TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2012, 05:00 PM   #1
heg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
remote-program to cable box?

Series 2 DT. Like several other posters my TiVo has recently lost the ability to tune to 3-digit channels. The cable box remote still does that function just fine. Can I program my TiVo remote to spoof the cable box remote (instead of the TV remote)? I hesitate to just play around, and lose the abilities it still has. The TiVo settings menu gives me options like control TV power and volume. Those are working just fine. It's channel changing that has stopped working - and only stopped working for channels higher than 99. The cable box remote can turn the TV on and off, adjust volume, change channels. It can't control the TiVo functions, tho. Thus, can I program the TiVo remote to act like the cable box remote?

Cable box: Scientific Atlanta Explorer 3250 HD
heg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 03:48 AM   #2
FeliciaCorrine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Before trying to spoof your cable box remote, try resetting your TiVo remote using the following steps.
1. Aim the remote at the TiVo box and push the "Guide" button on the remote to check the channel list.
2. Remove the IR control cable, if you are using one, from the back of the TiVo. Plug it back into the "Channel Change IR" port.
3. Remove the cable box's power cable from the electrical outlet. Leave it unplugged for 15 seconds, and plug it back into the outlet.
4. Press the "Chan Up" button to test the remote's connectivity.
If TiVo remote still doesn’t change channels on your TV, connect a cable card to use your TiVo box as a cable DVR. I don’t think TiVo remote can be programmed to use it with a cable box.
FeliciaCorrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:10 AM   #3
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeliciaCorrine View Post
Before trying to spoof your cable box remote, try resetting your TiVo remote using the following steps.
1. Aim the remote at the TiVo box and push the "Guide" button on the remote to check the channel list.
2. Remove the IR control cable, if you are using one, from the back of the TiVo. Plug it back into the "Channel Change IR" port.
3. Remove the cable box's power cable from the electrical outlet. Leave it unplugged for 15 seconds, and plug it back into the outlet.
4. Press the "Chan Up" button to test the remote's connectivity.
If TiVo remote still doesnít change channels on your TV, connect a cable card to use your TiVo box as a cable DVR. I donít think TiVo remote can be programmed to use it with a cable box.
You have absolutely no idea what you are talking about. If it weren't obvious already, the "connect a cable card to use your TiVo box as a cable DVR" made it abundantly clear.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 11:53 AM   #4
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeliciaCorrine View Post
If TiVo remote still doesnít change channels on your TV, connect a cable card to use your TiVo box as a cable DVR. I donít think TiVo remote can be programmed to use it with a cable box.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
You have absolutely no idea what you are talking about. If it weren't obvious already, the "connect a cable card to use your TiVo box as a cable DVR" made it abundantly clear.
I'm waiting to find out that FC is a bot, almost all 6 of their posts are very weird and link together odd concepts, yet are mostly accurate.
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 12:35 PM   #5
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by dianebrat View Post
I'm waiting to find out that FC is a bot, almost all 6 of their posts are very weird and link together odd concepts, yet are mostly accurate.
That's an interesting idea. The syntax is like that in a English language manual for a Japanese product.

To the OP - do you have the cable box connected to the TiVo?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoģ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |