TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2012, 12:00 PM   #1
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Control XL4 Remotely?

Setup proposed:
S3 in viewing room connected to home network, via eithernet cable to wireless bridge.
*(yet to be purchased)*
XL4 in another room connected to home network, via eithernet cable to wireless router.

Question:
Can I operate* the XL4 from the viewing room through the S3 TiVo?

Operate*
Complete initial (guided) setup
Create season passes
Access SP Manager
Create single recordings, etc
Access to do list
Access now playing list
Watch programs recorded (on XL4) in viewing room via S3

A simple yes or no answer or a link to the information, is all I seek.

Thanks for the help

Last edited by Teeps : 07-15-2012 at 12:08 PM.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 12:33 PM   #2
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,292
DVR to DVR the simple answer would be no.

You can do most on-line using a PC Find TV Shows or On-Line TiVo Apps
  • No, Complete initial (guided) setup
  • On-Line, Create season passes
  • On-Line, Access SP Manager
  • On-Line, Create single recordings, etc
  • On-Line, Access to do list
  • Yes, Access now playing list
  • Yes, Watch programs recorded (on XL4) in viewing room via S3
]
__________________
VicW, Ex-Comcast customer ... And loving it!.
HomeUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:08 PM   #3
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeUser View Post
DVR to DVR the simple answer would be no.

You can do most on-line using a PC Find TV Shows or On-Line TiVo Apps
  • No, Complete initial (guided) setup
  • On-Line, Create season passes
  • On-Line, Access SP Manager
  • On-Line, Create single recordings, etc
  • On-Line, Access to do list
  • Yes, Access now playing list
  • Yes, Watch programs recorded (on XL4) in viewing room via S3
]

Though full functionality through the S3 would be perfect, for my situation.
What you have outlined will certainly work.

All I would have to do is connect XL4 to the computer monitor, in the room, to perform guided setup.

Thanks for the info.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:17 PM   #4
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,228
Dumb question because I just can't see the end game here.
Is there a specific reason the XL4 can't live in the same room as the S3 where you do your viewing?
The reason you have that limitation being stated might have made it a lot easier for folks to give you plenty of additional options.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:38 PM   #5
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
Dumb question because I just can't see the end game here.
Is there a specific reason the XL4 can't live in the same room as the S3 where you do your viewing?
The reason you have that limitation being stated might have made it a lot easier for folks to give you plenty of additional options.

I didn't think the minutia of the situation was germane to my question.
But since you ask:
I'm out of space in the viewing room.
2 TiVos, 2 dvd players, 1 vcr(yes I know), 1 home theater computer, 1 record player(yes I know), 1 stereo receiver and the TV. Additionally 2 cupboards of vinyl records, cassette tapes, CDs & DVDs.

I would also have to add an additional RG6 feed for the XL4, a tuning adapter and a UPS.
My home is on a slab and has exposed vaulted ceilings. Which make "simple" cabling difficult and expensive.

I got the answer I was looking for, though not optimum will work; as I said...

But, thanks for your interest.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:18 PM   #6
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,256
Nothing wrong with having vinyl, etc. If you happen to have an ipod/iphone/ipad/android the Tivo app would be useful for many of the "management" tasks.

The asterisk on watching programs between S3's and XL4s is whether there is copy protection on the recordings or not.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:42 PM   #7
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,370
Going through a Tivo to control another Tivo? NO!

An alternative is to use a networked device such as ipad, iphone, android, connected to your network and with Network Remote control activated, you can control either. You would need a Tivo app but they are free.
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Retired)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:58 PM   #8
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
I didn't think the minutia of the situation was germane to my question.
But since you ask:
I'm out of space in the viewing room.
2 TiVos, 2 dvd players, 1 vcr(yes I know), 1 home theater computer, 1 record player(yes I know), 1 stereo receiver and the TV. Additionally 2 cupboards of vinyl records, cassette tapes, CDs & DVDs.

I would also have to add an additional RG6 feed for the XL4, a tuning adapter and a UPS.
My home is on a slab and has exposed vaulted ceilings. Which make "simple" cabling difficult and expensive.

I got the answer I was looking for, though not optimum will work; as I said...

But, thanks for your interest.
Well, if the HTPC is usable as a regular computer, you could use kmttg to control the XL4.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 10:37 AM   #9
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Nothing wrong with having vinyl, etc. If you happen to have an ipod/iphone/ipad/android the Tivo app would be useful for many of the "management" tasks.
Yes I have that ability, hand held and the htpc. Just trying to simplify things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
The asterisk on watching programs between S3's and XL4s is whether there is copy protection on the recordings or not.
Just viewed TiVo.com, again, you are correct copy protected material is not transferable.

Other Non-transferrable content

The prohibition icon (red circle with slash) appears next to recordings that cannot be transferred. Examples of non-transferable content include:
Digital download content from Amazon or TiVoCast
High definition recording from a TiVo HD or Premiere boxes to a Series2
Copy-protected material


This IS a deal breaker.

My origianl question is MOOT.

Thanks for all the interest.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 10:48 AM   #10
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Yes I have that ability, hand held and the htpc. Just trying to simplify things.



Just viewed TiVo.com, again, you are correct copy protected material is not transferable.

Other Non-transferrable content

The prohibition icon (red circle with slash) appears next to recordings that cannot be transferred. Examples of non-transferable content include:
Digital download content from Amazon or TiVoCast
High definition recording from a TiVo HD or Premiere boxes to a Series2
Copy-protected material


This IS a deal breaker.

My origianl question is MOOT.

Thanks for all the interest.
You could replace the S3 with a Premiere and use streaming. I'm not suggesting it mind you. Just pointing out that it is an option.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:06 AM   #11
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
You could replace the S3 with a Premiere and use streaming. I'm not suggesting it mind you. Just pointing out that it is an option.
Do you know (first person) that copy protected material can be transferred or streamed between Premier and XL4.
TiVo.com says no.
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/161
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:25 AM   #12
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Do you know (first person) that copy protected material can be transferred or streamed between Premier and XL4.
TiVo.com says no.
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/161
Sorry, you're wrong. TiVo says it can't be transferred. It most definitely can be streamed. Transferring creates a copy. Streaming doesn't.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:31 AM   #13
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,155
If looking at the tivo support pages, for streaming, go here:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/...6/kw/streaming
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:42 AM   #14
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Sorry, you're wrong. TiVo says it can't be transferred. It most definitely can be streamed. Transferring creates a copy. Streaming doesn't.
Ok. I think I have it now.

No XL4 for me... for now.

Thanks again to all responders.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 11:45 AM   #15
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
If looking at the tivo support pages, for streaming, go here:

http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/...6/kw/streaming
Thanks, I saw that info a few days ago.
I mainly wanted to stream or transfer from XL4 to S3.
That info clearly indicated "premieres."
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:01 PM   #16
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Ok. I think I have it now.

No XL4 for me... for now.

Thanks again to all responders.
I note that Verizon FIOS is available in at least part of Torrance. Have you investigated switching? They didn't copy protect anything until recently. Even now, it's only HBO and so far not everywhere for that.

They support CableCARD. Better yet, no TAs.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:07 PM   #17
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Thanks, I saw that info a few days ago.
I mainly wanted to stream or transfer from XL4 to S3.
That info clearly indicated "premieres."
I think his post was in response to this post of yours (emphasis mine):

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Do you know (first person) that copy protected material can be transferred or streamed between Premier and XL4.
TiVo.com says no.
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/161

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:04 PM   #18
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
I note that Verizon FIOS is available in at least part of Torrance. Have you investigated switching? They didn't copy protect anything until recently. Even now, it's only HBO and so far not everywhere for that.

They support CableCARD. Better yet, no TAs.
Yes I know and I would drop kick time warner in a heart beat to get FIOS, if it was available.
FIOS said: that they will not come to my 'hood because ATT has control of the area.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 03:20 PM   #19
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
Yes I know and I would drop kick time warner in a heart beat to get FIOS, if it was available.
FIOS said: that they will not come to my 'hood because ATT has control of the area.
Well, that sucks 'cause that means I'll never get it either.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |