TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2012, 07:30 AM   #1
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,299
TiVo Spring Update Begins Rolling Out Today

Engadget's coverage:
http://www.engadget.com/2012/05/10/t...be-experience/

The embargo is noon EST, so they must have hit the publish button a bit early since this showed up in a news alert over night.

I've had the update a few days. Once you're in Netflix it's sharp and usable, but waiting for it to load is painful. I can flip TV inputs and get my Roku onto the Netflix channel in 1/3rd the time. But, of course, the point is maybe you don't need a Roku box given this update. At the moment, I'd be most interested in an Amazon Instant app - but it sounds like it's on Amazon to produce it. We shall see?
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
Engadget's coverage:
http://www.engadget.com/2012/05/10/t...be-experience/

The embargo is noon EST, so they must have hit the publish button a bit early since this showed up in a news alert over night.

I've had the update a few days. Once you're in Netflix it's sharp and usable, but waiting for it to load is painful. I can flip TV inputs and get my Roku onto the Netflix channel in 1/3rd the time. But, of course, the point is maybe you don't need a Roku box given this update. At the moment, I'd be most interested in an Amazon Instant app - but it sounds like it's on Amazon to produce it. We shall see?
BAsed on the Endgadget review it sounds like when it switches between 720P and 1080P it's a pain since the Premiere cannot scale to 1080P. They mentioned having to resync when the resolution changes. This is one issue the Roku doesn't have. How bad is it really when using it?

Hopefully I'll be able to check it out tonight. I have four things I want to watch on Netflix tonight. I had been using my ROku2 the last few nights for about a dozen shows. So it will be nice to finally check it out on the Premiere. At least hopefully.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:19 AM   #3
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,868
TechOfTheHub Coverage

http://www.techofthehub.com/2012/05/...on-review.html

To wrap-up, while it does have some quirks, the new TiVo Netflix player is a big improvement and provides a great audio and video experience. Since the TiVo is our primary viewing device and given its integrated search, I will be using Netflix on TiVo much more. Given the wealth of bandwidth I get from FIOS, the video black-out problem should just be a minor annoyance for me. While I wouldn’t recommend the TiVo Premiere just for Netflix, the new Netflix app is one of several compelling reasons to make it part of your home theater set up.


http://www.techofthehub.com/2012/05/...be-player.html


The spring TiVo update also includes fixes to Amazon Instant Video. Previously, Amazon content downloaded to the TiVo Premiere would sometimes suffer from excessive pixelization. That problem has now been fixed. Remember, the TiVo provides the best video quality of any Amazon Instant Video device: video at 1080P resolution and 24 frames per second.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:31 AM   #4
zalusky
Registered User
 
zalusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 3,787
Dave, Whats your opinion of the Youtube app? Anything change there!
__________________
I will never forget the face of my wife as I left to go the operating room to donate my kidney and give her back her life.
zalusky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:36 AM   #5
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
So what is the version # of the spring update?
-Shaown
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 09:47 AM   #6
rhettf
R3T1CAL
 
rhettf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 175
Has anyone actually got the update yet?

If so whats the version number?

Did you submit your TSN to the Priority List? http://www.tivo.com/priority

Thanks!
__________________
Tivo Roamio Pro + 1TB Expansion + Slingbox.
TiVo iPad & iPhone App.
Tivo Mini
rhettf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:19 AM   #7
DinoBambino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 53
Quote:
http://www.techofthehub.com/2012/05/...be-player.html


The spring TiVo update also includes fixes to Amazon Instant Video. Previously, Amazon content downloaded to the TiVo Premiere would sometimes suffer from excessive pixelization. That problem has now been fixed. Remember, the TiVo provides the best video quality of any Amazon Instant Video device: video at 1080P resolution and 24 frames per second.
When I set up my Elite, the video was defaulted to 1080i. To "enjoy" the new 1080p capabilities of Netflix and Amazon I need to switch the Tivo video output to 1080p. What affect does that have on normal tv viewing? I Imagine the HD channels would be ok - would there be an issue with SD channels? I'd rather not keep flipping the video output.

Thanks.
DinoBambino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:20 AM   #8
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by zalusky View Post
Dave, Whats your opinion of the Youtube app? Anything change there!
Yeah, much different and more modern. Looks similar to other newer YouTube apps.

I assume the beta testers will start chiming in soon - they've had the new apps longer than I and will be able to provide perhaps more detailed info (without revealing they were beta testers I suppose).

The rollout could take a couple weeks as they stagger it, so folks should get their names on that priority list if they haven't already.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:25 AM   #9
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
I got it just now, and I had signed up for the priority list.

To answer my own question - its version #

20.2.1.1-01-2-748 on my premiere XL

Thanks,
-Shaown
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:38 AM   #10
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
And my review so far:
Install went well - got a new message that said I had installed the spring update listing the features.
Of course
1) the Netflix player doesn't work
2) I still have the old YouTube player

Guess I will give it a few hours to see if it fixes itself.
-Shaown
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:41 AM   #11
xander777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Does the new YouTube app play HD videos?
xander777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:46 AM   #12
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
Ok - tried switching to SD menus. That fixed it all up there. Does not work when I reenable HD Menus though lol.
-Shaown
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:47 AM   #13
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
I am little nervous for my my older parents get the update. Sigh - they use Netflix a not - and can't quite diagnose installation issues the way I can.
-Shaown
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:58 AM   #14
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by xander777 View Post
Does the new YouTube app play HD videos?
Yes.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:59 AM   #15
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaown View Post
And my review so far:
Install went well - got a new message that said I had installed the spring update listing the features.
Of course
1) the Netflix player doesn't work
2) I still have the old YouTube player

Guess I will give it a few hours to see if it fixes itself.
-Shaown
Have you tried a reboot?
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:06 AM   #16
Johnwashere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 222
also
http://blog.tivo.com/2012/05/an-upda...vo-premiere-2/
Johnwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:17 AM   #17
innocentfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 8,537
Also http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=487165
__________________
1 - TiVo Roamio Pro
2 - TiVo Premiere XL

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
innocentfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:21 AM   #18
gothaggis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 78
i find it 'funny' that they mention 'more hd menu updates coming later in the year'

it is seriously taking them over 2 years to update all the menus to HD. what.
gothaggis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:29 AM   #19
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaown View Post
And my review so far:
Install went well - got a new message that said I had installed the spring update listing the features.
Of course
1) the Netflix player doesn't work
2) I still have the old YouTube player

Guess I will give it a few hours to see if it fixes itself.
-Shaown
Please email me your TiVo Service number. I understand the Netflix issue (if you visit Settings > Channels > My Video Providers it should resolve immediately). I want to follow up on the YouTube issue.

My email is margret@tivo.com.

Thanks!
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:32 AM   #20
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
Have you tried a reboot?

I did - did not help.
New Youtube and Netflix app work with SD Menus
With HD Menus - Netflix returns an error, Youtube brings up the old app

Thanks,
-Shaown
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:38 AM   #21
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoMargret View Post
Please email me your TiVo Service number. I understand the Netflix issue (if you visit Settings > Channels > My Video Providers it should resolve immediately). I want to follow up on the YouTube issue.

My email is margret@tivo.com.

Thanks!
Email sent - btw selecting and deselecting it from Video Providers did not fix the Netflix issue.
-Shaown
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:39 AM   #22
xander777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
Yes.
... and there was much rejoicing...
xander777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:42 AM   #23
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaown View Post
Email sent - btw selecting and deselecting it from Video Providers did not fix the Netflix issue.
-Shaown
Ok, please email me your TSN immediately. (margret@tivo.com) Thanks.
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:48 AM   #24
Blacknotice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 22
Netflix nor youtube seem to work on the HD Display, but when I change it to SD everything is fine.

Any help please?
Blacknotice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:51 AM   #25
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
Blacknotice - interesting - same problem I commented on above
-Shaown
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:52 AM   #26
Blacknotice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 22
I sent her an email too. Lets see what happens
Blacknotice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:57 AM   #27
TiVoMargret
VP of Design, TiVo
 
TiVoMargret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 250
Netflix may take up to four hours

Ok, it may take up to four hours for all of the authorizations for Netflix to make it to your box after the software is installed. If anyone is still missing Netflix four hours after the update, please let me know.

I am still working on the YouTube issue.

Thanks everyone.
__________________
Margret Schmidt
Vice President, Design & Engineering
Chief Design Officer
TiVo Inc. *
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TiVoMargret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:54 PM   #28
shaown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
Fixed (Both of them) Both 4 hours and passed - and I deselected Youtube and Netflix multiple times from Video Providers. It finally just started working
__________________
Active:
Lifetime - (1 Roamio Pro, 1 TPXL, 3 TP, 1 S3 1Tb)
Retired
3 S2DT, 1 Phillips S1, 1 HR10-250 HDTivo, 1 S1 DTivo, 3 S2 DTivos, 1 THD 1Tb
shaown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:52 PM   #29
DonaldBurns65144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 121
You need to deselect and then re-select Netflix in the list of providers and then enter your email and password all over again. This solves the problem and there's no 4 hour wait period.
DonaldBurns65144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:01 PM   #30
timstack8969
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 419
Just came home to "Pending Restart" Mt. Laurel, NJ
timstack8969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |