TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2012, 04:12 PM   #1
buffalomitch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4
Duplicate & replace HD on Tivo HD?

I have a TivoHD with a 160GB drive that is failing (I confirmed this with kickstart 54). I have a 1TB external drive attached.

Here's my dilemma: I have pre-paid one year of service which expires in October. If I buy a Premiere, the remainder of the contract cannot be transferred. I can buy a replacement TivoHD direct from Tivo for $79, but I'll lose the shows that are on there. If I upgrade the hard drive, I will lose the ability to use the external drive.

Therefore: Can I make an EXACT copy (clone) of the 160GB hard drive as a replacement and still be able to keep my shows AND use the external HD?

Thanks
buffalomitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 07:52 PM   #2
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalomitch View Post
I have a TivoHD with a 160GB drive that is failing (I confirmed this with kickstart 54). I have a 1TB external drive attached.

Here's my dilemma: I have pre-paid one year of service which expires in October. If I buy a Premiere, the remainder of the contract cannot be transferred. I can buy a replacement TivoHD direct from Tivo for $79, but I'll lose the shows that are on there. If I upgrade the hard drive, I will lose the ability to use the external drive.

Therefore: Can I make an EXACT copy (clone) of the 160GB hard drive as a replacement and still be able to keep my shows AND use the external HD?

Thanks
I've never used an external drive, but I believe it's been reported in this forum that an exact clone will still work with your external drive.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:28 PM   #3
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 17,468
If the Tivo MOSTLY works, you could ALSO use something like kmttg, and download the shows from your Tivo to a computer's drive.. then replace the drive(s), and transfer them back..

That would definitely work (for non copy protected shows).
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:46 PM   #4
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalomitch View Post
I have a TivoHD with a 160GB drive that is failing (I confirmed this with kickstart 54). I have a 1TB external drive attached.

Here's my dilemma: I have pre-paid one year of service which expires in October. If I buy a Premiere, the remainder of the contract cannot be transferred. I can buy a replacement TivoHD direct from Tivo for $79, but I'll lose the shows that are on there. If I upgrade the hard drive, I will lose the ability to use the external drive.

Therefore: Can I make an EXACT copy (clone) of the 160GB hard drive as a replacement and still be able to keep my shows AND use the external HD?

Thanks
Take a look at MFSTools.org and download the MFSTools iso to make a bootable CD. There is a tool on there called dd which should let you clone the drive. Having said that, why not just upgrade to at least a 1TB drive, then you won't need the external one. That external drive will fail eventually, and cause you to lose your recordings. As the prior poster said, you should transfer the programs to your PC while you can using the free SW.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 07:33 AM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by venusguy View Post
I ever tried to hook up a external hard drive to my tivo, but it did not work .
Was it a Western Digital 'My Tivo Expander'? If not, that's why.
You can't just use any ol' external drive you might have laying around.

Edit: Looks like I got caught quoting a potential spammer.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!

Last edited by steve614 : 04-04-2012 at 06:42 PM.
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:51 AM   #6
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillevig View Post
Take a look at MFSTools.org and download the MFSTools iso to make a bootable CD. There is a tool on there called dd which should let you clone the drive. Having said that, why not just upgrade to at least a 1TB drive, then you won't need the external one. That external drive will fail eventually, and cause you to lose your recordings. As the prior poster said, you should transfer the programs to your PC while you can using the free SW.
Better yet go to mfslive.org and get the zip of the .iso for the MFS Live cd v1.4 and use

dd_rescue

off of it.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 11:25 AM   #7
buffalomitch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4
Yes, it is the Western Digital external drive...
buffalomitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |