TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2012, 08:50 AM   #1
sieglinde
Registered User
 
sieglinde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 5,370
Moving and Season Passes

I will be changing cable companies soon due to moving to a different town. How will that affect my season passes? Will I have to reinput all of them or will they just change to the new channels?
__________________
Science over Superstition
sieglinde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:21 AM   #2
tootal2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieglinde View Post
I will be changing cable companies soon due to moving to a different town. How will that affect my season passes? Will I have to reinput all of them or will they just change to the new channels?
Your season passes should still work. Tivo will just change them to the new channel numbers.
tootal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:10 PM   #3
sieglinde
Registered User
 
sieglinde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 5,370
Great. Thanks
__________________
Science over Superstition
sieglinde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:53 AM   #4
9300170
Registered User
 
9300170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Enfield, CT
Posts: 173
Just did a similar move and my season passes did not automatically change to the new channels. I think that the only time they will move is if you change local sources and the channel callsign doesn't change but the number does...e.g.: what will work is if fox WTICDT is on channel 6 on comcast but you move across town to a Cox area and WTICDT is now on channel 7. What won't work is you have fox wticDT on 6 in connecticut and now you have fox KLJBDT on channel 18 in Iowa. You'll have to recreate your season passes...at least I did.
9300170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 04:39 PM   #5
scandia101
Just the facts ma'am
 
scandia101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN, greater TC metro area
Posts: 9,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9300170 View Post
Just did a similar move and my season passes did not automatically change to the new channels. I think that the only time they will move is if you change local sources and the channel callsign doesn't change but the number does...e.g.: what will work is if fox WTICDT is on channel 6 on comcast but you move across town to a Cox area and WTICDT is now on channel 7. What won't work is you have fox wticDT on 6 in connecticut and now you have fox KLJBDT on channel 18 in Iowa. You'll have to recreate your season passes...at least I did.
That's because KLJBDT is not WTICDT.
When you have cable or satellite, as the vast majority of Tivo users have, the channel names are all the same across the board so SP's will automatically find the new channel number to record.
__________________
discipuli nostrum bardissimi sunt.
scandia101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |