TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2012, 09:51 PM   #1
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 183
Weak channel signal strength

Looks like most channels are in the 40's. SNR is about 29 or 30. They all work, but occasional are lost or get pixelated. I have a rather poor cable set up with a lot of splitters.

Should I spring for a signal booster/amplifier? Looking at a four port Motorola that seems to get good reviews I can put it in a outside box and energize it through an unused cable connection on the inside of the house.
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 10:25 PM   #2
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCLABB View Post
Looks like most channels are in the 40's. SNR is about 29 or 30. They all work, but occasional are lost or get pixelated. I have a rather poor cable set up with a lot of splitters.

Should I spring for a signal booster/amplifier? Looking at a four port Motorola that seems to get good reviews I can put it in a outside box and energize it through an unused cable connection on the inside of the house.
What model TiVo and what frequencies?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 01:23 AM   #3
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,385
Splitters will reduce the signal strength with each one down the line. Try to reduce to as few splitters as possible without losing service to other devices on the same line. Try 4-way splitters as well.
__________________
Series 2 (80 hrs,PLS, Pending sale)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 11:00 AM   #4
UCLABB
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 183
Tivo Premiere. Similar low strength on all channels.

I've eliminated as many splitters as I can. The remainder are outside of the house, from the line drop to where they enter the house.
UCLABB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 11:03 PM   #5
ComputerLover
Registered User
 
ComputerLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kent,WAshington
Posts: 16
because your coaxial cable's too old cause too low strength... need replace new one
ComputerLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |