TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2006, 05:48 PM   #1
rlinsurf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 39
How to format a Tivo Drive for Computer use

I just replaced an older Tivo unit and removed the HD. I'd like to use it in an older computer I have as an additional drive. Does anyone know how to format the drive for use in a PC?

Thanks

All My Best,
Jeffrey
rlinsurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 05:53 PM   #2
GusMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 286
I deleted any partions, recreated a new partition, and formatted it. No probs.
GusMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 05:54 PM   #3
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,826
in XP,
right click my computer, choose manage
go to the HD volumes section (I forget what it's called) delete non dos partitions create new partitions format
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 06:14 PM   #4
rlinsurf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 39
Will this work if I use the drive in an ext. firewire enclosure as opposed to actually adding it as an additional drive? I'd like to avoid the hassle, frankly.

All My Best,
Jeffrey

Last edited by rlinsurf : 02-24-2006 at 07:43 PM.
rlinsurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 06:19 PM   #5
Gunnyman
Super FunBall
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 29,826
yes
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 07:04 PM   #6
rlinsurf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 39
Cool... Thanks

I'll let you know how it goes...

All My Best,
Jeffrey
rlinsurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 10:02 AM   #7
Test
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,444
Thread bump!

Have things changed? I'm trying to do this with a drive from an S3 and it just wont show up as an available drive after running through the format.
__________________
.
Test is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:02 AM   #8
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test View Post
Thread bump!

Have things changed? I'm trying to do this with a drive from an S3 and it just wont show up as an available drive after running through the format.
I would recommend keeping the drive just as it was when you removed it from the TiVo and putting it away as a TiVo spare and diagnostic tool, but if your computer itself can't see it, not the operating system on the computer, but the computer itself, then the problem is not because the drive has TiVo partitions on it.

How is the drive connected to the computer?

Is it detected by the BIOS when the computer boots?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:22 PM   #9
Test
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I would recommend keeping the drive just as it was when you removed it from the TiVo and putting it away as a TiVo spare and diagnostic tool, but if your computer itself can't see it, not the operating system on the computer, but the computer itself, then the problem is not because the drive has TiVo partitions on it.

How is the drive connected to the computer?

Is it detected by the BIOS when the computer boots?
I can't use it as a spare tivo drive now, already formatted it . I don't have another S3 to put it in anyway. I can't see it when I'm in "my computer", but it is visible in disk management.

I put it in a USB enclosure.
__________________
.
Test is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:16 PM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test View Post
I can't use it as a spare tivo drive now, already formatted it . I don't have another S3 to put it in anyway. I can't see it when I'm in "my computer", but it is visible in disk management.

I put it in a USB enclosure.
What exactly do you mean by format? Because I'm not sure we're talking about the same thing.

If you're connecting it via USB, then the motherboard may well not see it as a hard drive, just as some USB attached storage, and maybe not even that.

Connected via USB, you may only be able to get to it via your operating system.

If it's visible in disk management, does disk management say if it has any partitions on it?

If not, what happens when you try to get it to put a partition on it?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:29 PM   #11
Soapm
Registered User
 
Soapm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So close, yet too far away
Posts: 1,477
You have to right click on it in disk manager and select the option that appears. I forget what it says. Windows can't read the disc is all. No big deal.
Soapm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:47 PM   #12
lillevig
Hot in West Texas
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 1,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test View Post
I can't use it as a spare tivo drive now, already formatted it . I don't have another S3 to put it in anyway. I can't see it when I'm in "my computer", but it is visible in disk management.

I put it in a USB enclosure.
If Disk Management can see it then it sounds like the USB connection is good. Did you right click and mark the partition as active? What does Disk Management show for the drive? Did you assign a drive letter? Lot's of possible reasons why Windows can't see it in My Computer.
__________________
"I'm just one story in a two story town." Bon Jovi
lillevig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |