TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2012, 07:11 PM   #1
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,248
TiVo Premiere Elite becomes TiVo Premiere XL4 on Sunday



http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2012-04/...-premiere-xl4/
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:18 PM   #2
GoEagles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
I hated that ugly brown box, but Premiere XL 4 sounds odd to me.
GoEagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:35 PM   #3
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,314
I donít like the name change and think this was a bad idea, and confusing for the product. Is the model# staying the same? TCD758250

So was the price drop to $399.99 just to get rid of Elite stock and now the XL4 will be $499.99 again?

Any idea if a hardware modification was also made?
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.0601

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:36 PM   #4
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
Is the model# staying the same? TCD758250

So was the price drop to $399.99 just to get rid of Elite stock and now the XL4 will be $499.99 again?

Any idea if a hardware modification was also made?
Not sure on model number, but Iím not aware of any hardware or pricing changes.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:47 PM   #5
Bighouse
200 Club Member
 
Bighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Guerneville, CA
Posts: 743
Oh no! I bought my Elite just a couple weeks ago. I wonder if there is anything other than just a badge change? If they upgraded the hardware I will be seriously tempted to use my one month returnable policy at bestbuy if there is!
__________________
Series 1, 2, 3 & 4 Elite & Roamio Pro - Comcast
Bighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:35 PM   #6
danjw1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bighouse View Post
Oh no! I bought my Elite just a couple weeks ago. I wonder if there is anything other than just a badge change? If they upgraded the hardware I will be seriously tempted to use my one month returnable policy at bestbuy if there is!
It can connect to an antenna, rather then just cable.
__________________
Dan
Tivo HD (activated on Comcast)
danjw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:02 PM   #7
ltxi
Registered User
 
ltxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 349
PXL4 as a name makes more sense to me than Premiere Elite
ltxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:06 PM   #8
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by danjw1 View Post
It can connect to an antenna, rather then just cable.
No.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:36 PM   #9
nrc
Cracker Soul
 
nrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Living in a four letter world.
Posts: 2,419
I wonder if Pioneer objected to use of their Elite trademark.
__________________

Not entirely square
nrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:58 PM   #10
SullyND
W:29-16
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,461
As part of a whole home solution an XL4 and XL6 makes sense.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:00 PM   #11
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND View Post
As part of a whole home solution an XL4 and XL6 makes sense.
Hint, hint...
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (for sale)
TiVo HD (for sale)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:13 PM   #12
g_stewart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
With this new consistent branding, the (slow) migration to all HD menus, the new Netflix app, multi-room streaming, the new IP transcoder coming later in the year....

TiVo are making a lot of impressive business moves right now. Great to see, now they need just one killer add-on, or app, and we'll start seeing some serious consumer traction/ pick-up!

Anyone else feel this way?
g_stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:18 PM   #13
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoxInPHX View Post
I donít like the name change and think this was a bad idea, and confusing for the product.
It's a smart move imho. Consistent branding is a good thing. It doesn't seem confusing as I doubt very few people even knew the Elite exists (it was barely found in Best Buy).
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:02 PM   #14
djwilso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 575
I also don't like the new name. But then I couldn't have come up with anything better...

I hope it is a good change for TiVo. Wouldn't mind seeing a well-done TV commercial from them to get the word out about it.
__________________
Philips Series 1 HDR212, Nov 2001, never activated (retired)
Original OLED Series 3 (Lifetime) - Nov 2006, upgraded to 1TB in 2009
Premiere Elite/XL4 (Lifetime) - Oct 2011
djwilso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:47 PM   #15
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,398
For the long term, I guess a consistent naming scheme is always better. An XL, XL4 and XL6* would be cleaner, especially in a growing family of solutions.

An "XL4" doesn't have the same panache as an "Elite", but the Elite won't be, well, elite, forever.

All told, look at the brands they'd juggle... Premiere, Preview, Q, Elite, the transcoder, the IP box, etc... This can be simplified.


* I know nothing of an XL6, I just think it will happen sometime in the next year and a half.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 04-21-2012 at 12:02 AM.
BigJimOutlaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:11 AM   #16
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltxi View Post
PXL4 as a name makes more sense to me than Premiere Elite
But then it sounds like a Premiere XL, but it isn't like a Premiere XL since it can't do OTA.

And the box, well it's just a box. I don't care what's on the box. It's what is inside of it that matters. My TiVo boxes go into storage anyway so it's not like I'm going to be looking at the box every day.

Will ELite's become collectors items now? I hope I don't have any difficulty selling one of my Elites when the XL6 comes out later so I can upgrade.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:26 AM   #17
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 4,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
But then it sounds like a Premiere XL, but it isn't like a Premiere XL since it can't do OTA.

And the box, well it's just a box. I don't care what's on the box. It's what is inside of it that matters. My TiVo boxes go into storage anyway so it's not like I'm going to be looking at the box every day.

Will ELite's become collectors items now? I hope I don't have any difficulty selling one of my Elites when the XL6 comes out later so I can upgrade.
I don't think this is a good product name at all, as you point out, it sounds like the Premiere XL with 4 tuners which it isn't. A name that distinguishes it from the Premiere and Premiere XL would make more sense to me, don't use Premiere at all, but whatever market exists for the product can figure it all out easily enough so it isn't a big issue.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:38 AM   #18
magnus
Tivo User
 
magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,466
I think the name might be a bit confusing because it's not really a Premiere with 4 tuners. Somehow in the product name they should have a C (for cable card only). They should also have it clearly marked on the top of the box that this box will only work with cable card.

I think the new name scheme makes more sense but they really have to make sure that these are clearly marked that they won't do OTA.
magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 05:59 PM   #19
Series3Sub
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 594
Yes, a Premiere XL4 DC (for Digital Cable--yes, FiOS, as well). Or even DCF for Digital Cable FiOS. There really should be some indication in the model number or name that makes it clear this box is ONLY for DC or VF.
Series3Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 07:19 PM   #20
oViTynoT
Obvious Forum Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 341
One hopes they don't go the way of Western Digital...

ALL of their 2009 or later media players are named the "WDTV Live."

Two of them have the same exact name; just a different "By-line"

WDTV Live / HD Media Player (cca 2009)
WDTV Live / Streaming Media Player (2011)
oViTynoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 12:16 AM   #21
Thinkdiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 56
Glad I bought my Elite when I did. I wonder if the new TiVo says "XL4" on the front panel instead of "Elite". I wouldn't have liked that.
Thinkdiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:10 AM   #22
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thinkdiff View Post
I wonder if the new TiVo says "XL4" on the front panel instead of "Elite".
It does.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:06 AM   #23
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,820
No sign of the XL4 on TiVo.com or Bestbuy.com. Monday release?
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:11 AM   #24
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbiller View Post
No sign of the XL4 on TiVo.com or Bestbuy.com. Monday release?
I get the sense, it's a slow, soft transition beginning today. If I'm near a Best Buy, I'll see if the new boxes are there. Although I've got more interesting Costco errands today.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 08:45 AM   #25
compnurd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
I get the sense, it's a slow, soft transition beginning today. If I'm near a Best Buy, I'll see if the new boxes are there. Although I've got more interesting Costco errands today.
Costco is never fun on a Sunday but certainly interesting!!!
compnurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 02:37 PM   #26
danjw1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 291
It is still listed as the Elite on Tivo's Website and just the regular XL is shown.
__________________
Dan
Tivo HD (activated on Comcast)
danjw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 02:50 PM   #27
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,411
There was nothing at the BestBuy I was at this morning. At least not out for the customers to see.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 03:56 PM   #28
GoEagles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
You probably would have better luck with Best Buy locations that have a Magnolia in it.
GoEagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:28 PM   #29
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,248
TiVo's website has been updated:
http://www.tivo.com/products/tivo-pr...xl4/index.html
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:50 PM   #30
danjw1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by davezatz View Post
It says that it doesn't support ATSC. So how is the XL4 different then the Elite?
__________________
Dan
Tivo HD (activated on Comcast)
danjw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoģ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |