TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2012, 06:40 AM   #1
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 245
Lifetime Transfer

I'm sure this has been brought out before but I thought it might be worth it to someone who hasn't seen it.
If you buy a Premier from Tivo you become eligible for a $99 lifetime upgrade on your series 3. You have to buy the premier from Tivo, not a third party. I just did one and I am thinking about buying another. I can sell a lifetime series 3 for $300-$400 on Ebay or Craigslist.
So $99 for the Premier, $99 for lifetime on the S3 monthly $12.95 for the Premier for one year, approximately $350 for the first year including service and you have a brand new Premier. Sell the S3 and worst case you come out even again with a new Premier and Tivo service. Seems like a good deal to me, am I missing anything?
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:33 AM   #2
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Hunt View Post
...am I missing anything?
Did you forget to add the $399 for lifetime on that first Premiere?
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:45 AM   #3
GoEagles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Why buy the TiVo from TiVo? You can usually get a used one off of craigslist for about $50 - $75 without the other of having an one year commitment. You don't necessarily have to have a Series 4 device to get the $99 LT offer for the Series 3 TiVo's, but I guess it wouldn't hurt.
GoEagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:53 AM   #4
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoEagles View Post
Why buy the TiVo from TiVo? You can usually get a used one off of craigslist for about $50 - $75 without the other of having an one year commitment. You don't necessarily have to have a Series 4 device to get the $99 LT offer for the Series 3 TiVo's, but I guess it wouldn't hurt.
How else can you get the $99 offer for lifetime, I'll do it.
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:55 AM   #5
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Did you forget to add the $399 for lifetime on that first Premiere?
No, you have to have service no matter what, thats where the $12.95 per month comes in. after that year who knows what will be available.
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:18 AM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Hunt View Post
How else can you get the $99 offer for lifetime, I'll do it.
If you've had that S3 subscribed for at least 3 years, you might be able to call and threaten to cancel the sub and get the offer that way, independent of any other TiVo ownership.

Read this thread

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...lifetime+offer

all of it.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:16 PM   #7
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Hunt View Post
No, you have to have service no matter what, thats where the $12.95 per month comes in. after that year who knows what will be available.
Your original post wasn't particularly clear.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:44 PM   #8
GoEagles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Hunt View Post
How else can you get the $99 offer for lifetime, I'll do it.
Lots of threads about this offer, here is one:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=442625
GoEagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:54 PM   #9
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoEagles View Post
Lots of threads about this offer, here is one:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=442625
They all come with caveats, as does the one I am talking about, you have to buy a Premier. But that works for someone who wants to upgrade and wants it paid for.
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:18 PM   #10
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Your original post wasn't particularly clear.
I thought it was.
ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 05:47 AM   #11
Leon WIlkinson
TiVo Gone Wild
 
Leon WIlkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: TiVo Town
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Hunt View Post
I'm sure this has been brought out before but I thought it might be worth it to someone who hasn't seen it.
If you buy a Premier from Tivo you become eligible for a $99 lifetime upgrade on your series 3. You have to buy the premier from Tivo, not a third party. I just did one and I am thinking about buying another. I can sell a lifetime series 3 for $300-$400 on Ebay or Craigslist.
So $99 for the Premier, $99 for lifetime on the S3 monthly $12.95 for the Premier for one year, approximately $350 for the first year including service and you have a brand new Premier. Sell the S3 and worst case you come out even again with a new Premier and Tivo service. Seems like a good deal to me, am I missing anything?
If you are paying $12.95 for service before you would come out even, you could be anywhere from $6 over to $7
under
your current bill.

Great deal!! except it still involves monthly payments...
__________________
After 20 attempts, I can do almost anything? ;)
Leon WIlkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:27 AM   #12
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leon WIlkinson View Post
If you are paying $12.95 for service before you would come out even, you could be anywhere from $6 over to $7
under
your current bill.

Great deal!! except it still involves monthly payments...
Again, you come out with a new Premier, that's the main part of the deal to me anyway.
I am keeping the S3 I put the lifetime on with this Premier, but I am retiring another so I may buy another Premier to get the lifetime on the selling one and sell both S3's to buy lifetime on one Premier. A lot of choices, lol.
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:56 PM   #13
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
So if you can get the lifetime for $99 on the S3, why would you want to pay a second monthly payment for a second Premiere? MRV is all that you would really gain if you had two Premeires.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:39 PM   #14
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,496
If it was an elite, more tuners.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 08:00 AM   #15
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
So if you can get the lifetime for $99 on the S3, why would you want to pay a second monthly payment for a second Premiere? MRV is all that you would really gain if you had two Premeires.
Because then I could buy a second $99 lifetime on my retiring S3 and sell both for enough to pay for lifetime on at least one of the new Premiers.
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:59 AM   #16
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Don't buy anything from TiVo hoping it will let you get some other deal from them afterwards.

Get the deal first, or get it as part of the purchase agreement.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:44 PM   #17
davidwiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
I have a TivoHD since 2004... how do I take advantage of this. I bought a premiere a month ago and my account still shows a lifetime update available on my TivoHD for $399.
davidwiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:04 PM   #18
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidwiz View Post
I have a TivoHD since 2004... how do I take advantage of this. I bought a premiere a month ago and my account still shows a lifetime update available on my TivoHD for $399.
Call Tivo and tell them you want the $99 lifetime to keep your S3 going, let them know you bought the Premier.
I told them I was retiring the S3 but you don't need to do that.
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:10 PM   #19
tomm1079
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 566
This is actually what made me upgrade all my boxes. The way i figured it was this:

Upgrade 2 Tivo HD's from 6.95 a month to 99 lifetime. Then i kept them for a few months (did the upgrade in october or so). One was an extra box that i only still had cause of the cheap rate


In feb i sold both for about 400 a piece (300 profit each). Then went and got lifetime premiere

Now i have 1 elite and 2 premieres and am loving streaming between the boxes
tomm1079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:21 PM   #20
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidwiz View Post
I have a TivoHD since 2004... how do I take advantage of this. I bought a premiere a month ago and my account still shows a lifetime update available on my TivoHD for $399.
The way a lot of people have done it is to lead TiVo to believe that they were going to discontinue the subscription on the unit and that the $99 lifetime offer was TiVo's last chance to get any money out of the unit.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:14 AM   #21
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_Hunt View Post
Because then I could buy a second $99 lifetime on my retiring S3 and sell both for enough to pay for lifetime on at least one of the new Premiers.
Second S3? Where was that in your post?
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:21 AM   #22
Ed_Hunt
Pokerpro
 
Ed_Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Patterson, California
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Second S3? Where was that in your post?
Is there a reason you are questioning my posts, lol? I actually have two more S3s that I'm not using, I didn't realize I had to list all my assets here.
Is there anything else you would like to know?
__________________
"Luck is the residue of design"
1 S2 Tivo w/lifetime retired
1 HD Tivo Lifetime
1 Roamio OTA only
60" LG Plasma
60" Vizio 1080P
36" LG HD
Ed_Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:38 AM   #23
generaltso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidwiz View Post
I have a TivoHD since 2004...
Do you also have a time machine?
generaltso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 12:50 PM   #24
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by generaltso View Post
Do you also have a time machine?
What's three years, but he may have gotten a pre beta TiVo-HD. TiVo-HD was introduced in June of 2007, The Series 3 was introduced in Sept of 2006. Some Lifetime deals had been offered such that you could have a Series 3 or TiVo-HD with a service date of 2004, I have a Series 3 with a service date of Dec 2005, almost a year before it was introduced.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:22 PM   #25
davidwiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by generaltso View Post
Do you also have a time machine?
Not sure when I bought it but the Tivo site lists under My Account/ Active DVR's/ Original activation date of this unit as 06/14/2004. It probably replaced another unit but they list this TivoHD unit as having that activation date. So I guess its TIVO that has the time machine.
davidwiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:38 PM   #26
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,496
I presume you transferred lifetime from another unit you did activate 6/14/2004
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 07:32 PM   #27
tweekerz
Registered User
 
tweekerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Concord, Ca
Posts: 53
HA HA!
I wish I had one of those!

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidwiz View Post
So I guess its TIVO that has the time machine.

tweekerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |