TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2010, 08:14 PM   #1
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,891
GoogleTV being F****ed by the Networks

I find this amusing:

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/21/t...web-based-con/

Maybe it explains why more content isn't available through TiVo appears the Networks only want you to watch their shows over the Internet if you do it on a computer, unless of course you are paying extra.

Makes me appreciate good old OTA with a TiVo DVR.

Thanks,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:07 PM   #2
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 7,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
I find this amusing:

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/21/t...web-based-con/

Maybe it explains why more content isn't available through TiVo appears the Networks only want you to watch their shows over the Internet if you do it on a computer, unless of course you are paying extra.

Makes me appreciate good old OTA with a TiVo DVR.

Thanks,
So I can watch for free at my PC but not in front of my TV? Why do we allow TV networks to have so much control. I think we should all download a torrent tonight to teach them a lesson!
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:28 PM   #3
Robbdoe1
Tivo Obsessed
 
Robbdoe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 525
Free on the computer but not on a Google enabled device? I'll just keep watching with my laptop hooked to my HDTV until they work it all out. It sure seems like nobody wants to play nice together.

Robb
__________________
THD 1TB Upgrade/Tivo Wireless G USB Adapter
Tivo S2/Lifetime/Tivo Wireless G USB Adapter
(2) Toshiba SD-H400/Tivo Basic/Linksys WUSB11

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Robbdoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 12:53 AM   #4
Worf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,710
It's free on PC because all you get is a tiny little window or some horrible low-res thing that looks awful when blown up on the HDTV. The networks don't want to undermine their lucrative distribution on various medium (cable/satellite/etc) and ad revenue. Plus they don't want to anger their partners as well by offering for free what the cable/etc companies are forcing people to pay $50+ a month for.

It's why Hulu only works on PC, but if you pay, you can get Hulu Plus on your TV in higher quality. And everyone should know it already when Hulu kept blocking various means of easily watching Hulu on a TV.

In the end, it boils down to "you're not getting TV for free without sticking an ugly antenna on the roof".
Worf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 03:12 AM   #5
smbaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15,948
This begs for creating a simple proxy that changes the user-agent string so that it makes it look like the request is coming from plain ordinary internet explorer browser and not a google tv box...
smbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 03:13 AM   #6
MickeS
Registered User
 
MickeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 25,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
It's free on PC because all you get is a tiny little window or some horrible low-res thing that looks awful when blown up on the HDTV.
You haven't really checked the networks' websites recently, have you?
MickeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 05:13 AM   #7
pdhenry
Every Day's Saturday
 
pdhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 12,268
So the HTPC (or even the laptop with an HDMI port) becomes the new analog hole?
pdhenry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 07:11 AM   #8
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,723
Apparently so. Quite stupid on their part, since they already have commercials inserted when you play shows. It shouldn't matter how anyone accesses the content.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 08:51 AM   #9
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Apparently so. Quite stupid on their part, since they already have commercials inserted when you play shows. It shouldn't matter how anyone accesses the content.
YEah except networks get per-subscriber fees from cable and satellite companies.

And programming on internet doesn't have half the commercials programming on cable/satellite/antenna have unless that has changed.
trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 08:56 AM   #10
Gene S
Registered User
 
Gene S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 506
Thats why I didn't understand the point of GoogleTV. Surely they knew they would get blocked by the networks?!
Gene S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:58 AM   #11
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 7,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gene S View Post
Thats why I didn't understand the point of GoogleTV. Surely they knew they would get blocked by the networks?!
If it's running on Android, won't there be ways around it?
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:01 AM   #12
bigpatky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 109
it looks like google is in negotiations w/ 3 networks now.
bigpatky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:41 AM   #13
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 27,798
http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE69K5QS20101022

Quote:
Google in talks to unblock access to TV websites

Thu, Oct 21 2010
By Alexei Oreskovic
SAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - Google Inc is actively negotiating with three television networks that have blocked access to their websites on Google TV, a source familiar with the matter said...

__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:42 AM   #14
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 27,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by aadam101 View Post
If it's running on Android, won't there be ways around it?
You would think...

(cross posted from other thread....)

http://phandroid.com/2010/10/21/goog...possibilities/

Quote:
Google TV Root: First Signs & Possibilities

One member of AndroidForums – Apeman – has gained access to Recovery Mode on Sony Internet TV and has recorded video on how to do it:

Could this be the first hint at how to gain root access on Google TV? Hopefully all the modders, rooters, hackers and Software Engineers in the Android Community will head over to our Google TV forum and start comparing notes...

__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:58 AM   #15
ZeoTiVo
I can't explain
 
ZeoTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 25,525
why is this a surprise to anyone?
__________________
You just need to disable your sense of shame for all humanity and click past the break
ZeoTiVo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 12:57 PM   #16
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by trip1eX View Post
YEah except networks get per-subscriber fees from cable and satellite companies.
And the point is? They don't block the content no matter which payTV provider you have. If you can watch it on a laptop with HDMI (readily available and easy to hookup to your HDTV), why does it matter if it's GoogleTV instead? You're using the internet to access their content either way.

From the article:
Google said in a statement that its new Google TV service "enables access to all the Web content you already get today on your phone and PC, but it is ultimately the content owner's choice to restrict users from accessing their content on the platform."

Exactly, and this is why I don't get it.

Last edited by slowbiscuit : 10-22-2010 at 03:09 PM.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:47 PM   #17
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
it's no surprise to me- the network tv websites blocked android phones as soon as flash for android came along.

there are patches around to change the user agent to get it to work on an android phone if it's rooted.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:47 PM   #18
smbaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpatky View Post
it looks like google is in negotiations w/ 3 networks now.
What do you want to bet that "unlocking" access to the 3 major networks will require a monthly fee not dissimilar to that of Hulu+ ?

It shouldn't be a surprise to anyone that the networks did this. Obviously they want to protect not only their affiliates but also their advertising revenue. PC-Streaming users likely use cable or OTA on their TV sets. GoogleTV-Streaming users would be tempted to cut the cord. The networks won't let that happen unless they can either charge a fee or come up with a better structure for embedding commercials.
smbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 11:47 PM   #19
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 27,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelK View Post
it's no surprise to me- the network tv websites blocked android phones as soon as flash for android came along.

there are patches around to change the user agent to get it to work on an android phone if it's rooted.
Don't even need to be rooted. Enter about:debug into the browser, then look at the settings and you'll see the UA settings.
__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 12:40 AM   #20
t1voproof
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 88
The networks will agree if Google pays something for it.
t1voproof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 12:46 AM   #21
parzec
Wizard of Oz
 
parzec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
It's free on PC because all you get is a tiny little window or some horrible low-res thing that looks awful when blown up on the HDTV. The networks don't want to undermine their lucrative distribution on various medium (cable/satellite/etc) and ad revenue. Plus they don't want to anger their partners as well by offering for free what the cable/etc companies are forcing people to pay $50+ a month for.

It's why Hulu only works on PC, but if you pay, you can get Hulu Plus on your TV in higher quality. And everyone should know it already when Hulu kept blocking various means of easily watching Hulu on a TV.

In the end, it boils down to "you're not getting TV for free without sticking an ugly antenna on the roof".
FYI -- my antenna is in my attic out of sight!
__________________
TivoHD w/ WD 500GB expander - OTA only with Netlifx + Sony Location Free
TivoHD - OTA/Multiroom Viewing
Philips Series 1 - Lifetime (110 hours and TivoNet)
HR10-250 - Un-Subbed
parzec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 10:42 PM   #22
Schmye Bubbula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 301
Advertising Age: Why the TV Networks Blocked Google TV (It's About the Ads)
"Until Online Revenue Matches TV, Networks Will Do All They Can to Keep Web Shows on PCs and TV Shows on TV"
Schmye Bubbula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 11:00 PM   #23
Adam1115
20,000!!!
 
Adam1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver ish
Posts: 24,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeoTiVo View Post
why is this a surprise to anyone?
This.
__________________
]
Adam1115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 08:54 AM   #24
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,891
And now for more amusement: The first device running GoogleTV (the logitech Revue) is basically the same hardware as a netbook from 2008 without the screen:

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/25/l...ecs-found-wit/

Content blocked - old low end hardware - limited functionality - fairly high price

Sure makes a normal everyday HTPC look more interesting.

Thanks,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 09:11 AM   #25
Stormspace
Electrocuted by TiVo
 
Stormspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hartsville, SC
Posts: 4,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
And now for more amusement: The first device running GoogleTV (the logitech Revue) is basically the same hardware as a netbook from 2008 without the screen:

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/25/l...ecs-found-wit/

Content blocked - old low end hardware - limited functionality - fairly high price

Sure makes a normal everyday HTPC look more interesting.

Thanks,
If they could detect what type of display you are using they'd be blocking those too. When flash and silverlight start monitoring for an HDMI port to give you "better quality" you can bet those will be turned off when using the network sites.
__________________
137hr DTS2
20/180hr HD
166hr DTS2
180hr S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stormspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 09:49 AM   #26
pdhenry
Every Day's Saturday
 
pdhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 12,268
It's OK - my HDTV has a 9-pin PC connector as well. For streaming video it's better than what's required.
pdhenry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 09:53 AM   #27
Stormspace
Electrocuted by TiVo
 
Stormspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hartsville, SC
Posts: 4,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdhenry View Post
It's OK - my HDTV has a 9-pin PC connector as well. For streaming video it's better than what's required.
I think you mean 15 pin, but i get your point.
__________________
137hr DTS2
20/180hr HD
166hr DTS2
180hr S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Stormspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 11:10 AM   #28
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 27,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
And now for more amusement: The first device running GoogleTV (the logitech Revue) is basically the same hardware as a netbook from 2008 without the screen:

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/25/l...ecs-found-wit/

Content blocked - old low end hardware - limited functionality - fairly high price

Sure makes a normal everyday HTPC look more interesting.

Thanks,
Not really. I'd rather have one box I can buy and have it do the job. I'm not interested in putting a PC in my entertainment center. (Wouldn't fit, anyway.)

I guess the low end netbook can also run apps designed for the TV and do integrated searches of TV and web, HDMI overlay, and incorporate my phone and Harmony remote?

I haven't bought GTV yet, but I certainly have no desire to kludge together my own either.
__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 11:17 AM   #29
pdhenry
Every Day's Saturday
 
pdhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 12,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormspace View Post
I think you mean 15 pin, but i get your point.
...but who's counting? Should have said D-Sub and let it go at that.
pdhenry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:11 PM   #30
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefe View Post
Not really. I'd rather have one box I can buy and have it do the job. I'm not interested in putting a PC in my entertainment center. (Wouldn't fit, anyway.)

I guess the low end netbook can also run apps designed for the TV and do integrated searches of TV and web, HDMI overlay, and incorporate my phone and Harmony remote?

I haven't bought GTV yet, but I certainly have no desire to kludge together my own either.
I guess it all depends on what you want to do with it.

I don't have a web/smart phone, already have a harmony remote and don't use it anymore, and could care less about integrated searches or HDMI overlay.

I don't subscribe to premium or sports channels so what special apps does GoogleTV have that any Internet connect computer doesn't?

Frankly without free Network and Hulu content about the only thing I would do with it is check my email and this forum.

The one reason I would want to connect a computer to my TV is to watch the few (very few) cable shows I still watch (mostly SyFy) and then dump my sat sub. I have just been to lazy to get something setup or as you said kludge together. If the Logitech Revue foot the bill I would be interested if not I will wait until I update something and have a spare laptop/PC around.

Hulu Plus at $10 might also work so something that has that might work and also allow my to dump my sat sub.

Thanks,
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |