TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2012, 08:06 AM   #1
Wembley5
Registered User
 
Wembley5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 13
Arrow N33 error with ethernet (Premiere XL)

Starting yesterday AM, my Premiere XL can no longer connect to anything.

It's giving me the N33 can't connect to TiVo error, and when I check network settings, sometimes an N13. Haven't made any firewall changes tho.

It's on wired ethernet, and appears to be able to grab an IP address from DHCP.

Anyone else not reaching the servers, or just me?

Any help debugging much appreciated...
Wembley5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:47 AM   #2
Jackamus
Registered User
 
Jackamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 87
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wembley5 View Post
Starting yesterday AM, my Premiere XL can no longer connect to anything.

It's giving me the N33 can't connect to TiVo error, and when I check network settings, sometimes an N13. Haven't made any firewall changes tho.

It's on wired ethernet, and appears to be able to grab an IP address from DHCP.

Anyone else not reaching the servers, or just me?

Any help debugging much appreciated...

What IP address is it grabbing from the DCHP server?
__________________
_________________________
I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.
Jackamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:15 PM   #3
Wembley5
Registered User
 
Wembley5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackamus View Post
What IP address is it grabbing from the DCHP server?
192.168.100.16 - it's real, not a self-assigned one.

Altho I'm starting to think it's something with the Airport Extreme base station...the PS3 can't reach the network over ethernet either, and my DHCP block is supposed to be 10.0.1.xx - which the wifi devices use and are fine.
Wembley5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 02:14 PM   #4
Drewster
Shooting blanks
 
Drewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 10,096
First, unplug and reseat any Ethernet cables in the path from the devices to switches and/or routers. If that doesn't help, replace the cables. If that doesn't help, start debugging the upstream devices (such as the base station).

I had a similar set of symptoms recently. The TiVo couldn't connect to services, HD menus were impossible to use (blue wheel of death), NetFlix couldn't stream, etc. I tried using the TV's own NetFlix app, but it also couldn't connect.

The TV and TiVo are connected via Ethernet to a switch, which then connects to my router in the garage. Since both devices were affected, I swapped the cable that connects the switch's uplink to the router.

All better!
__________________
-Andrew
Drewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 06:49 PM   #5
Wembley5
Registered User
 
Wembley5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 13
A little flipping on/off of things seemed to do the trick. I think the TiVo keeps its DHCP lease even if you try to force it to change.

The only thing that coulda screwed things up was adding the cable box (not modem) to the Airport, but I don't see how a dumb settop box would be a DHCP/NAT conflict...
Wembley5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:04 AM   #6
base2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
I've been getting N33 on both my Series 3 and Premiere this last week-ish. I've done everything under the sun. My Series 3 successfully connected this morning and is downloading now. I'm really confused as what the issue might be. Hulu/Netflix works fine so I doubt its a network problem within my network.
base2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |