TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2013, 12:10 AM   #1
reubanks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 262
THD HDD Flaked... Fix was easy!

The 4 year old (upgrade) 2TB drive in one of my Tivos decided to stop working earlier this week.

I pulled the drive and ran Spinrite but it didn't find a problem. I reinstalled the unit and the Tivo would still not get past the initial "Starting" screen before endlessly rebooting.

I tried several different Kickstart codes but none of them would take. The system would just go back to a black screen and reboot. Oh well...

A different freshly imaged drive would work perfectly. (to verify it was the drive and not the MoBo or PS.)

So in an effort to get my recordings back I picked up a new drive from Newegg and ran WD Diags to verify it's a good drive. I then ran MFSCopy from within WinMFS to dupe the original drive contents to the replacement. It took over 8 hours, but once I installed the replacement 2TB drive, the Tivo HDXL was working again with all of the recorded programs there.

Now I guess it's time to wipe the old drive and re-purpose it.
__________________
1 Series2 ST w/500GB Lifetime
1 THD w/WD20EVDS
1 THD w/2TB Hitachi where the noise doesn't matter so much. Lifetime
1 HDXL w/WD20EADS and Lifetime
1 THD stock Lifetime. Smouldering wreckage...
reubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 12:16 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by reubanks View Post
The 4 year old (upgrade) 2TB drive in one of my Tivos decided to stop working earlier this week.

I pulled the drive and ran Spinrite but it didn't find a problem. I reinstalled the unit and the Tivo would still not get past the initial "Starting" screen before endlessly rebooting.

I tried several different Kickstart codes but none of them would take. The system would just go back to a black screen and reboot. Oh well...

A different freshly imaged drive would work perfectly. (to verify it was the drive and not the MoBo or PS.)

So in an effort to get my recordings back I picked up a new drive from Newegg and ran WD Diags to verify it's a good drive. I then ran MFSCopy from within WinMFS to dupe the original drive contents to the replacement. It took over 8 hours, but once I installed the replacement 2TB drive, the Tivo HDXL was working again with all of the recorded programs there.

Now I guess it's time to wipe the old drive and re-purpose it.
You still haven't told me about the smouldering wreckage.
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 12:27 AM   #3
reubanks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
You still haven't told me about the smouldering wreckage.
You never ASKED!!!

I picked it up from a forum member a while back as a project. The (original) HDD and Power Supply are good (as was a spare supply that was included...) but the MoBo seems to have a variation of "Flickering LED" syndrome. I never get any video (HDMI or Composite) and the only front LED that lights is the green one. It flickers, but ALMOST too fast to notice. I also swapped in a different faceplate to see if it might have been that. Nope, it's the MoBo.

Maybe once the holiday season is over I can pull out my O-Scope and other test gear and try to diagnose what's going on. I would be useful to have a working spare with Lifetime.
__________________
1 Series2 ST w/500GB Lifetime
1 THD w/WD20EVDS
1 THD w/2TB Hitachi where the noise doesn't matter so much. Lifetime
1 HDXL w/WD20EADS and Lifetime
1 THD stock Lifetime. Smouldering wreckage...
reubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 11:18 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by reubanks View Post
You never ASKED!!!

I picked it up from a forum member a while back as a project. The (original) HDD and Power Supply are good (as was a spare supply that was included...) but the MoBo seems to have a variation of "Flickering LED" syndrome. I never get any video (HDMI or Composite) and the only front LED that lights is the green one. It flickers, but ALMOST too fast to notice. I also swapped in a different faceplate to see if it might have been that. Nope, it's the MoBo.

Maybe once the holiday season is over I can pull out my O-Scope and other test gear and try to diagnose what's going on. I would be useful to have a working spare with Lifetime.
Are you familiar with the site which may not be named here?

I think they've had discussions in the past about using the serial header on the HD motherboard, although that may require a little rewriting of the PROM, but one might be able to learn a bit about what still does or doesn't work via that port.

I've got a lifetimed HD XL with vertical and horizontal sync all out of whack that I hope to further explore one of these days.

And I did ask, recently, but I forget in which thread.
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |