TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2012, 08:26 AM   #1
bygravey
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Tivo rather than extra V+ Box?

I have Tivo on my main tele and upstairs have subsrbed ot the package that gives you a sep box in another room but they have supplied the V+ Box with no pause or record facility. if I buy another Tivo box will it all work? (I have the full package)

Thanks
bygravey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:50 PM   #2
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,124
V+ is the Virgin box...

I think you rant this sub-forum:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...splay.php?f=69
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:32 AM   #3
bygravey
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks Bradleys - I am with Virgin Media in the UK so will post as you recommend. Yes I have a package that allows me to watch TV seperate to the main box as well as use the catch up and on demand facility. So I'm thinking I should be able to plug in a Tivo Box rather than the limited V+ box.
bygravey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:47 AM   #4
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,124
I do not think so...

In order to use the connected features the TiVo needs to be registered and given a specific permission by TiVo. Even if you could subcribe and setup a retail TiVo at your location - I highly doubt that it would be able to see your V+ TiVo.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo

Last edited by bradleys : 05-07-2012 at 11:00 AM.
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:59 AM   #5
lrhorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Posts: 6,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhettf View Post
Could you spellcheck/grammar check? Unsure what your asking.
Have you looked in the mirror, Mr. Kettle?
lrhorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:54 PM   #6
rhettf
R3T1CAL
 
rhettf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhorer View Post
Have you looked in the mirror, Mr. Kettle?
He edited the post after I said that. The post was not clear to me and his edit made it very clear. I removed my post now since by his edit my comment became irrelevant.

Thanks for the revised post, I have definitely done the same thing myself but its cool, we humans make mistakes

Thanks for letting me know he edited his comment - even if it was in a smart ass way
__________________
Tivo Roamio Pro + 1TB Expansion + Slingbox.
TiVo iPad & iPhone App.
Tivo Mini

Last edited by rhettf : 05-07-2012 at 01:00 PM.
rhettf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |