TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2012, 05:09 PM   #1
RTstratSpring
Registered User
 
RTstratSpring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Takoma Park, Maryland
Posts: 62
DVR Names suddenly revert back to service #'s

Anybody suddenly have their DVR's revert back to service numbers in account information on the boxes and also MyTivo online? Not exactly sure when this happened but both my Tivos have had names assigned for years. Today, I notice that names have been replaced.

Thanks in advance for responses!
RTstratSpring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:26 PM   #2
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
it's a known bug on tivo's servers (there's a larger thread here someplace about it)- they are aware and working on a fix. No ETA as of the last time someone asked customer support.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:27 PM   #3
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
here's the other thread:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=486086
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:24 PM   #4
RTstratSpring
Registered User
 
RTstratSpring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Takoma Park, Maryland
Posts: 62
Thanks MichaelK!

For responding and the link to the thread!! Glad to know I'm not alone. Hopefully this will get taken care of.
RTstratSpring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:56 PM   #5
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 682
In my case, at first, I could NOT changed the name back to my personal name for about 3 days because the My TiVo at the website would NOT allow it. However, on the 4th day, the system did allow me to change the name, and I haven't (knock on wood) had a problem since.

It is interesting how this bug is slowly creeping from subscriber to subscriber.
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:12 PM   #6
blacknoi
Registered User
 
blacknoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 313
I saw it a few days ago for 1 of my 2 units via the iphone tivo app.

Haven't checked recently but good to know it wasn't just me.
__________________
DVR User since 2002.
blacknoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:06 PM   #7
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
The only time I had this issue was when I had a brief power outage. All of my Tivos came back up just fine except one S2 which came up but had lost the name. An identical S2 had no problem and neither did my S3HD or Premiere.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:17 PM   #8
aadam101
Future Prez of ABC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 7,014
Mine switched back to their original names on their own. Amazon still has the wrong name for one of the units.
__________________
A passing grade? Like a C? Why don't I just get pregnant at a bus station!
aadam101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 10:41 PM   #9
marqattacks
Registered User
 
marqattacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
I first noticed the issue when my iPad couldn't connect to my TiVo anymore. I had to reinstall my iPad app and configure it within the Settings panel. But I still haven't changed it back to my created name.
marqattacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |