TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2012, 08:23 AM   #1
clherv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 62
HD recording hours conversion to SD recording hours

[My Tivo is very old SAT-T60 and I must upgrade for reasons mentioned in other threads]

Many TIVO (and other DVRs) quote recording capacity for HD.

I don't care much about HD--or at least I care more about recording more hours.

I assume that I can choose to record SD to get more hours...??

Other question: What is a good conversion factor? For example, if a box says 50 hours HD, can I then (if conversion factor is 4) say that I can use that box to record 200 hours?

Thanks
clherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 09:23 AM   #2
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,674
The newer Tivos always list recording capacity for both SD and HD recordings so you might want to look at Tivo's website for the specs. HD recordings generally use about 6-8GB of storage for a one-hour recording whereas a similar SD recording is only about 1GB. I think you can do the math from here.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:50 PM   #3
gastrof
Look 32' in reverse
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: We would like tin but for the golden glade. Do not take risks that you cannot return to the encapsulation. Margaret has not the stranding.
Posts: 6,845
Whether you can "choose SD over HD" depends on what TiVo you have and what type of service you have.

If you're recording from digital OverTheAir channels, if they're HD that's all you can record. The TiVo will record the channel as it is.

If you're using a digital tuner TiVo with cable, if your cable company has SD versions of channels, you can record those, but there's no telling what they did with them and exactly how close to HD the picture is (what the screen resolution is).

If your cable company is only providing HD channels, again, that's all there is and so HD recordings are what you'll get.

If you're using an older TiVo working with a cable box, the TiVo will record in SD since that's all it can do. Even if the cable box can tune an HD channel, its output going into the TiVo will be down-rezzed for a SD television device. No HD recording at all in that case, tho' if you tune an HD channel, you will be able to record it in SD.
__________________
Crisp binoculars on a Wednesday.
gastrof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 01:02 PM   #4
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
If you're recording from digital OverTheAir channels, if they're HD that's all you can record. The TiVo will record the channel as it is.
Most OTA HD channels have additional sub channels (i.e., 2.2, 2.3, etc.) that broadcast the same show in SD as well as local weather and miscellaneous old TV reruns and movies.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 08:06 PM   #5
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by clherv View Post
[My Tivo is very old SAT-T60 and I must upgrade for reasons mentioned in other threads]

Many TIVO (and other DVRs) quote recording capacity for HD.

I don't care much about HD--or at least I care more about recording more hours.

I assume that I can choose to record SD to get more hours...??

Other question: What is a good conversion factor? For example, if a box says 50 hours HD, can I then (if conversion factor is 4) say that I can use that box to record 200 hours?

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.unnatural View Post
The newer Tivos always list recording capacity for both SD and HD recordings so you might want to look at Tivo's website for the specs. HD recordings generally use about 6-8GB of storage for a one-hour recording whereas a similar SD recording is only about 1GB. I think you can do the math from here.
As a reference, my S3HD box with a 1TB HD shows up to 157 HD hours or up to 1367 SD hours. That, of course, is at the lowest SD quality level. The other numbers for SD levels are 549, 341, and 231 hours. Just like the older boxes, the better the quality level, the lower the number of hours. Also keep in mind that the SD capacity for analog channels (if your cable company transmits them) will be higher than for the equivalent digital SD channels. I don't know offhand what the conversion rate is for that, I just remember that transferring (to my PC) a show recorded on the digital channel resulted in a significantly larger file than the same show recorded on the analog channel.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 07:55 AM   #6
clherv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas
Posts: 62
Update: We have FIOS now with two year commitment.
clherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |