TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2012, 10:02 AM   #1
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,667
NASCAR Nationwide Darlington race didn't record last night

OK this is a strange one that I haven't seen in my almost 4 years of Tivo HD use - the Nationwide race on ESPN2 last night didn't record because Tivo said that 'the channel was not authorized, I didn't pay for the event, or it was not available in my area'.

ESPN2 works fine of course, I just tuned it again with no problem. I can only surmise that somehow a PPV flag was set on the broadcast by mistake by Comcast or someone else, or somehow my Cablecard auth got messed up even though everything else recorded fine last night (Fringe and other shows). It certainly wasn't blacked out and I've never had a problem with any race recording before. Anyone else seen this? I'm on Comcast in the ATL.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:11 AM   #2
cheerdude
Reed & Juliet's CPA
 
cheerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 10,058
I stopped my recording after only a couple of mins but I was able to view it.

Are you sure that it was on ESPN2 & not a PPV channel?
cheerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:40 AM   #3
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 982
Check to see if both your tuners can get to that channel.

Scott
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:58 PM   #4
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,310
I have occasionally gotten that message when I tune to ESPN or ESPN 2 and had to tune away and back to remove it. Seems like there is an intermittent bug in the CableCARD.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 10:15 AM   #5
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheerdude View Post
I stopped my recording after only a couple of mins but I was able to view it.

Are you sure that it was on ESPN2 & not a PPV channel?
Definitely ESPN2, and I checked both tuners and both work on this channel. Tried a test recording with no problems too.

This is very strange, the only thing I can think of was some sort of signal level issue on the channel causing bad flags to show up, but I haven't seen a hint of signal issues on any channel and my levels are good with no errors in DVR diags.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |