TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2015, 10:31 PM   #1
dcline414
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 209
Keep HDD from Premiere in Roamio?

Just purchased a new Roamio OTA, but we have an upgraded 1TB drive in the Premiere it will be replacing that I would like to use instead of the stock 500GB drive in the Roamio.

What is the easiest way to move this drive to the Roamio and keep all of the recordings?
dcline414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 02:42 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,089
Transfer them to a PC or another Tivo. (Copy protected cannot be transferred.)
Wipe the 1TB drive.
Swap the 500GB for the 1TB.
Boot Roamio
Get it subscribed to your Account.
Enable transfers/downloads in DVR Preferences of the Tivo.com account.
Force Tivo Connection.
Transfer recordings to Roamio.

You cannot just swap the Premiere drive to the the Roamio and keep recordings because recordings are encoded to a specific Tivo and they are different Tivo models (Series 4 vs. Series 5.)
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 08:47 AM   #3
dcline414
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Transfer them to a PC or another Tivo. (Copy protected cannot be transferred.)
Wipe the 1TB drive.
Swap the 500GB for the 1TB.
Boot Roamio
Get it subscribed to your Account.
Enable transfers/downloads in DVR Preferences of the Tivo.com account.
Force Tivo Connection.
Transfer recordings to Roamio.

You cannot just swap the Premiere drive to the the Roamio and keep recordings because recordings are encoded to a specific Tivo and they are different Tivo models (Series 4 vs. Series 5.)
Thanks... two questions:

We only have the Premiere and Roamio (do still have the old 320GB premiere drive). What is the best way to copy? If it's very difficult we may just delete them and start clean.

Also, I can just stick a blank drive in the Roamio without hooking it up to a computer and prepping it first?'
dcline414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 10:21 AM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,089
No prep possible for drives on Roamio. Roamio is the first to self-prep drives. Max 3TB.

Transfer only possible using network via cables or wireless network.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 10:47 AM   #5
shwru980r
Registered User
 
shwru980r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,461
You're going to have to move the shows to another drive anyway. Why not just buy another 1TB drive for the roamio to save the hassle of transferring the shows. 1TB drives are fairly cheap now.
__________________

Premiere-$99 Lifetime-OTA
HD-Lifetime-OTA
S3 OLED-Lifetime-OTA
shwru980r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 02:31 PM   #6
dcline414
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by shwru980r View Post
You're going to have to move the shows to another drive anyway. Why not just buy another 1TB drive for the roamio to save the hassle of transferring the shows. 1TB drives are fairly cheap now.
We don't have any archive or shows that we want to keep, and we have caught up on all the new season pass recordings from the fall over the holiday break, so the drive mostly just has kids programming, reruns, and TiVo suggestions... nothing we can't live with losing.

As for the drive, we are going to sell the premiere and I doubt that keeping the 1TB drive will increase its value much over the 320GB one, so why give it away? I probably wouldn't have upgraded the drive except that I found a security system DVR that we weren't using and discovered the 1TB WD AV drive and decided to put it to good use. Don't think the TiVo has ever been over 30% full.
dcline414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.