TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2012, 09:55 AM   #1
Richard A
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 27
Just received 20.2.0a

My Premiere was pending restart this morning, after the restart I went from 20.2-01 to 20.2.0a.

Haven't noticed anything different yet.
Richard A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:23 AM   #2
socrplyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,006
Do you have Comcast? Possibly enabling (or setting it up to enable) VOD access?

This is pure speculation of course.

Edit:
Actually, that is exactly what it is:
https://twitter.com/#!/tivodesign/st...84033698324481

Last edited by socrplyr : 04-05-2012 at 10:33 AM.
socrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:35 AM   #3
Richard A
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by socrplyr View Post
Do you have Comcast? Possibly enabling (or setting it up to enable) VOD access?

This is pure speculation of course.
Yes I have Comcast, I am also in the SF Bay Area, but not seeing anything anywhere referencing Comcast on any of the screens.

Maybe something has to be enabled on TiVo's side before I can see anything, don't know. Would think there would be something with Comcast somewhere first.

Did notice there is an option to log into YouTube, but don't remember if that was there before or not.
Richard A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:56 AM   #4
mazman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 145
Also in the Bay Area with Comcast and was upgraded to 20.2.0a this morning.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Premiere Elite
TiVo Mini (2)
mazman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:07 AM   #5
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,339
Does this update seem to be specific only to the Bay Area? I'm about 4 hours East of you in Northern Nevada and have Charter cable, so I don't know if anything in the update applies here.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:42 AM   #6
logicman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard A View Post
Yes I have Comcast, I am also in the SF Bay Area, but not seeing anything anywhere referencing Comcast on any of the screens.

Maybe something has to be enabled on TiVo's side before I can see anything, don't know. Would think there would be something with Comcast somewhere first.

Did notice there is an option to log into YouTube, but don't remember if that was there before or not.
TiVo Margret's Tweet referenced in a previous post implies that it is a 2 step process:

The San Francisco Bay Area will receive a minor update this week so that Comcast Xfinity On Demand can be turned on this month.
__________________
Premiere Elite
HD S3 with DIY 750 GB external expander
Comcast
logicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:46 AM   #7
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 3,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkster View Post
Does this update seem to be specific only to the Bay Area? I'm about 4 hours East of you in Northern Nevada and have Charter cable, so I don't know if anything in the update applies here.
Follow link to tweet in post 2. This is specific to Bay Area and Comcast cable.
__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:11 PM   #8
TZR916
Registered User
 
TZR916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 97
Did you try tuning to channel 1 ?
TZR916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:36 PM   #9
logicman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by TZR916 View Post
Did you try tuning to channel 1 ?
Once activated, On Demand will show up in Find TV, Movies & Videos just like You Tube, Netflix, etc.

Xfinity On Demand
__________________
Premiere Elite
HD S3 with DIY 750 GB external expander
Comcast

Last edited by logicman : 04-05-2012 at 02:39 PM.
logicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:58 PM   #10
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by TZR916 View Post
Did you try tuning to channel 1 ?
It will be like an app and be integrated into Search from what we have seen so far. So it will not be the exact same experience as using a comcast box.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 05:22 PM   #11
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
Follow link to tweet in post 2. This is specific to Bay Area and Comcast cable.
Thanks! Sorry about that - I didn't catch the link. Since I don't tweet I probably just glazed over some of that.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 06:56 PM   #12
JulienPDX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 26
I hope its not the same experience as the box; currently--I've been hearing from my cable box friends that Comcast disabled the ability to Fast Forward in ON DEMAND!!! If they do that here in Portland, it will cause a huge uproar. As it is now, Portland users can FINALLY (as of this month) access VOD with an iPad and no longer HAVE to have a cable box to do it.
JulienPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:25 PM   #13
mattack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sunnyvale
Posts: 16,496
Is *any* On Demand content without commercials? (and unedited)?

i.e. I believe reruns of this week's programming has commercials in it. (Even though I obviously have a TiVo, there are still tuner conflicts/sometimes clipped ends of recordings.)
mattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:42 PM   #14
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Is *any* On Demand content without commercials? (and unedited)?

i.e. I believe reruns of this week's programming has commercials in it. (Even though I obviously have a TiVo, there are still tuner conflicts/sometimes clipped ends of recordings.)
seeing as how i went from analog cable years back to directv and then only got cable again for the S3 and now premiers I've never used VOD. But my understanding is that they have the hbo, showtime, etc on there also. My comcast apparently has all sorts of crap like real estate on demand, job listings on demand, used cars.... etc. There's also things like Howard Stern on demand (for i think $10 a month). Probably porn on demand. So there's potentially a lot more to it then just reruns of the broadcast networks.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:14 PM   #15
crxssi
Veteran TiVo User
 
crxssi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattack View Post
Is *any* On Demand content without commercials? (and unedited)?
Welcome to the wonderful new world of streaming video providers, where they have even more control over what and the way you watch TV...
__________________
Series 1-> Series 2-> DirecTiVo HD-> TiVo HD-> Premiere -> Roamio Pro
crxssi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:22 AM   #16
GBK33
Registered User
 
GBK33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 45
This is NOT specific to west coat/bay area. I'm in Columbus, OH and got the update yesterday. I notice nothing new. I'm on Time Warner
GBK33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 09:13 AM   #17
bananaman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 114
20.2.0a here. Appears not specific to Comcast, not specific to the Bay Area, but I did register for the early update.
bananaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 09:34 AM   #18
BlackBetty
I <3 TiVo!
 
BlackBetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,391
Maybe this is signs that TiVo/Comcast will be pushing this out beyond San Fran area in a reasonable time line.
BlackBetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 09:50 AM   #19
mm2margaret
Meagan
 
mm2margaret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: northern california
Posts: 294
Anyone notice more instability with this update? My Premiere has frozen and rebooted twice since receiving the update.
__________________
Meagan
mm2margaret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 01:07 PM   #20
rhettf
R3T1CAL
 
rhettf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 175
I believe everyone gets the update and then bay areas comcast will send a single only out on the network thats ready for it.

Its still not clear how exactly the xfinity ondemand will work:

1: It will work just like the Xfinity App on Xbox 360 but reports form the xbox 360 users is the IP OnDemand quality is really bad.

2: The xfinity app use the internet to send the request to comcast to send X show to you via QAM Channel X. This is how the motorola boxes use ondemand but the request single is not sent over the internet. If you have a regular cable box you can start a ondemand show and then manually type in a QAM channel in your tivo and the show will be there - in the bay area they usually send the show via one of three ondemand QAM Channels I recall 72.2 or something.

By giving the update to everyone it means that if you just need to be on a comcast network that supports ondemand request via the internet for example.

Tivo would be crazy to try to only have the update in the bay area, unnecessarily separating a group of boxes from the regular updates
rhettf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 01:59 PM   #21
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhettf View Post
Tivo would be crazy to try to only have the update in the bay area, unnecessarily separating a group of boxes from the regular updates
On the contrary, TiVo would be crazy to send out this update to everyone when it hasn't been fully tested.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 04:35 PM   #22
rhettf
R3T1CAL
 
rhettf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
On the contrary, TiVo would be crazy to send out this update to everyone when it hasn't been fully tested.

How do you now it hasn't been tested fully? what do you consider tested fully? if you want to help test why do you sign up for the field trial program?

Also I believe the update included general maintenance not just enabling on demand - things feel snappier.
rhettf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 04:46 PM   #23
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,349
Electronic placebo effect?

This is NOT the spring update that is supposed to bring more tivo nirvana, this was just for the comcast rollout. Though I suppose they could have bundled in something to fix some easy to address bugs, that does not seem to be the intent of this update.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 05:13 PM   #24
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,314
This update may "fix" the MPEG4 (H.264) authorization issue also, I was told by Cox and Margret this update would be out after March 31st. As soon as I get it I will let you know.
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.2, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.1601, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.0601

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:09 PM   #25
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhettf View Post
How do you now it hasn't been tested fully? what do you consider tested fully? if you want to help test why do you sign up for the field trial program?

Also I believe the update included general maintenance not just enabling on demand - things feel snappier.
Oh, things feel snappier. Pardon me all to hell. I didn't realize you were such a technical expert. Based on the fact that the version is just 20.2a, I doubt if it includes any general fixes. Plus, when you are testing a major new function, you don't want other changes confusing the source of any problems that are encountered.

As far as whether or not it has been fully tested, since they quite obviously didn't fully test 20.2, I doubt if this has been either. Just exactly what do you think the purpose of a field trial is?

Could you correct the last question? The way it is currently written, it makes no sense.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:45 PM   #26
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,395
my new Elite just went from 14.9 to 20.2.0a
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x3
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 09:30 PM   #27
rhettf
R3T1CAL
 
rhettf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Oh, things feel snappier. Pardon me all to hell. I didn't realize you were such a technical expert. Based on the fact that the version is just 20.2a, I doubt if it includes any general fixes. Plus, when you are testing a major new function, you don't want other changes confusing the source of any problems that are encountered.

As far as whether or not it has been fully tested, since they quite obviously didn't fully test 20.2, I doubt if this has been either. Just exactly what do you think the purpose of a field trial is?

Could you correct the last question? The way it is currently written, it makes no sense.
Sorry I forgot the n't in the question.
Why don't you sign up for the field trials program and test the software for Tivo if you feel their testing is inadequate.

Why are you unsatisfied? If you really know about beta testing - which I assume you do since your criticizing Tivo testing process. Then you would know that even when you beta test it can't account for the differences in everyone TV provider and local network. So if you want to help TiVo go to fieldtrials.tivo.com and signup! How would you Fully test TiVo?
rhettf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 01:04 AM   #28
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhettf View Post
Sorry I forgot the n't in the question.
Why don't you sign up for the field trials program and test the software for Tivo if you feel their testing is inadequate.

Why are you unsatisfied? If you really know about beta testing - which I assume you do since your criticizing Tivo testing process. Then you would know that even when you beta test it can't account for the differences in everyone TV provider and local network. So if you want to help TiVo go to fieldtrials.tivo.com and signup! How would you Fully test TiVo?
The problems in 20.2 have absolutely nothing to do with variations in "TV provider and local network" and they are obvious enough that they should have been caught in unit testing and never even made it to the alpha test stage, much less beta test. Do you really think one more tester would have made a difference?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 09:29 AM   #29
rhettf
R3T1CAL
 
rhettf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
The problems in 20.2 have absolutely nothing to do with variations in "TV provider and local network" and they are obvious enough that they should have been caught in unit testing and never even made it to the alpha test stage, much less beta test. Do you really think one more tester would have made a difference?
Yes I do especially if your experiencing problem with your TiVo - Finding what makes you crash more vs me is what tivo needs to know.

I myself have had no major problems with either of my boxes on 20.2a, Elite with expansion and premiere with expansion. whats the version number after 20.2a your on btw?
rhettf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 12:58 PM   #30
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 4,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhettf View Post
Yes I do especially if your experiencing problem with your TiVo - Finding what makes you crash more vs me is what tivo needs to know.

I myself have had no major problems with either of my boxes on 20.2a, Elite with expansion and premiere with expansion. whats the version number after 20.2a your on btw?
I do not have 20.2a. The problems are with 20.2 and they are not causing reboots for me. If you bothered to actually read the 20.2 changelog thread, you would know what the problems are. And my problem with it is that if it was shipped with these obvious defects, what defects are there that we don't know about?

I would actually be more understanding if the defects were just those of the type you are talking about. Problems that only happen to certain users under conditions that cannot be easily reproduced are the most difficult to track down and the least likely to be caught in testing. I once put a mod into production that, under certain circumstances, put the system executive into an infinite loop (I literally left out one instruction - an increment of a B register).
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |