TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2011, 07:56 AM   #1
stevengraff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Question Tivo Desktop 2.8.2 Transfer Speed

During the installation of Tivo Desktop 2.8.2 I'm asked whether I'd like to use the fastest possible speed when transferring programs from the Tivo to my computer. Of course, I said 'yes.'

(Why wouldn't I? Only if I were using an older Tivo box, apparently.)

Has anyone noticed substantial improvement of transfer speed with 2.8.2?

I'm transferring a 3-hr. hockey game program, HD, 15 GB, from my Tivo HD box... time estimate is 3.25 hours!
stevengraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 08:21 AM   #2
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,602
I think that setting is for the Tivo Premiere.
With the Premiere, you have a choice to transfer programs in TS (transport stream) or PS (program stream) format.
With the series 3 model Tivos, you only have the option for PS format.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 09:30 AM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevengraff View Post
During the installation of Tivo Desktop 2.8.2 I'm asked whether I'd like to use the fastest possible speed when transferring programs from the Tivo to my computer. Of course, I said 'yes.'

(Why wouldn't I? Only if I were using an older Tivo box, apparently.)

Has anyone noticed substantial improvement of transfer speed with 2.8.2?

I'm transferring a 3-hr. hockey game program, HD, 15 GB, from my Tivo HD box... time estimate is 3.25 hours!
I just went through that and I seem to remember that it meant I wouldn't be able to transfer programs back from my computer to my S2s 'cause they weren't new enough models.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 11:01 AM   #4
stevengraff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
That's it... it's no good for S2's and prior.

But for all of you with post-S2 Tivos... is it any faster?
stevengraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 12:32 PM   #5
firesignth
Registered User
 
firesignth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
So ~15G in 3.25 hours is roughly 10.5 Mbps (15 * 1024 * 1024 * 1024 * 8) / ( (3*60 + 25) * 60) - what media are you using to do the transfer? I've not been happy with my HD transfer times (just enabled a clear 300Mbps 5Ghz band N wireless link to my entertainment center) and I'm still getting around 10.5 Mbps transfer rates (a little better than you are getting, but no where near channel capacity) using TiVo Desktop. Is another transfer solution going to give me better times? Obviously some of the overhead isn't raw communication capacity.

Has anything changed in the last few months about this topic in the last half year?

I've also noticed that streaming (with streambaby) needs to convert down to 720p to actually stream without buffering.

Last edited by firesignth : 06-24-2012 at 12:41 PM.
firesignth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:59 PM   #6
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,602
Somewhere in these forums, there's a chart that compares the transfer rates between the S3 OLED, TivoHD, and Premiere.

For the TivoHD, I think 3.25 hours to transfer a 3 hour HD program is about average (what I get with my TivoHDs). Series 3 OLED should be slightly faster, while a Premiere should be noticably faster.

Just set your transfers to happen overnight. Water always takes longer to boil when your watching it.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 11:19 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
After working with TD for a while now, set to use the old S2 compatible transfer method, with 4 S2s and 1 S3 HD, some on the same sub-router as one computer running TD and other on a different sub-router along with another computer running TD, I've found that some days transfers (which are really copies) are quite zippy and other days it's slower than sneakernet, and I can't figure out why because it's the same computers and the same routers and it's all fixed IP so if there's a variable other than the date and the weather I'm at a loss to figure out what it is.


But at least it works.

That's going TiVo to computer.

Copying a show back of the computer to whichever TiVo I want to watch seems to go more quickly and consistently so, but the ability to start watching before it's finished may color my perception.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 10:50 AM   #8
firesignth
Registered User
 
firesignth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
OK, so the "native" transfer to TiVo Desktop is what I consider to be slow. The other issue that I have is that network connectivity isn't long lived enough to say transfer all of _Breaking Bad_ from AMCHD to my computer as I finally catch up to the show (the last season is starting soon).

What about using other software for the transfer? Are there other alternatives? Is the bottleneck on the TiVo or the desktop?
firesignth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 11:44 AM   #9
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,753
The bottleneck is the TiVo. But if you lose connectivity, that's the network.

There is alternative software, but if your goal is to speed up transfers, you'll be disappointed.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 09:04 PM   #10
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 15,852
Unless you're transcoding AT THE SAME TIME you are transferring, no software will make it any faster.

Supposedly, the Premieres CAN transfer a lot faster, even in the exact same way the previous Tivos can.. But ALSO, they can transfer even in a slightly different MPEG format, that is EVEN FASTER still.
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 11:41 PM   #11
TooMuchTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 72
Quote:
Copying a show back of the computer to whichever TiVo I want to watch seems to go more quickly and consistently so, but the ability to start watching before it's finished may color my perception.
I have solved this problem by connecting the computer that I store my TiVo content on to my big screen TV. This way, I don't have to copy it back to the TiVo. I just switch to the computer, launch the program, and watch it from the computer. And it's on the big screen TV!
__________________
Comcast Cable
TiVo Premiere
Philips 52" HD TV
TooMuchTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 12:58 AM   #12
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 12,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by TooMuchTime View Post
I have solved this problem by connecting the computer that I store my TiVo content on to my big screen TV. This way, I don't have to copy it back to the TiVo. I just switch to the computer, launch the program, and watch it from the computer. And it's on the big screen TV!
Does that involve having the computer's desktop visible on the TV screen when a video isn't playing, or do you have some bit of hardware that leaves the desktop resolution alone and plays the video straight out through some kind of video output jack?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 01:45 AM   #13
firesignth
Registered User
 
firesignth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
The bottleneck is the TiVo. But if you lose connectivity, that's the network.

There is alternative software, but if your goal is to speed up transfers, you'll be disappointed.
Thanks for the information. Now I can stop scratching my head about it. It just seems like a lot of overhead for what should essentially be a file transfer. I have used streambaby to play video, and that doesn't seem that fast either (a 1080p movie couldn't play without stutter, but the computer was otherwise busy and it wasn't on my clear network...), but who's complaining

What options are available for moving the video from the TiVo to something else (other than the desktop app)?
Charlie
firesignth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:50 AM   #14
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 12,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Unless you're transcoding AT THE SAME TIME you are transferring, no software will make it any faster.

Supposedly, the Premieres CAN transfer a lot faster, even in the exact same way the previous Tivos can.. But ALSO, they can transfer even in a slightly different MPEG format, that is EVEN FASTER still.
Yes, my Premieres transfer to TiVo desktop between 60mb/s and 75 mb/s. With the Elites being on the lower end and the two tuner Premieres being on the upper end.

But even when I had my TiVoHD boxes I don't recall the transfer being slower than realtime. It was typically as fast as realtime or a little faster.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x2
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |