TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > TiVo TV Talk > Now Playing - TV Show Talk
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2011, 04:33 PM   #1
StacieH
betativowho??
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brazos Country, Texas
Posts: 2,464
Do you Hulu?

I do...though I don't pay for it. We got rid of satellite over a year ago and are totally OTA. We use Netflix and Hulu to fill the gaps.

My subscriptions are:

Fairly Legal
White Collar
Royal Pains
Outsourced
Pretty Little Liars (I just stumbled onto this, and it has become my guilty pleasure!!)

Recently got rid of "Psych." I just don't have the patience for it anymore.

Don't ask me why I Hulu "Outsourced" when I could record it on NBC. I just do.
StacieH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 04:49 PM   #2
Amnesia
The Question
 
Amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 9,428
Isn't Hulu computer-only? Thanks, but I'd rather watch TV shows on my 60" HDTV...
Amnesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 04:52 PM   #3
MikeMar
Go Pats
 
MikeMar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston Suburb, MA
Posts: 37,696
I'll use it again once it works on the Boxee Box
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MikeMar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 04:53 PM   #4
StacieH
betativowho??
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brazos Country, Texas
Posts: 2,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amnesia View Post
Isn't Hulu computer-only? Thanks, but I'd rather watch TV shows on my 60" HDTV...
I think there are some boxes that play Hulu, but it's Hulu Plus, that you pay for. But I just watch on the computer.

Don't get me wrong; I appreciate the HD. In fact, we have 60" HDTV in our media room, too. But when I'm in my office, organizing, cleaning, and filing....or on the elliptical, I watch Hulu.
StacieH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:20 PM   #5
MonsterJoe
salty meat-poles
 
MonsterJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central MA
Posts: 13,164
I Hulu (via 61" TV on HTPC and it looks good)- exclusively...well, except for Big Brother and Survivor, which I watch at CBS.com. I don't even have OTA.

current subscriptions:

House
Castle
The Office
Kitchen Nightmares

I don't watch a lot of TV.
MonsterJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:38 PM   #6
pkscout
Registered User
 
pkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 3,888
Just The Daily Show and The Colbert Report. Almost everything else I watch other than that is OTA. A few things I get from Amazon OnDemand (HD versions available for download).
pkscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:34 PM   #7
MLR930
Gamer Goddess
 
MLR930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cranston, RI
Posts: 2,058
I can get Hulu on my Sony Blu Ray player but what I don't understand is why some shows are on the website but when I use my Blu ray player some of those shows aren't there
__________________
~*~* Mandie ~*~*

Herbalife Distributor and Wellness Coach
MLR930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 07:16 PM   #8
Jesda
CAPTAIN AWESOME
 
Jesda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Middle
Posts: 12,548
I have a home theater PC but I never use Hulu on it. Until they ditch Flash (or until Flash gets better) I'm sticking with torrents.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jesda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 08:15 PM   #9
RGM1138
I wanna Rock
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Gulfport, MS
Posts: 3,325
I've tried Hulu on my computer, but for some reason, it doesn't work well. The videos would skip or pause often, and the picture was less than stellar.

By comparison, I've had no problems when streaming from Netflix.
__________________
Bob

(I had Fun, fun, fun 'til Katrina took my Ti-Vos away)

"Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life, son."

Dean Vernon Wormer
Faber College
RGM1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 11:59 PM   #10
getreal
postcrastinator
 
getreal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,419
Hulu blocks out Canada. BIH Hulu!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
getreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:17 AM   #11
appleye1
Registered User
 
appleye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Back From The Other Side
Posts: 8,578
I use Hulu Plus on my Roku, and I use Hulu Desktop on my HTPC. Picture quality on both is acceptable.

I ditched DirecTv recently and went OTA plus Netfilx and Hulu. But since at least 80% of what I watch is on network, I don't really Hulu that much right now. And it seems like the "cable" shows that I really miss aren't on Hulu or Netflix, which pisses me off to no end. Some I can watch on the networks website, which is NOT a quality viewing experience, but some of the shows I want to watch don't have episodes anywhere! Not even past seasons for some of them. That's what pushes people to torrents.
__________________
Mark
Save OTA TV!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I Cut The Cord! 02/11 (OTA Hulu+ Netflix)
TiVo user since 12/99
Yamms:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
appleye1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:47 AM   #12
Jeeters
Registered Snoozer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 6,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amnesia View Post
Isn't Hulu computer-only? Thanks, but I'd rather watch TV shows on my 60" HDTV...
I just hook up my notebook to the HDMI port on the side of the TV when I want to watch something on Hulu, or a show on abc.com, etc.
Jeeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:33 AM   #13
Alfer
WOOSAH!
 
Alfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melmac
Posts: 30,175
I've used it maybe 5-6 times in the last few years.
Alfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:56 AM   #14
Hoffer
Captain Chaos
 
Hoffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 31,346
I partially tried to dump satellite last year. I dropped to a package they only offer people complaining about high cost. After about 9 months, I couldn't take it anymore. I got sick of having to keep track of shows that my DVR used to do for me. Mainly because a bunch of shows I watched weren't on Hulu or Netflix and I ended up getting them off usenet or bit torrent. That is a whole other thing that I was stealing the shows.
__________________
Xbox/PSN/Wii U IDs: Hoffer
Hoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 02:00 PM   #15
dcheesi
...I'm not.
 
dcheesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Roanoke VA, USA
Posts: 15,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amnesia View Post
Isn't Hulu computer-only? Thanks, but I'd rather watch TV shows on my 60" HDTV...
1) buy hdmi cable

2) plug cable into PC video card

3) plug cable into TV

4) profit! watch Hulu!


__________________
It is by will alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the brew of Cafe that the thoughts acquire speed; the thoughts acquire speed, the hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning...
dcheesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:31 PM   #16
bobino
Registered User
 
bobino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 55
Why would anyone watch Hulu? Don't they commercials that cannot be skipped?

-Bob
"never Hulu'ed"
bobino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:40 PM   #17
Alfer
WOOSAH!
 
Alfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melmac
Posts: 30,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobino View Post
Why would anyone watch Hulu? Don't they commercials that cannot be skipped?

-Bob
"never Hulu'ed"
Meh....you get maybe a couple of 30 second ones during an hour broadcast I think it was...nothing to get worked up about.
Alfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:41 PM   #18
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 26,843
I do now that it's gotten more useful for me...

I use a media server called Play On that can stream Hulu out to my DLNA Blu Ray player, and there's an Android app so I can now watch it on my phone when I'm out.

At home, I've had some occasions where we've lost recordings due to a full TiVo, or there was a problem with the OTA reception, and it was easy to navigate to the program via the media server and watch an episode on the TV.

Sometimes during the day I'll watch a sitcom episode at lunch on my phone.
__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:57 PM   #19
dcheesi
...I'm not.
 
dcheesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Roanoke VA, USA
Posts: 15,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfer View Post
Meh....you get maybe a couple of 30 second ones during an hour broadcast I think it was...nothing to get worked up about.
What I worry about is what happens when the streaming format becomes popular, and advertisers become more comfortable with it. Chances are that the number of ads will steadily increase until we're stuck watching the same 4+ minutes of commercials as before, but without the ability to skip them.

I've already seen an increase in the number of double-ad breaks, and I think I might have had a triple-ad break the other day. So the change has already started...
__________________
It is by will alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the brew of Cafe that the thoughts acquire speed; the thoughts acquire speed, the hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning...
dcheesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 04:08 PM   #20
Alfer
WOOSAH!
 
Alfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melmac
Posts: 30,175
Yeah I guess that will suck, but for now I can live pretty much Hulu-less so it shouldn't really cause issues for me...what little I may miss out on can be found on DTV On Demand or on a networks website...but again it's rare we really need to go online to catch up on any particular show.
Alfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 04:18 PM   #21
deandashl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 341
No.
deandashl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:27 PM   #22
Robin
w/ extra mean sauce
 
Robin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southwestern Virginia
Posts: 20,140
Yep.

We cut the cord a couple of years ago and get most stuff OTA. In case of a 3-way conflict I watch on Hulu, plus The Daily Show.
Robin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 04:56 AM   #23
cwerdna
Proud Tivolutionary
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 8,500
Nope. I've used it to view a couple Desperate Housewives eps that I missed when my TiVo's hard drive went belly up but was SUPER annoyed that ABC puts up and pulls eps, on a whim.

I could only watch a few and then the rest were yanked. I also had to wait for MONTHS for those eps to even show up, only to find them up there for a brief time (by accident) and not enough long enough for me to get caught up.

I've maybe viewed some random video clips too but that's it. It can in no way replace my FiOS TV subscription, not even close.
cwerdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:56 AM   #24
SorenTodd
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 361
Only for FOX shows, since FOX isn't available on my Verizon FiOS "On Demand".
SorenTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 11:03 AM   #25
dcheesi
...I'm not.
 
dcheesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Roanoke VA, USA
Posts: 15,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwerdna View Post
Nope. I've used it to view a couple Desperate Housewives eps that I missed when my TiVo's hard drive went belly up but was SUPER annoyed that ABC puts up and pulls eps, on a whim.

I could only watch a few and then the rest were yanked. I also had to wait for MONTHS for those eps to even show up, only to find them up there for a brief time (by accident) and not enough long enough for me to get caught up.

I've maybe viewed some random video clips too but that's it. It can in no way replace my FiOS TV subscription, not even close.
Generally Hulu only carries the 5 most recent episodes at a time. Sometimes when a show is between seasons or in re-runs, they'll throw in an older episode just to mix it up, but you should never count on that.

I guess they don't want to offer whole seasons at a time because that would make it too easy for people to ignore broadcast schedules. Hulu was originally envisioned as a means for loyal broadcast viewers to catch up on a single missed episode without having to resort to illegal torrents; they never intended for it to be an exhaustive archive or a replacement for broadcast TV. They're starting to rethink that in the face of sheer inevitability, but it will be some time before they figure out exactly how to reorganize the service to best leverage the post-TV shift.
__________________
It is by will alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the brew of Cafe that the thoughts acquire speed; the thoughts acquire speed, the hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning...
dcheesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:13 PM   #26
cwerdna
Proud Tivolutionary
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 8,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcheesi View Post
Generally Hulu only carries the 5 most recent episodes at a time. Sometimes when a show is between seasons or in re-runs, they'll throw in an older episode just to mix it up, but you should never count on that.

I guess they don't want to offer whole seasons at a time because that would make it too easy for people to ignore broadcast schedules. Hulu was originally envisioned as a means for loyal broadcast viewers to catch up on a single missed episode without having to resort to illegal torrents; they never intended for it to be an exhaustive archive or a replacement for broadcast TV. They're starting to rethink that in the face of sheer inevitability, but it will be some time before they figure out exactly how to reorganize the service to best leverage the post-TV shift.
I was in between seasons and posted about my Hulu anger at http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...77#post8121977.

I caught 1 or 2 eps I needed before it was yanked and had to wait some more before Lifetime reran the eps I needed.

As a result, I waited for >3.5 months to get caught up. I didn't want to watch the eps I had on my TiVo since that'd spoil things due to me missing a bunch of eps that came before them.

Last edited by cwerdna : 03-09-2011 at 03:00 AM.
cwerdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:10 PM   #27
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobino View Post
Why would anyone watch Hulu? Don't they commercials that cannot be skipped?
Generally I agree with you, but I have used it for a VERY few times when I missed an episode of something.. or actually, I think when the end of something was clipped and I want to make sure I caught the very end.

Though one of my Tivo drives died, and I may end up watching a couple of entire episodes of shows (first show this season of Biggest Loser at least) I missed.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:17 PM   #28
rhuntington3
Howdy!
 
rhuntington3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 26,963
TC CLUB MEMBER
Yes, I use Hulu. I watch Outsourced there. I should set up a SP for it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Lady, 8/7/2007.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rhuntington3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:46 AM   #29
Steveknj
Lost in New Joisey
 
Steveknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 34,246
I use Hulu as a last resort. If my recordings are f-ed up (such as a blackout or rain fade, something like that), then I use Hulu on my HTPC. The problem I have with Hulu and other online services, is navigation is just too confusing sometimes. It's just not as intuitive as my sat box or even the sat on demand. Even using intermediary software such as Windows Media Center is a bit more difficult than just turning on the list on my DVR. And there's no way my wife would ever figure out how to do it!! Plus there's no 5.1 sound on the streaming services yet.

But it's nice to have the option to use Hulu and streaming has gotten to the point where it's ALMOST as good as either OTA or cable/sat picture wise.
__________________
Annoying Blurb
Steveknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:56 AM   #30
pmyers
Registered User
 
pmyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 14,190
never used it.
pmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |