TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2012, 10:25 AM   #1
hmanson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Series3 won't recognize DVR Expander

I purchased a WD 1 TB My Book DVR Expander in December and have been trying periodically to hook it up ever since. Result is always the same, TiVo doesn't see the Expander at all. On the advice of Western Digital tech assistance I have run diagnostics on the Expander on my computer and it checks out as all OK. I have read online that some have had problems when there are other external devices connected to the TiVo and possibly that is the issue I'm having. I have cable with Cox in the greater New Orleans area and sometime back they required that I use a "Tuning Adapter" (TA) with my TiVo to get some of the channels. I tried connecting the Expander with the TA disconnected, plugged in but turned off and every combination I could think of, but always got the same result. TiVo just doesn't see the Expander. I have read that rebooting can cause problems with TiVo units and I am getting concerned since each attempt to connect the Expander requires a reboot. The only thing I have not tried is changing the Esata cable, but I am using the one that came with the Expander and I have no reason to think that there is anything wrong with it. Any suggestions as to what I can do/try? I am at a loss for how to proceed.
hmanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:43 AM   #2
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmanson View Post
Any suggestions as to what I can do/try?
Cable terminations are ALWAYS suspect; connect a known good Esata cable.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:52 AM   #3
hmanson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Had cable tested and they said one pin was bad. Got a new cable and will try out shortly. Sure hope this works. Thanks!
hmanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:24 PM   #4
hmanson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Well, at least it's different. This time it recognized the Expander but gave me an error message in the first step trying to set it up. Currently running TiVo diagnostics to test TiVo hard drive and expander. We'll see what happens.
hmanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:23 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmanson View Post
Had cable tested and they said one pin was bad. Got a new cable and will try out shortly. Sure hope this works. Thanks!
So the special "only one authorized by TiVo so WD can get away with charging a premium price for it" external drive came with a bad cable?

I would so be all over WD about this.

Did you buy it before or after hard drive prices shot up late last fall?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:26 PM   #6
hmanson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Went through diagnostics with no errors shown, although there were two columns in the diagnostics page showing as it went through the tests, one for primary and one for secondary and the secondary, which is what I would think the expander would be, said not available. That probably was not a good sign. There seemed to be no way out of the diagnostics other than reboot. I rebooted and it was back the same message as I was getting initially, no hard drive detected. So, went back to step one, powered down TiVo, powered down expander, unplugged all, then hooked up eSata, powered up expander, waited 15 sec, powered up TiVo and it's not recognizing the drive. Am I missing something? Any additional suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
hmanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:31 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmanson View Post
Went through diagnostics with no errors shown, although there were two columns in the diagnostics page showing as it went through the tests, one for primary and one for secondary and the secondary, which is what I would think the expander would be, said not available. That probably was not a good sign. There seemed to be no way out of the diagnostics other than reboot. I rebooted and it was back the same message as I was getting initially, no hard drive detected. So, went back to step one, powered down TiVo, powered down expander, unplugged all, then hooked up eSata, powered up expander, waited 15 sec, powered up TiVo and it's not recognizing the drive. Am I missing something? Any additional suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
You've had it less than a month, it came with a bad cable, and it won't work with your TiVo even though it's supposed to be specially designed to do just that.

Tell WD you want your money back, and let's talk about upgrading the internal drive instead.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 06:25 PM   #8
n8Leon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Western Digital - bad eSATA cable

My TiVo Series 3 HD would not recognize the WD My Book 1T drive using the included eSATA cable, following the recommended steps, after several hours of trying.
My PC saw it just fine using the USB interface.
I went to my local MicroCenter store and picked up a $10 eSATA cable, and it worked on the first try w/ the TiVo.
Very lame that WD supplied a useless cable, and wasted an afternoon of my life. I'll be sure to avoid WD product next time.

n8
n8Leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:13 PM   #9
SullyND
L: 28-31
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by n8Leon View Post
My TiVo Series 3 HD
When you say "Series 3 HD" do you mean a TiVo HD (Which is part of the Series 3 Family) or a "Series 3" which happens to be HD.

Only the Original Series 3 models supported non-TiVo blessed external hard drives.

This is the original Series 3 which is hard drive agnostic.



If your TiVo does not look like that you need to use a specific external drive.*

*There are hacks to allow non-blessed drives, but at that point you may as well replace the internal.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:19 PM   #10
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by SullyND View Post
When you say "Series 3 HD" do you mean a TiVo HD (Which is part of the Series 3 Family) or a "Series 3" which happens to be HD.

Only the Original Series 3 models supported non-TiVo blessed external hard drives.

This is the original Series 3 which is hard drive agnostic.



If your TiVo does not look like that you need to use a specific external drive.*

*There are hacks to allow non-blessed drives, but at that point you may as well replace the internal.
Sound to me like not only did he use the WD external with the TiVo logo on the box, the problem wasn't the drive, it was the cable.

Unless different eSATA data cables can cause drives to report different drive model numbers.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:45 PM   #11
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
So the special "only one authorized by TiVo so WD can get away with charging a premium price for it" external drive came with a bad cable?

I would so be all over WD about this.

Did you buy it before or after hard drive prices shot up late last fall?
Quote:
Originally Posted by n8Leon View Post
My TiVo Series 3 HD would not recognize the WD My Book 1T drive using the included eSATA cable, following the recommended steps, after several hours of trying.
My PC saw it just fine using the USB interface.
I went to my local MicroCenter store and picked up a $10 eSATA cable, and it worked on the first try w/ the TiVo.
Very lame that WD supplied a useless cable, and wasted an afternoon of my life. I'll be sure to avoid WD product next time.

n8
WD sucks and TiVo should be all over them. The esata cable that WD includes does NOT work with TiVo's. I tried to email tivo support to let them know but as expected the drone didn't read my friggin email and gave me a stupid canned reply.

Bottom line- there are 2 different types of esata cables- 2 different lengths.
The fine folks of tivocommunity discovered this YEARS ago when tivo first turned on external drive support on the original S3's. You need to find the cable with the LONGER connectors to make proper contact inside the tivo.

It's maddening that there are 2 different types to begin with but even more annoying that WD packages the short/wrong type in the official tivo sanctioned drive. And more maddening still that Tivo put the dumb picky connector on their newer hardware (my Elite) wouldn't recognize the &^$%(*&%$)#%% stupid drive with the included cable.
MichaelK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |