TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2012, 07:22 PM   #1
ShinySteelRobot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 62
How to clone a failing TiVo drive to another drive

Hi all,

Not long ago my TiVo drive started to fail, so I replaced the 2TB EARX drive with a 2TB EURS drive. I wanted to keep all my programs, season passes, etc, and I wanted to perform limited error recovery at the same time. Some posts here at TiVo Community led me to dd_rescue, which led me to ddrescue, but the details were a bit sparse until I figured it all out.

Long story short, I wrote a concise but fairly detailed article article about how I copied the failing drive to the new drive and performed error recovery. Here's the article link:

http://www.logicsector.com/tivo/how-...with-ddrescue/

I hope it helps in case others face the same problem

Note the replacement drive must be the same size or larger.
ShinySteelRobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 10:39 AM   #2
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinySteelRobot View Post
Hi all,

Not long ago my TiVo drive started to fail, so I replaced the 2TB EARX drive with a 2TB EURS drive. I wanted to keep all my programs, season passes, etc, and I wanted to perform limited error recovery at the same time. Some posts here at TiVo Community led me to dd_rescue, which led me to ddrescue, but the details were a bit sparse until I figured it all out.

Long story short, I wrote a concise but fairly detailed article article about how I copied the failing drive to the new drive and performed error recovery. Here's the article link:

http://www.logicsector.com/tivo/how-...with-ddrescue/

I hope it helps in case others face the same problem

Note the replacement drive must be the same size or larger.
I skimmed through it and bookmarked it. Interesting. Thanks.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:11 PM   #3
Wammer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
I also have a 2TB EARS which is failing (recorded and live TV randomly freeze, random reboots, etc.) and just received a 2TB EURS today. Your timing couldn't be better. I plan to follow your guide. Thanks much!
Wammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 04:54 PM   #4
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 5,911
Can't one just use the jmfs boot disk and do a copy, no add space or expand ? I never tried this but it should work.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis, Also 1 not used Humax Series 2 with a DVD burner
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 01:41 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Can't one just use the jmfs boot disk and do a copy, no add space or expand ? I never tried this but it should work.
I suppose you could, but the MFS Live cd with

dd_rescue

gives you control of various parameters that can increase your chances of success.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 03:34 PM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinySteelRobot View Post
Hi all,

Not long ago my TiVo drive started to fail, so I replaced the 2TB EARX drive with a 2TB EURS drive. I wanted to keep all my programs, season passes, etc, and I wanted to perform limited error recovery at the same time. Some posts here at TiVo Community led me to dd_rescue, which led me to ddrescue, but the details were a bit sparse until I figured it all out.

Long story short, I wrote a concise but fairly detailed article article about how I copied the failing drive to the new drive and performed error recovery. Here's the article link:

http://www.logicsector.com/tivo/how-...with-ddrescue/

I hope it helps in case others face the same problem

Note the replacement drive must be the same size or larger.
logicsector.com appears to be down. Hope SSR is okay.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 09:26 PM   #7
subVert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessd View Post
Can't one just use the jmfs boot disk and do a copy, no add space or expand ? I never tried this but it should work.
I just did that to rescue my perpetually rebooting 2TB TiVo. Worked like a charm.
subVert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:46 PM   #8
sigocpt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
My Series 2 took a drive a few weeks ago. I am going to have to read this guide to see if I can copy off my failed drive.

Otherwise, I have a line on a backup image for my unit.
sigocpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 03:21 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigocpt View Post
My Series 2 took a drive a few weeks ago. I am going to have to read this guide to see if I can copy off my failed drive.

Otherwise, I have a line on a backup image for my unit.
If you're going to need to use MFS Live with that image, then the MFS Live cd already has

dd_rescue

on it, which will do the job just fine.

I recommend using the

-v

and

-r

options if going to a target drive with the same LBA number as the source.

If you're using the WinMFS version of the image (ends in .tbk), you should still have a copy of the MFS Live cd on hand for the times when it comes in handy.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |