA which is where most of the issues lie
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:44 AM   #7
drebbe
Carbon Blob
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sector 7G
Posts: 119
I'm a little confused here. My understanding is that you'll need an Elite/XL4 to use the IP-STB (at least initially). Why hold off if you'll need it eventually? Or am I missing something?
I''m like CoxInPHX. I was holding off for Comcast VOD to be available in my area (Chicago burbs) but then Woot hit my irresistible price point. 2 weeks with the Elite and no issues.
drebbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:48 AM   #8
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd View Post
Not sure how many others are in this boat, but I am holding off buying an Elite until we get more details on the IP-STB... Until we get some price factors on cost per month or if there is any I just cant commit to the Elite right now..... Anyone else in this boat?
Well if you only want an Elite/XL4 if the IP-STB becomes available and at certain price point then I guess you should not buy an Elite/XL 4 now.

But my guess is that many if not most people on this forum already have one or more TiVos so the IP-STB isn't a absolute requirement when adding a Elite/XL4 to their mix.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio

Last edited by atmuscarella : 07-10-2012 at 12:55 PM.
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:04 PM   #9
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by drebbe View Post
I'm a little confused here. My understanding is that you'll need an Elite/XL4 to use the IP-STB (at least initially). Why hold off if you'll need it eventually? Or am I missing something?
I''m like CoxInPHX. I was holding off for Comcast VOD to be available in my area (Chicago burbs) but then Woot hit my irresistible price point. 2 weeks with the Elite and no issues.
I have 2 premieres now, so when the Tuner Requirement goes way for the Xl4/IP combo i can just borrow a tuner from one of my other premieres.... the other flip side is depending on the cost, i could replace one of my premieres with a XL4 and just get several IP STB's to reduce monthly fees, assuming of course the IP doesnt have a monthly fee. there in lies my conundrum
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:14 PM   #10
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,155
do we know yet if you can use more than one IP-STB with a single XL4 and borrow more than one tuner?
cherry ghost is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:35 PM   #11
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,605
The last we heard, the XL4 software will allow up to 2 devices at first.

Courtesy of Gizmo Lovers:



Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 07-10-2012 at 12:50 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:47 PM   #12
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
I am also holding off on an Elite purchase until the IP-TV information becomes clearer. I would love to save money on cable cards if the price is right, and the simplification of season passes would make my life easier.
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |