TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2012, 10:57 AM   #1
JoeG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Only 7 days of guide data

Until a few weeks ago, my Series 1 always got 12 days of guide data (plus 2 days of past data). Now it gets only 7. Has anyone else experienced the same change, or have an explanation?
JoeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 11:37 AM   #2
CuriousMark
Forum Denizen
 
CuriousMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,537
I am seeing something similar on a Humax DRT-800 which is a series 2. I am using it with DirecTV, are you also on satellite?

EDIT - This is a stand-alone standard definition single tuner TiVo getting its signal from a DirecTV satellite receiver box (similar to a cable box, but satellite).

Last edited by CuriousMark : 03-16-2012 at 01:48 PM.
CuriousMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 11:58 AM   #3
JoeG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
My Tivo is a Philips HDR312 Series 1 stand-alone, not a DirectTV unit.
JoeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 12:37 PM   #4
bryan4980
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 31
I have a premier and I am seeing the same. I get cable from comcast.
bryan4980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:49 PM   #5
CuriousMark
Forum Denizen
 
CuriousMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG View Post
My Tivo is a Philips HDR312 Series 1 stand-alone, not a DirectTV unit.
I edited my post to be more clear. I understand that we are not discussing DirecTV DVRs with TiVo service. Guide data is dependent on the signal source and if cable, the location. If we are to attempt to find a common cause, that is information that we need to share.
CuriousMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:54 PM   #6
CuriousMark
Forum Denizen
 
CuriousMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryan4980 View Post
I have a premier and I am seeing the same. I get cable from comcast.
Ok, we can rule out satellite based guide data and rule out that it is strictly limited to SD boxes. So now we are narrowed to the TiVo Service or their guide data provider Tribune Media Services.
CuriousMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:53 PM   #7
taronga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 228
My S2DT was doing the same last week. It was set up for analog cable + Dish Network. I redid guided setup, removing satellite, and I get the full 13ish days again.

Incidentally, I never had Dish. It was a bit of a hack in order to record OTA through a converter box, but it was more trouble than it was worth.
taronga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:09 PM   #8
nmiller855
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: East of Houston, Texas, USA
Posts: 5,300
Have y'all tried unplugging it & waiting a couple of minutes before plugging it back in? That usually works for me. It will take a few hours to refill the guide.
nmiller855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 05:41 PM   #9
JoeG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Mine is configured for "cable and satellite" so that I can receive both Comcast cable (s-video) and local OTA from my OTA receiver (coaxial). The Tivo thinks the satellite is "Sky Angel USA National", which was a random pick on my part. It has been configured that way for almost a year.
__________________
JoeG
Registered: Apr 2001
From: Maryland
Tivo user since 1999.
JoeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:11 AM   #10
medley32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 18
Only have 7 myself. Thought it was an issue with my box, but sounds like it could be a network wide problem. Just noticed the issue today when I got the "only 7 days of guide data" warning. Turns out I had made a successful daily call yesterday. So not sure what's going on. Are all series one stand alones having this problem?
__________________
Philips 312 - 128 hours
Philips DSR6000 - 95 hours
medley32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 02:36 PM   #11
JoeG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
I received a reply from Tivo customer service:

Quote:
3/17/2012 09:10 AM
Thank you for contacting Tivo Customer Support. We're here to help! We definitely apologize for the troubles you've had with downloading enough program information on your Tivo box. I'm sure these error messages have been frustrating for you. Lineups for DirecTV and Dish Network have been reduced from two weeks to 8-9 days of Program Guide Data. This was done to resolve Series 1 and Series 2 boxes using these lineups from experiencing loading errors during the connection. We had to make this change so the boxes can continue to successfully connect to the service. Due to the size of DirecTV and Dish lineups, if left at two weeks, it may have prevented the box from loading any Program Guide Data, and we were already seeing this happening on some boxes.

However, we've had many reports of customers receiving this warning message after the change and are actively working to correct this constant reminder that you have less program information. I have added your boxes to the list of affected unit. Rest assured we will have this fixed for you soon. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. Thank you for choosing Tivo and have a great day!
The fact that I am configured for Cable And Satellite so that I can have a second input active for my OTA box is probably why this is affecting me. I will send them another question asking if there is an alternative since I am not really using satellite.
JoeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 06:14 PM   #12
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG View Post
I received a reply from Tivo customer service:



The fact that I am configured for Cable And Satellite so that I can have a second input active for my OTA box is probably why this is affecting me. I will send them another question asking if there is an alternative since I am not really using satellite.
If TiVo had any sense they'd arrange to have a forum here where only they could post (it would be read-only for the rest of us), and they'd use it to post stuff like that in a timely manner so people coming here looking for answers would trip over it first thing.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:21 AM   #13
DreamRycher
Registered User
 
DreamRycher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Thumbs down Arrrgh!

I have a Series 2 RS-TX20 connected to DirecTV and started getting the same message last week.

Man, I wish I had found this out sooner. I spent most of the day yesterday running through guided setup and Clear Program Information & To Do List with no success. Now I have to rebuild my Season Passes!!!
DreamRycher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:12 PM   #14
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,823
I can confirm that some Series 2 boxes had issues loading all the guide data for Dishnetwork as I have one. My Humax Series 2 isn't used anymore but I plug it in every few months to keep it on my account as it is the only TiVo I paid full price for lifetime and I believe the only TiVo that would qualify me for a MSD in the future. Anyway the unit was used for OTA and a dish STP and when I do plug it it fails loading the guide data pretty much 100% of the time I have it plugged in. It does partial loads and I would see a few days of guide data with error messages. I really don't care and just pulled the plug again after a few days but if I were actually trying to use it I would certainly prefer 7-9 days of guide data to how my Series 2 is working.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 04:37 PM   #15
Chester_Lampwick
Registered User
 
Chester_Lampwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,291
Yeah I'm having this issue with my DRT800 and my Canadian satellite lineup (Shaw Direct). Maybe I'll just ignore these messages.
__________________
DRT800 300GB Lifetime Subbed
DRT800 250GB Monthly
Chester_Lampwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 08:19 PM   #16
ronsch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tallahassee, FL, USA
Posts: 1,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG View Post

I received a reply from Tivo customer service:

Quote:
3/17/2012 09:10 AM
Thank you for contacting Tivo Customer Support. We're here to help! We definitely apologize for the troubles you've had with downloading enough program information on your Tivo box. I'm sure these error messages have been frustrating for you. Lineups for DirecTV and Dish Network have been reduced from two weeks to 8-9 days of Program Guide Data. This was done to resolve Series 1 and Series 2 boxes using these lineups from experiencing loading errors during the connection. We had to make this change so the boxes can continue to successfully connect to the service. Due to the size of DirecTV and Dish lineups, if left at two weeks, it may have prevented the box from loading any Program Guide Data, and we were already seeing this happening on some boxes.

However, we've had many reports of customers receiving this warning message after the change and are actively working to correct this constant reminder that you have less program information. I have added your boxes to the list of affected unit. Rest assured we will have this fixed for you soon. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. Thank you for choosing Tivo and have a great day!
The fact that I am configured for Cable And Satellite so that I can have a second input active for my OTA box is probably why this is affecting me. I will send them another question asking if there is an alternative since I am not really using satellite.

The fact that I am configured for Cable And Satellite so that I can have a second input active for my OTA box is probably why this is affecting me. I will send them another question asking if there is an alternative since I am not really using satellite.
Joe - First, thanks for contacting Customer Service for the rest of us!

Second - That reply from TiVo makes a lot of sense. Remember I had mentioned I had been having lots of trouble getting my HDR312 to make a successfull call in the other thread? It was constantly failing with Error Loading Series messages. I do have a combination of DirecTV and basic cable on that TiVo. Since the guide data reduction I don't think I've had a single failed call.

My Series 2 that still has a full complement of guide data is Basic Cable only.
__________________
Celebrating twelve years on the TiVo Forum
dd_rescue evangelist & scuba diver
ronsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 08:58 PM   #17
bryan4980
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 31
Emailed Tivo on 03-17-12

This is the response I got:


Thank you for contacting TiVo Customer Support. I would be glad to help you with your inquiries. I do apologize that you are not receiving all of your guide information. What I would recommend is repeating the Guided Setup on your TiVo boxes. That will reconfigure your lineup and download a fresh installation of guide information. If that does not resolve your issue, please contact us back, so we can further troubleshoot your issue. If you have any more questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us back. I would like to thank you for being a TiVo customer and have a great day!

Here is a link on how to repeat the Guided Setup:
Answer Title: How do I repeat Guided Setup?


I figured yeah right that isn't going to work but tried it any, and it actually did work. I am getting today plus 13 days of guide data.
bryan4980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 09:17 PM   #18
JoeG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryan4980 View Post

I figured yeah right that isn't going to work but tried it any, and it actually did work. I am getting today plus 13 days of guide data.
Bryan4980, did you select Cable And Satellite or just Cable? If it is just Cable, it won't have the problem. I'm curious to see if you did Cable And Satellite and got it to start giving full guide data again after repeating Guided Setup. My current situation is that, because I am configured for Cable And Satellite, the guide data is reduced to 7 days for both the satellite lineup and the cable lineup.
JoeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 09:30 PM   #19
JoeG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by taronga View Post
My S2DT was doing the same last week. It was set up for analog cable + Dish Network. I redid guided setup, removing satellite, and I get the full 13ish days again.

Incidentally, I never had Dish. It was a bit of a hack in order to record OTA through a converter box, but it was more trouble than it was worth.
BTW, this is how Tivo customer support reacts when you tell them you are using Cable And Satellite to activate the second input:

Quote:
Regrettably, you have your Tivo box configured in an unsupported manner and we cannot provide assistance in using your Tivo box this way. If you don't have satellite, you should not select satellite as your provider. We recommend repeating the Guided Setup and configuring your box for cable.
Not very friendly. It isn't even a hack.
JoeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:34 AM   #20
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG View Post
BTW, this is how Tivo customer support reacts when you tell them you are using Cable And Satellite to activate the second input:



Not very friendly. It isn't even a hack.
I told them several years ago they should create a fake satellite company that only has one or two channels, zero and one, to make it easy to activate the line ins without having to rewrite the OS.

Naturally they ignored me.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:28 AM   #21
bryan4980
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG View Post
Bryan4980, did you select Cable And Satellite or just Cable? If it is just Cable, it won't have the problem. I'm curious to see if you did Cable And Satellite and got it to start giving full guide data again after repeating Guided Setup. My current situation is that, because I am configured for Cable And Satellite, the guide data is reduced to 7 days for both the satellite lineup and the cable lineup.
I selected just cable, I get cable from Comcast. Before I was getting about 9 days worth of data.
bryan4980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 02:25 AM   #22
myxpykalix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: hammond, ind, usa
Posts: 50
I went thru 2-3 phone calls and emails from Tivo and did all the things you all have done Restart, Repeat guided Setup, ect only to finally pin down a tier 2 technician who told me that the satellite providers are no longer providing 2 weeks of program info. He told me i should get 2 weeks of cable info if i only had cable and not also direct tv.

He also told me that Tivo itself does not assemble he program data itself but buys it from a 3rd party. I have been paying for 2 units for over 12 years now (I know i should have bought a couple lifetimes back then) which provided me with 2 weeks of programming so I asked, now that it is down to one week I am getting half of what i was getting before are you going to cut my bill in half?
You can guess the answer to that one.

I'm going to go check on cost of comcast with equivilent programming and reluctantly going to DUMP Tivo and DirectTV. I waited for several years for the directtv tivo only to realize to have it, it would cost an additional 17.00 so they are just pricing themselves out of the market, no wonder tivo has lost more then 1 million subscribers...make it 1 million and 1
myxpykalix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 04:00 AM   #23
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by myxpykalix View Post
I went thru 2-3 phone calls and emails from Tivo and did all the things you all have done Restart, Repeat guided Setup, ect only to finally pin down a tier 2 technician who told me that the satellite providers are no longer providing 2 weeks of program info. He told me i should get 2 weeks of cable info if i only had cable and not also direct tv.

He also told me that Tivo itself does not assemble he program data itself but buys it from a 3rd party. I have been paying for 2 units for over 12 years now (I know i should have bought a couple lifetimes back then) which provided me with 2 weeks of programming so I asked, now that it is down to one week I am getting half of what i was getting before are you going to cut my bill in half?
You can guess the answer to that one.
It's true that they buy the data from a 3rd party, which is Tribune Media Services (the same company that runs the zap2it website). The rest of it is ignorance or outright lies.

TiVo made the decision to limit the guide data, not TMS or the satellite companies. I'm on DirecTV and my TiVos only have 7 days of data, but zap2it still has 14 days.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:59 AM   #24
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG View Post
I received a reply from Tivo customer service:



The fact that I am configured for Cable And Satellite so that I can have a second input active for my OTA box is probably why this is affecting me. I will send them another question asking if there is an alternative since I am not really using satellite.
It looks like they have decided to do something about the S03 error (not very many folks) and have caused another one to show for everyone.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 09:07 PM   #25
myxpykalix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: hammond, ind, usa
Posts: 50
[quote=ggieseke;9009917]It's true that they buy the data from a 3rd party, which is Tribune Media Services (the same company that runs the zap2it website). The rest of it is ignorance or outright lies.

I'm not interested in getting into a "pissing contest" with you ggieseke but i am repeating what I was told and what difference does it make whether they are only provided one week of programming, or Tivo decides to only provide one week of programming, the net result is we are getting HALF of what we have been paying for.

To me it's just like going to the grocery store, bringing up a loaf of bread to the counter, they open it up take half the loaf out and charge you for the full loaf, I don't see a difference.

So i don't know where your comment of "ignorance or outright lies" comes from? The net results are the same, we get half what we were getting before!
myxpykalix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 05:57 AM   #26
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,994
myxpykalix,

That comment was directed at TiVo, not you. Their customer support tech should NOT have told you that. The answer that JoeG received from CS is polite, accurate, and a good example of how all of their techs should be trained.

I have also posted my disappointment in the answer you were given in the private "All-Stars" forum at TiVo. It probably won't do any good, but at least they read my post.

BTW, the 7-day issue is affecting all four of my TiVos. I don't like it either but as long as they're transparent about what they're doing, why they did it, and what they're doing to fix it I can live with it for now.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:34 AM   #27
tivohaydon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggieseke View Post
BTW, the 7-day issue is affecting all four of my TiVos. I don't like it either but as long as they're transparent about what they're doing, why they did it, and what they're doing to fix it I can live with it for now.
What are they doing to fix the 7 days of guide data? I didn't read anything?

It's a shame they've cut back on the guide data. Shortening the window to schedule shows is a bummer. I know I've missed programs because I had to remember to program them when inside the two week window. This makes it much more likely that people will miss programming.

Recording programming is TiVo's core feature. A core feature is being compromised.

If they need more space on a reserved area I'd suggest they toss some of the advertising overboard.
tivohaydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 08:10 AM   #28
csites
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeG View Post
I received a reply from Tivo customer service:



The fact that I am configured for Cable And Satellite so that I can have a second input active for my OTA box is probably why this is affecting me. I will send them another question asking if there is an alternative since I am not really using satellite.
JoeG, I also configured Satellite (Dish) solely to be able to use the 2nd input. And so I have the limited guide data problem on my Series2 too. Please let me know if you find a solution.

I don't have Dish, but I use the Dish guide data because Dish carries the channel (CCTV4) that I receive via free OTA satellite.

My primary connection is free OTA antenna. Both primary and secondary are being limited to around 7 days, despite successful daily connections.
csites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:27 AM   #29
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivohaydon View Post
What are they doing to fix the 7 days of guide data? I didn't read anything?

It's a shame they've cut back on the guide data. Shortening the window to schedule shows is a bummer. I know I've missed programs because I had to remember to program them when inside the two week window. This makes it much more likely that people will miss programming.

Recording programming is TiVo's core feature. A core feature is being compromised.

If they need more space on a reserved area I'd suggest they toss some of the advertising overboard.
I think part of the proiblem may be the considerable increase in the number of channels since the early units were designed, which has them struggling with a much larger database than was expected.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 05:38 AM   #30
ggieseke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,994
This announcement is now on TiVo's site.

http://forums.tivo.com/pe/index.jsp

TiVo Series2 boxes connected to satellite are currently only receiving 7 days-worth of Program Guide Data after connecting to the TiVo service. A solution has been devised and will roll-out to Series2 boxes by Wednesday, April 11. Thank you for your patience.
ggieseke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |