TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2015, 08:42 PM   #1
dark54555
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Premier + Tuning Adapter Recurring Issue - Help Please?

I've had my Premier (the OTA+CableCard version) and tuning adapter (Motorola) for a few years without a problem (Time Warner). For the past couple weeks, I've had a recurring problem and can't seem to find a way to diagnose or fix it. I've already been on the TWC forums; it's not a signal issue.

Multiple times a day, I will get one of two screens on my TiVo:
1. "Acquiring Channel Information - 100%" (where it pauses for quite some time)
2. "A Tuning Adapted has been connected" (where you hit continue)

Usually, it fails to record things with a "no signal" in history when this happens. We've missed a couple shows from the summer, but with the fall TV coming back, I don't want to be missing multiple shows a night or having to babysit the TiVo to make sure we get things recorded.

How can I figure out what the root cause of the issue is? It could be the tuning adapter hardware. It could be the CableCard. It could be any number of things with the TiVo (USB port problem? Hard drive problem?).

Any help is greatly appreciated.

dark54555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 09:02 PM   #2
dark54555
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
I also wanted to point out it just stops working for the short term. No long term outages.

dark54555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 01:48 PM   #3
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 905xx
Posts: 1,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark54555 View Post

2. "A Tuning Adapted has been connected" (where you hit continue)
The tuning adapter has been disconnected from tivo. Then reconnected.
I see this message every day on my S3. This does not prevent recordings, on S3.
The tuning adapter is powered down, a few hours, each day so tivo can complete the GC routine.

Try TiVo's other USB port.
Swap a known good USB cable.
Swap tuning adapter power supply.

Connect TiVo and tuning adapter power cord/brick to a UPS on the battery back up side.

A faulty tuning adapter.

Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 10:10 PM   #4
videobruce
OTA is still alive
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 337
You can also add a bad cable feed; bad line extender, bad tap. bad drop.
Is that your only DVR? If you have another, swap tuning adapters.

Thought it does sound more as a communications problem between the TA and the recorder.

__________________
Keep OTA alive, the wireless industry has way too much spectrum, if they want more, take it from the mostly unused military spectrum!
videobruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.
Page generated in 0.13398910 seconds (50.09% PHP - 49.91% MySQL) with 18 queries