TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2012, 01:42 PM   #1
TiVoEvan74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,158
Tivo energy consumption--what should we do?

We're doing a home energy audit and discovered to our shock that our two Tivos were consuming more power than anything else in our house, including our furnace!

They are two Series 2 DVD units (Humax and Toshiba) and both draw 60 watts! That's equivalent to a 120w light bulb running 24-7. While at first glance that doesn't seem like much it works to 3 kwh in a day, 90 in a month, and over 1,000 in a year! At 16 cents/kwh, it turns out to be about $170 a year!

I hope my calculations are wrong (they certainly could be )!

Both machines are on lifetime (fortunately), but it was a major surprise to realize that we're paying roughly $15 a month just to run them and that they are the biggest energy hog in the house!

Looking for advice on possible solutions on how to save energy

1. Live with it.

2. Put them each on a timer that shuts them off 16 hours a day.

3. Replace both with a newer Tivo.

4. ???

------------------------------
#1 keeps hitting the pocket book.

#2 according to many puts wear and tear on the Tivos.

#3 would lose the DVD capability. In addition, we're on basic cable, meaning analog land-- no digital cable. So, getting a new Tivo may not even be an option.

Any advice appreciated!
TiVoEvan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 03:36 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,616
If you were to replace them, series 3 and above can handle analog cable, digital cable with the cable card, OTA without a digital converter box.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 03:52 PM   #3
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,304
TC CLUB MEMBER
I think your claim of 60W usage is far off. These boxes draw more like 25W apiece. How did you arrive at the 60W figure? There is no good way to lower the energy cost and still keep DVR functionality.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 03:54 PM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,758
Not sure if the newer boxes will be much better but I'm really surprised to see the 60 watt numbers because Weaknees claims that most S2 boxes only have a 38 watt power supply (http://www.weaknees.com/powertrip.php). I suspect that the hard drive is the biggest consumer and the ratings on the old drives seems to be close to that of the newer drives. For instance, the stock 40GB drive from a TCD240 shows 0.80 amps at 5 volts and 0.45 amps at 12 volts (9.4 watts). The stock 160GB drive from an S3HD shows 0.65 amps at 5 volts and 0.50 amps at 12 volts (9.25 watts). The stock 320GB drive from a Premiere is the same as the 160GB from the S3HD.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 09:30 PM   #5
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,223
The last time I pulled out my Kill-a-Watt for the S2, it registered 33 watts, half of your number.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:37 PM   #6
TiVoEvan74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,158
Well, I got the 60 watt figure from the technical specifications in the back of the Tivo manuals!!

They are both DVD units-- the Humax and the Toshiba versions.

To be frank, I did round off the numbers. The manuals say 59 watts!!

So, do you think each company's manual is wrong? Or, is it that the DVD units draw more power? Perhaps that's needed to run both the Tivo and the DVD unit, which happens at the same time.

If they actually running only at 33-38 watts, that changes the equation.

I'll have to get a Kill-a-Watt meter!
TiVoEvan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:02 PM   #7
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 24,304
TC CLUB MEMBER
Get a meter, I am sure you will find the actual draw much lower. The DVD drive is not running all the time, but at most it draws 2-3W when it is.
__________________
Steve
stevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:21 PM   #8
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,223
I didn't have my Kill-a-Watt when I had my old Toshiba TX20, so I can't tell you what the draw was, sorry. I can't imagine it'd be much more than a standard S2 though (same platform). But I recommend getting one ... it's cheap and can be a real eye-opener.
__________________
840~Roamio Pro (TA, MoCA) + two A92~Minis, 758~Premiere XL4 (TA, MoCA)
S/old: 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:25 PM   #9
JoeTaxpayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 485
Standard single tuner S2 = 23W.
This from my kill-a-watt which I plugged in now.

I recommend this product if you are going to go the green path route. Many devices will offer a maximum power that's an instantaneous spike, but he ongoing power can be a fraction of that. The meter shows 22,23,24 over the hour since I plugged it in. I see you have a different model, I bet yours isn't much higher. 25*24*30= 18KWH/mo or $2.70 per Tivo, give or take. The risk of turning it on/off 365 times a year to save $30 isn't worth it, IMHO.
__________________
Toshiba SD-H400, Tivo Series 2, Tivo HD, TiVo Series 3 THX, TiVo Premiere (All upgraded with extra HD goodness) and an XL4.
JoeTaxpayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 02:23 PM   #10
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,948
The Premiere is designed to draw less power than older models, and it will still handle analog cable.

The Premiere XL4 (nee Elite) draws even less, but it will not handle analog.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 05:17 PM   #11
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoEvan74 View Post
Well, I got the 60 watt figure from the technical specifications in the back of the Tivo manuals!!

They are both DVD units-- the Humax and the Toshiba versions.

To be frank, I did round off the numbers. The manuals say 59 watts!!

So, do you think each company's manual is wrong? Or, is it that the DVD units draw more power? Perhaps that's needed to run both the Tivo and the DVD unit, which happens at the same time.

If they actually running only at 33-38 watts, that changes the equation.

I'll have to get a Kill-a-Watt meter!
You can never use the figure from the back of any appliance, as they all give you a higher wattage than one will ever see when in normal use.
Using a Kill-a-Watt meter my Humax with DVD TiVo came out over 24 hours at about 40 watts.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 08:49 AM   #12
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,878
You need to do the mats, if investing in a new TiVo or TiVos will pay for the electric savings.

Analog cable is going away eventually, so you will need to add a DTA, or use a newer digital model TiVo.
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 11:04 PM   #13
toddinmd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoEvan74 View Post
Well, I got the 60 watt figure from the technical specifications in the back of the Tivo manuals!!
Manuals are always worst case, most likely during start up for most devices. Get an amp or watt meter to truly measure.
toddinmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |